We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good city centre location and great value B&B”
Review of Pensao Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pensao Royal
Ranked #94 of 262 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 October 2014

A nice clean B&B with a great location (really short walk to Metro Station, main shopping street and arch which you can ascend for a view of the city and walkable to most other locations in the city), and a good breakfast of fresh fruit, savoury pastries and sweet cakes. The decor was certainly unique and gave the place some personality, unlike in the majority of hotels.

Overall, this accommodation met our needs, and I would stay again. However, I was surprised at the other reviewers' views of the owner as she didn't introduce herself to us, didn't offer any travel information and didn't take card payments. However, we didn't ask and were happy to find our own way around the city. We also had to ask for our toilet paper to be re-stocked. The stairwell area and other areas also smelt of smoke (but not the room). All of these negatives were pretty minor and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the B&B to anyone looking for clean, central and good value accommodation in Lisbon.

Room Tip: Pink room has a double bed, single bed and cot - would be good for a small family
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kirky_yelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2014

I showed up at the Pensao Royal Hotel on the date as reserved and guess what? No room was available for me despite my confirmation.
I received no apologies, no excuses and no refund of my payment and had to leave very in great disappointing feelings.
By itself, such unpleasant event should rate these premises quite low as unreliable; therefore I decided to rate all aspects as low.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Jacob293982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2014

We had a very pleasant stay. Great Breakfast and lovely Paula runs it excellent! The Breakfast look like english high tea it is a cheap hostel with much privacy. The metro station is nearby and to cross over the station you are at the old nice neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Great pension in the heart of Lisbon, situated 50 m from the metro and near the Bairro Alto; from here you can visit the city by walk!Paula will welcome you in her colourful house full of butterflies and fairies: the room was good and very clean, the only thing that I didn't like so much is the bathroom which is a bit neglected compared to the rest of the room! In the morning there is a superb breakfast with tons of handmade cakes, fruits, yougurt, quiches and everything you want! Highly Reccomended!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Nonnopapero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

First of all be sure you are in a good physical form, beacause youäll have to climb on the 3rd floor, there is no elevator. The hostel is very colourful, too much i would say on my taste. The personnal is friendly enough. rooms are very clean, but sanitary equipment is not in a good condition - everything is broken and old. Breakfast seems very nice-but not always fresh, so be careful. fruits are fresh though)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Eversleepingbabybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Chiado & Carmo
Pensao Estacao Central
Pensao Estacao Central
#198 of 255 in Lisbon
224 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Albergaria Insulana
Albergaria Insulana
#190 of 255 in Lisbon
300 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Casinha das Flores
Casinha das Flores
#60 of 262 in Lisbon
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisbon Story Guesthouse
Lisbon Story Guesthouse
#37 of 262 in Lisbon
620 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The Imperial Guesthouse
The Imperial Guesthouse
#185 of 262 in Lisbon
175 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pensao Aljubarrota
Pensao Aljubarrota
#192 of 262 in Lisbon
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensao Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Royal

Address: Rua do Crucifixo, Lisbon 1100, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 262 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range: $58 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Pensao Royal Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing