We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your little home in Lisbon”
Review of Pensao Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pensao Royal
Ranked #94 of 262 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Located right in the heart of Lisbon`s downtown, Pensao Royal is a very confortable place where you are welcomed and greeted with warmth by the friendly owner `Paula`. The rooms are confortable, breakfast is probably one of the best I ever had and Paula is always eager to help, assist and give you tips for your stay in Lisbon. I highly recommand Pensao Royal to anyone who`s planning to visit Lisbon and I would definitely return their in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karimdouaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 96 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2012

pensao royal is a fantastic place. location is excellent, so close to the very lisbon center. rooms are very smart, full of colors and smart. cleanliness is good and paula really takes care of you, giving advice, suggestions, answering to all your needs. her breakfast is unforgettable. And the price is right.what are you waiting for? I've been twice and I'll come back as soon as i can

Room Tip: take a superior room, costs 5 € more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrea m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

After schlepping our (by now on this trip, rather heavy) baggage up the stairs, we were greeted w/ less than warmth by the proprietor. Once our PayPal reservation snafu was straightened out, we were enthusiatically attended to over the week of our stay. The room decor is a bit too frou-frou for our taste, but it is cozy in that homey kinda way. Paula is totally committed (perhaps too much so for some folks) to insuring her guests are well-cared for with detailed advice, timetables, directions, recommendations and reservations. It appears she hardly sleeps as she unlocks the door for late-night party'ers and gets up quite early to make an over-the-top fresh breakfast each morning, served in a Disney-fied whimsically decored setting on/around the tables. The Baixa location is safe and perfect to access trains, plazas, streetcars, etc. Wi-fi and an available computer complete the picture.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Had an excellent time at pensao royal. Paola the proprietress really takes care of you and makes the most amazing breakfasts - she even made us pasteis before we left and they were delicious. The only issue I had was having to climb 4 flights of stairs but other than that it was amazing. We were really well taken care of and Paola had all these helpful suggestions. I would come back and stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariaviajera1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We had a memorable honeymoon in Portugal,especially in Pensao Royal. It's a great place to stay in Lisbon and our room was nice and clean. Paula is helpful and a very sweet hostess. She made great Pasteis de Nata for our breakfast as we had to leave the hostel very early to catch our flight. Big thanks to Paula.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Casinha das Flores
Casinha das Flores
#60 of 262 in Lisbon
115 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisbon Story Guesthouse
Lisbon Story Guesthouse
#37 of 262 in Lisbon
620 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The Imperial Guesthouse
The Imperial Guesthouse
#188 of 262 in Lisbon
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casa do Mar
#132 of 262 in Lisbon
3 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisbon Happy Hostel
Lisbon Happy Hostel
#139 of 498 in Lisbon
120 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Artbeat Rooms
Artbeat Rooms
#38 of 262 in Lisbon
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensao Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Royal

Address: Rua do Crucifixo, Lisbon 1100, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 262 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range: $60 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Pensao Royal Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing