We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$188
US$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$188
US$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$198
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$194
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$269/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Avenida Palace(Lisbon)
US$386
US$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$236
US$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$271
US$200
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Oeiras(Lisbon)(Great Value!)
US$103
US$89
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$208
US$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveller rating
149
53
11
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
53
11
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno liftshower hoseplentiful hot waterflights of stairsceiling fanbaixa chiado metro stationthird floora great place to staycentral locationhamfantastic locationlate at nightmetro stopstayed for nightshostelcentrecity
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 228 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2012

pensao royal is a fantastic place. location is excellent, so close to the very lisbon center. rooms are very smart, full of colors and smart. cleanliness is good and paula really takes care of you, giving advice, suggestions, answering to all your needs. her breakfast is unforgettable. And the price is right.what are you waiting for? I've been twice and I'll come back as soon as i can

Room Tip: take a superior room, costs 5 € more...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrea m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

After schlepping our (by now on this trip, rather heavy) baggage up the stairs, we were greeted w/ less than warmth by the proprietor. Once our PayPal reservation snafu was straightened out, we were enthusiatically attended to over the week of our stay. The room decor is a bit too frou-frou for our taste, but it is cozy in that homey kinda way. Paula is totally committed (perhaps too much so for some folks) to insuring her guests are well-cared for with detailed advice, timetables, directions, recommendations and reservations. It appears she hardly sleeps as she unlocks the door for late-night party'ers and gets up quite early to make an over-the-top fresh breakfast each morning, served in a Disney-fied whimsically decored setting on/around the tables. The Baixa location is safe and perfect to access trains, plazas, streetcars, etc. Wi-fi and an available computer complete the picture.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Had an excellent time at pensao royal. Paola the proprietress really takes care of you and makes the most amazing breakfasts - she even made us pasteis before we left and they were delicious. The only issue I had was having to climb 4 flights of stairs but other than that it was amazing. We were really well taken care of and Paola had all these helpful suggestions. I would come back and stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariaviajera1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We had a memorable honeymoon in Portugal,especially in Pensao Royal. It's a great place to stay in Lisbon and our room was nice and clean. Paula is helpful and a very sweet hostess. She made great Pasteis de Nata for our breakfast as we had to leave the hostel very early to catch our flight. Big thanks to Paula.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

To be honest this place seemed very sketchy at first. basically no visible sign so it was difficult to find. Had to carry my heavy luggage up 3 huge flights of stairs. The owner, paula, is a little intimidating at first. The room seemed a little Skeevy decorated kind of like a love nest. But dont judge a book by its cover because the stay ended up being perfect. Paula was extremely helpful in giving us directions, advice, recommendations, and reservations. She also made the most amazing breakfast every morning with freshly baked cakes, pies, fruits, eggs, etc. And the location couldn't have been more perfect. Right in the middle of the best attractions and areas in Lisbon. Definitely recommended if you can get past the first impression.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews