We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky & in Fantastic location”
Review of Pensao Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pensao Royal
Ranked #93 of 262 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The location couldn't be better - within easy reach of all the main sites and areas of interest. Only 5min from the café Brasilaria ( we visited at midnight after a late flight and there was a lovely gentle atmosphere. ) and the nightlife area of Lisbon (dead during the day). An unassuming entrance (with a different name of the b&b displayed) leads to the flights of stairs that have been mentioned already in other reviews - not a problem when you are prepared for them. The B&B is secure as there is always someone on duty to open the locked door.
We stayed in the 'cat' room. I lost count after counting 30 or so cats... It was absolutely fabulous.. The B&B brings 'kitsch' to life. The breakfast was almost overwhelming - so vivid that I needed sunglasses, and so much of it!. Again just wonderful. Lots of fruit and cake. Paula the owner obviously works very hard and was very helpful - not minding if you took a little takeaway from the breakfast table.
Only took one star off as the mattress had a big 'dip'in it which my husband found uncomfortable, and there was only uHT milk. There was some noise but that was understandable considering the location and didn't detract from the lovely stay we had here. Thank you Paula.

Room Tip: If you like cats...you have to have the cat room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gaildevonshirelass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Paula is all that everyone says she is! Location is perfect, breakfast is a wonderland of carbohydrates!! Her dinner suggestions are impeccable, she goes out of her way to be helpful and makes reservations! We could not say enough wonderful things about Paula! The Pensao is located three full flights up, so you get your work out... The building is over 200 years old, and shows its character, the location is in he heart of a city that does not sleep so neither do you!!
So glad we stayed here, Paula made our ten days in Portugal wonderful! Definitely eat at her suggestion Poete na Bichs, amazing food, and sangria to want to bottle and take home!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank summers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here in April 2014 for three nights and was really pleased with all aspects of my stay. Paula was delightful; full of useful advice on places to visit and eat etc. Would definitely stay again - very good value for money and location is a real plus. Prepare for those stairs!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShaneBoy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Paula, our hostess was charming and very helpful. She let us drop our cases at the Pension when we arrived early and let us store them there for a few hours after we checked out. In between times she was very helpful with directions and recommendations for places to eat. She works very hard providing a very clean guest house and a lovely varied breakfast. The rooms are basic with eccentric decor. The Pensao Royal is in a great location; it's handy for many of Lisbon's sites and has very good public transport nearby. The only downside was hauling oneself up the 3 flights of stairs at the end of a day's site-seeing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richardmbsw19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

by far the beat place we stayed in when we were visiting europe this past month..
paula makes you feel welcome and even got up early to make us a good breakfast when we had to catch an early flight to barcelona..the rooms are very attractive and beds are nice and comfy...and paula will give you some great places to eat and enjoy lisbon..

Room Tip: we had a pink room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naplesnole77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Casinha das Flores
Casinha das Flores
#60 of 262 in Lisbon
115 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisbon Story Guesthouse
Lisbon Story Guesthouse
#37 of 262 in Lisbon
620 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The Imperial Guesthouse
The Imperial Guesthouse
#188 of 262 in Lisbon
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casa do Mar
#132 of 262 in Lisbon
3 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisbon Happy Hostel
Lisbon Happy Hostel
#139 of 498 in Lisbon
120 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Artbeat Rooms
Artbeat Rooms
#38 of 262 in Lisbon
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensao Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Royal

Address: Rua do Crucifixo, Lisbon 1100, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 262 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range: $60 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Pensao Royal Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing