We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Boa-Bao

Boa-Bao
Ranked #285 of 4,640 Restaurants in Lisbon
Price range: US$15 - US$43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Chiado & Carmo
Description: Asian Foods, Cocktails and Sphere. Pan-asian cuisine that will take you on a lifetime journey. Our vast variety of food selection is prepared with respect for the authentic recipes and original products and is cooked with the finest fresh ingredients. We invite you to discover the best street food from Thailand, Vietnam, Laos, Indonesia, Cambodia, Malaysia, Korea, India, Nepal, Japan and China in our dishes. We also have signature cocktails and mocktails, spirits and an array of Asian Beers for our guests to enjoy! All of this in the heart of Lisbon, in a beautiful setting that recreates the relaxed ambiance of a 1920’s Saigon market in all it´s different divisions, whether you choose the main room, the counter, the bar or also an intimate interior pateo. Our experience can also be relived in the privacy of your own home using our take-away service.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A place to go when visiting Lisbon. Great flavours, amazing menu and a lot to choose for. The cocktails are also very good. Without reservations , you have to prepare yourself to wait a bit for a table . I advise you to arrive at least 30 minuts in advance, but it will be worth the wait!

1  Thank Elisabete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoaBao, Guest Relations Manager at Boa-Bao, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Elisabete, how can we thank you for this amazing review? It’s such a treat for the whole team to get such positive feedback because they dedicate themselves daily to make sure each person that checks in at Boa-Bao has the most memorable experience. So thank you so much for the visit and for sharing your experience. It’s true, the boarding time can be a little lengthy, but nothing like a cocktail (or two) whilst you wait to create the mood :) Elisabete, thank you again. We do hope you visit us soon. Until then! The Boa-Bao team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a great place in Lisbon to eat good Asian food in a great environment. Arrive early because there are no reservations and lots of people :)

1  Thank Nuno F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoaBao, Guest Relations Manager at Boa-Bao, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Nuno, first of all thank you so much for all the compliments. We give our heart and soul to Boa-Bao and there's nothing better than knowing we have happy costumers like you! We've celebrate our first anniversary and we can say that the amount of people coming to our restaurant is not slowing down, but don't worry... We have a boarding pass with a list of cocktails and finger-foods that will keep you company while you wait! So we hope to see you again, very soon! Thank you so much, once again. The Boa-Bao team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went there as we wanted something different. It didn’t disappoint. There was an hour long wait on a Monday night. No reservations. You can have drinks and snacks while waiting.
The place is decorated simply yet appropriately. The service is fantastic. The food was great. Highly recommended.

1  Thank world_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoaBao, Guest Relations Manager at Boa-Bao, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

world_MD, thank you so much for your visit and recommendation. Indeed, we are usually full even during the week but we do our best to reduce the waiting time and to make that more pleasant for our guest having the possibility to try our signature cocktails and other drinks and also the finger food options. world_MD, we really appreciate the fact that you took your time to write us this lovely review and would love to receive and serve you many times more. Looking forward for your next "check-in", the Boa-Bao team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

At last a great far eastern exotic quality restaurant in the centre of Lisbon that is accessible in options and prices. The atmosphere and decoration takes us to the far eastern experiences with the tast and variety of their menu. Food well prepared and with a great range of exotic news in the menu options.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Joao M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoaBao, Guest Relations Manager at Boa-Bao, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Joao M, we thank you for this super positive review! We are delighted to hear you had a great experience amongst us and that you understood perfectly our concept which is to take our "passengers" in a sensorial journey through Asia. We are passionate about details and live to share this passion by serving the best traditional and authentic food from more than ten different countries in a casual and lively atmosphere. So thank you so much for recognising our work. We are definitely inspired by your words... And please, come back soon. It will be a pleasure to have you again, the Boa-Bao team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This place is obviously popular and busy, but I wonder if they are making a mistake of trying to ensure they can seat everybody who turns up. I'm going to be critical, because overall our experience was poor and if I'm not critical, then the people who run the place won't be able to put these things right. There was something a bit rushed about the whole thing from the start. The chap who took our order seemed hugely distracted. By the time he had eventually computed our order, I had a distinct impression that something was likely to go wrong. The starters were good - probably the tastiest dim sum I've ever had (not that I am a seasoned expert). Then sure enough, the wrong main course turns up. In the middle of me explaining it's the wrong dish, someone else came over and seemed to understand this was a mistake, but didn't explain what was happening, or whether they recognised it was their mistake, so we were left with one main dish, wondering what was happening. Now I am not massively fussy about this kind of thing, but actually, when you are paying 17 Euros for a Thai chicken curry, you're kind of expecting a restaurant experience, rather than a canteen experience. Not only that, you're expecting a pretty damn good Thai chicken curry for that price. What turned up fairly soon afterwards was the worst Thai green chicken curry I've ever had....by a long way. It was like a bowl of cream soup - of non-distinct flavour - with some anaemic strips of chicken swimming around in the bottom, along with two mushrooms, two pieces of boiled potato and some noodles. In two mouthfuls I had a vague hit of spice, other than that, it was totally bland. We had ordered the Korean vegetables. To be fair, the menu didn't specify what Korean vegetables equates to, but I was not expecting a standard green leaf salad with some cherry tomatoes and a vinaigrette. As a green leaf salad it was OK, but it didn't go with either of the dishes we had, or any others on the menu as far as I can tell. Type in 'Korean vegetables' on an internet search and you don't find a standard green leaf salad. I did query if it was the right dish.....and apparently it was?!. To be fair the waiter did apologise for the mistake on the main course. However, when it came to the bill, the original and more expensive main course was still on it. In addition, an incorrect charge for a drink - we had two drinks the same, but there was a price difference (I wouldn't have mentioned this if it was isolated). When I pointed out the mistake (different waiter - there are many) I was having to justify myself and felt like a nuisance. The waiter even double tested me, to prove it was the same drink we'd had twice. I'm thinking we should have been given a couple of drinks gratis for the poor experience, not quizzed over my honesty. Whilst we were then still finishing off our second drinks, which had only been received a few minutes earlier, were then repeatedly asked if we wanted a dessert - three times in the space of 2 minutes. We both got the impression this was a pressure to drink up and leave. The overall impact of all this is a poor experience. I can't help feeling there were plenty enough staff to cover these issues properly. They seemed well-intentioned and friendly. But there was little consistency in the service and an overall feeling that they just wanted you to get through your meal and out, so they could seat the next batch of people. Maybe they should try focusing more on the dining experience, rather than the volume of customers - they are not charging McDonald's prices that's for sure.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mattwhu66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoaBao, Guest Relations Manager at Boa-Bao, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mattwhu66, firstly, we would like to that you for dining with us at Boa-Bao. We appreciate the intention of leaving this review because indeed, it's through feedback from our guests that we can and aim to improve. It's true that we get busy at Boa-Bao, however, we strive to offer an authentic journey and dining experience no matter how busy we get and apologize sincerely that you didn't live the experience we aim to offer all our guests. Boa-Bao's concept is all about taking guests that board with us on a memorable journey through Asia. Our decor is inspired by a 1920's Saigon market/canteen, and the dishes we serve from over 10 different Asian countries are authentically reproduced using traditional recipes, with no fusions or reinterpretations. Just real flavors from the east and we are sorry if you didn't enjoy all the dishes you ordered. We do use the freshest ingredients and all our dishes have portion requirements, so we do not understand how your dish had an uneven distribution of elements. In these situations, nothing is more advisable than to ask to speak to the manager, who is always available to help out and is there to make sure each client has the best service possible. Our staff is usually highly praised and are extremely dedicated to providing the best service possible. That said, we can only apologize for the rushed feeling you had (it's not excusable), and the mixed up bill (and the way it was handled). Clearly things could have been handled differently and we take all feedback into account so we are looking into what happened with the floor staff and administration, and should you decide to return, please send us an email at ola@boabao.pt. Thank you for visiting us and for sharing your experience. We do hope you return and that on a future occasion we get to show you what makes Boa-Bao so sought after. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you, the Boa-Bao team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boa-Bao also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Boa-Bao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing