We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good dinner, particularly if you're a fish lover, and excellent service”

Taberna Bairro do Avillez
Ranked #502 of 5,169 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Neighbourhood: Chiado & Carmo
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Chiado & Carmo
Reviewed 30 March 2018

I'm not a fan of cooked fish, which is a bit of an Achilles' heel in Lisbon, which is crammed with fish restaurants and cafes. However, there are sufficient alternative options at Bairro do Avillez to render this OK. We had some local ham to start and then I took a beef salad, which was very fresh and tasty. Suited my needs perfectly, while the others took a baked cod dish which would have been more at home in the Alps than downtown Lisbon, but they pronounced to be good. We had wanted to wash it all down with green wine, but apparently that wasn't available so drank a local white instead which was good enough. Service was excellent, which seemed to be a hallmark of our overall experience of Lisbon, as is affordability. We got through three bottles of wine between six of us and still only racked up bill of EUR 260.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Moleseyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,757)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 178 of 1,757 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2018

This place is amazing! The ambiance is hip and upscale but still has a local, rustic feel to it. The service was impeccable. But most importantly, everything we ate was incredible.
We ordered several things to share between two people, and had more than enough food with the small plates.

Dishes we tried:
Jamon plate w/ goat cheese
Pear and lettuce gems salad
Crispy cod lettuce wrap (good god were those little fried pieces of fish tasty)
Beef empanada (It was called something else...I forget the Portugese word)
*Pork Steak w/ breadcrumbs* (The pure highlight. Amazing dish with the most tender meat and amazing flavor)

For dessert, we had the orange and vanilla custard plus a special passion fruit dessert from one of the other restaurants due to a food allergy. Both were unreal and so delicious.

Special shout out to our server, Carolina. She was so kind and enthusiastic about the restaurant. When she found out my wife could not eat any of the desserts on the menu due to an allergy, she walked to other kitchen to talk with the chef. They found a dessert she could have and served it in the different restaurant just for us. Seriously- this made my wife so happy. Thank you, Carolina!

If you're in Lisbon, I would say Taberna is a MUST!

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BrianLerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

The light bites in the front are fine (crispy cod was very good), and it jumps - noise, crowds, etc - so simple tapas work well here.

We had a full dinner in the Pateo and it was very, very good. Each of 4 mains, a soup and 2 desserts really delivered. Not excessively expensive, but you can definitely spend a lot if you want to.

Fun Hazelnut dessert - layers of ice cream, salt, foam and nuts. Really good.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank timd7continents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

Jose Avillez has 6 restaurants, 4 of which in this location. Ranging from informal tapas to high end dining. Some other reviewers complain about portions: go look up “Tapas”.

Nicely decorated, always busy, a bit TOO popular with tourists, but nevertheless a great place. Food was tasty and typical Portugal dishes. We ended up sharing 4 small dishes for 2. The desert was simple but WOW. A cup of different salted caramel “things”.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank rwepapen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

We went for a drink to the Taberna Bairro do Avillez and enjoyed the formula offered by the tavern-charcuterie-fromagerie. We had a pork filet which is very tasty and tender in addition to 3 types of cheese and & some petiscos. What’s really impressive is the service provided by Bruno who helped us choosing a bottle of white wine and brought 4 bottles to choose among them. Highly recommended for a late afternoon or dinner.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank charles16031958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taberna Bairro do Avillez also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Taberna Bairro do Avillez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing