We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, superb location.The host is one of a kind.....”
Review of Pensao Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pensao Royal
Ranked #88 of 268 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 December 2011

After schlepping our (by now on this trip, rather heavy) baggage up the stairs, we were greeted w/ less than warmth by the proprietor. Once our PayPal reservation snafu was straightened out, we were enthusiatically attended to over the week of our stay. The room decor is a bit too frou-frou for our taste, but it is cozy in that homey kinda way. Paula is totally committed (perhaps too much so for some folks) to insuring her guests are well-cared for with detailed advice, timetables, directions, recommendations and reservations. It appears she hardly sleeps as she unlocks the door for late-night party'ers and gets up quite early to make an over-the-top fresh breakfast each morning, served in a Disney-fied whimsically decored setting on/around the tables. The Baixa location is safe and perfect to access trains, plazas, streetcars, etc. Wi-fi and an available computer complete the picture.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 98 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2011

Had an excellent time at pensao royal. Paola the proprietress really takes care of you and makes the most amazing breakfasts - she even made us pasteis before we left and they were delicious. The only issue I had was having to climb 4 flights of stairs but other than that it was amazing. We were really well taken care of and Paola had all these helpful suggestions. I would come back and stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariaviajera1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We had a memorable honeymoon in Portugal,especially in Pensao Royal. It's a great place to stay in Lisbon and our room was nice and clean. Paula is helpful and a very sweet hostess. She made great Pasteis de Nata for our breakfast as we had to leave the hostel very early to catch our flight. Big thanks to Paula.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

To be honest this place seemed very sketchy at first. basically no visible sign so it was difficult to find. Had to carry my heavy luggage up 3 huge flights of stairs. The owner, paula, is a little intimidating at first. The room seemed a little Skeevy decorated kind of like a love nest. But dont judge a book by its cover because the stay ended up being perfect. Paula was extremely helpful in giving us directions, advice, recommendations, and reservations. She also made the most amazing breakfast every morning with freshly baked cakes, pies, fruits, eggs, etc. And the location couldn't have been more perfect. Right in the middle of the best attractions and areas in Lisbon. Definitely recommended if you can get past the first impression.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

really enjoyed our stay here. very clean rooms which were very secure.
the daily breakfasts were amazing.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mle808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Pensao Sao Joao da Praca
Pensao Sao Joao da Praca
#225 of 255 in Lisbon
72 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel LX Rossio
Hotel LX Rossio
#200 of 255 in Lisbon
308 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Behotelisboa
Behotelisboa
#42 of 255 in Lisbon
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Duas Nacoes
Hotel Duas Nacoes
#234 of 255 in Lisbon
541 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisbon Story Guesthouse
Lisbon Story Guesthouse
#36 of 268 in Lisbon
626 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Casinha das Flores
Casinha das Flores
#62 of 268 in Lisbon
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensao Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Royal

Address: Rua do Crucifixo, Lisbon 1100, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 268 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range: $56 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pensao Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Royal Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing