We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will come here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Altis Belem Hotel & Spa
Ranked #22 of 254 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2012

My wife was staying here for a conference and I joined her afterwards. I debated prior to booking whether we should move to a hotel more 'in town,' but we opted to stay here. The location is actually spot on. It might look a little out of town on a map, but the area brings its own highlights. It is great for going for a run or a walk as there is a long promenade, and there are plenty of good bars and restaurants all along. You are close to four tourist attractions. The hotel offers a shuttle service into town but we never used it (only read about it afterwards!) Getting into town is easy by the train - every 20mins. Bring change with you as the ticket machine didn't accept notes or credit cards (around Euro1.30 each way - but you need to purchase the paper card that gets topped up first which was 20cents or something) Not every train from the centre stops at back at Belem, so trust the timetable (reception can print one off). you are also close enough to the station to head off to the beach in the west.
Hotel is very 'modern' with clean lines and open space and no pictures on the walls. The entrance doors do not have 'push' or 'pull' on (as that might ruin the look?!) so, like the Greek economy, you are sure to get the right option only when you have tried every wrong one first. Lots of people get it wrong first time (as I'm thick, me every time unfortunately!)
The room we had (Tanger) had a view of the marina, so in the evening we pulled back the glass door, sat there and watched the sun go down - fab.
Only criticism would be the bar was a bit expensive (the bar/restaurant next door to the hotel was packed, yet the hotel bar is nearly same location and was near to empty - they need to work out why) and that they charge you for coffee or water in the room. Lisbon is hot and the food can be a bit salty, so water is a must. I wish some hotels would be like airlines v budget airlines- if you want a cheap hotel pay for the water, but if you pay Euro200 per night, there are some things that come with it.
By the way, the spa day that my wife had there the day before I arrived was, by all accounts (and she does use a few) really outstanding.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WithScruples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altisbelem, General Manager at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

It has been a great pleasure having you with us, we thank you for having chosen Altis Belém Hotel & Spa for your stay in Lisbon.

We seek to continuously improve the guest experience and on the behalf of our staff I thank you for the time you dedicate us on publishing and sharing your experience.
Guest's comments and suggestions help us fine-tune our services to ensure we make every stay a memorable one.

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back, very soon.

Best regards

Anabela Bártolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,076)
There are newer reviews for Altis Belem Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

457 - 461 of 1,076 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2012

Great location right on the Tejo river in a very nice and tranquil suburb of Lisbon.
You can walk all the way to Lisbon city if you like or take a taxi for under 10 €
The suite we stayed in was very well designed and maintained and had a fantastic river view from its terrace.
Breakfast was ample by South European standards.
We should also mention the friendly staff and the good restaurant - an option well worth considering, especially if you arrive late at in the evening and cannot be bothered to go to the city for dinner.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altisbelem, General Manager at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Thank you for choosing Altis Belém Hotel & Spa for your stay in Lisbon.
It has been a great pleasure having you with us, Altis Hotels seeks to continuously improve the guest experience.
Also on the behalf of our staff, I thank you for the time you dedicate us publishing your kind comments on line.
Looking forward to welcome you back, very soon.
Yours sincerely
Anabela Bártolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Our short holiday at the hotel (2 nights) was wonderfully relaxing: The hotel is well designed with clean lines and calm colours. Highlights are the beautiful view over the marina from the deluxe rooms, the very large and comfy bed with half a dozen soft, downy pilows, the open and airy feel of the rooms, the marvelous breakfast buffet (one of the best we've ever had) and the small spa area with pool. An additional plus is the Michelin starred restaurant "Feitoria" where we enjoyed a very tasty set menu dinner. The cooking is of consistent high quality and a couple of courses were even quite innovative (a dessert creation with pumpkin pie for example). The service in the restaurant, as well as the hotel itself is very attentive and friendly. The only exception is the hotel bar, where staff seems a bit dozy and it can be hard to catch their eye. The only small minus point for the Feitoria was the canned music they played which did not suit the restaurant's atmosphere at all. The hotel is located by the river (marina), which makes for stunning views and lovely strolls along the river. You do get a fair amount of pedestrian traffic around the hotel on weekends (it's a popular destination for family walks) but this does not distract from the relaxed seaside atmosphere of the place. It's easily reached from the airport (taxi) and well connected to the city center by commuter train, bus or tram. Overall good value for money in this price category. We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Upupandaway-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altisbelem, General Manager at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

Thank you for your choice for Altis Belém Hotel & Spa. It has been a great pleasure having you with us, Altis Hotels seeks to continuously improve the guest experience.

Also on the behalf of our staff I thank you for the kindness of your comments and to share it "on Line" , suggestions and opinions help us fine-tune our services and to ensure that we make every stay a memorable one.

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back, very soon.

At your entire disposal, I remain

Yours sincerely

Anabela Bártolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

My wife and I had an excellent stay at The Altis Belem. This is a design hotel which manages to feel welcoming rather than challenging (as is often the case). Not everything was perfect (no hooks for outdoor coats and only Nespresso hot drinks @ 3.50 Euros a shot) but our room was light, warm, clean and well equipped. We followed a previous Tip and asked for an African room which meant we got light colours and crisp white bed linens and towels. Breakfast was excellent and the evening meals were OK . In the gourmet restaurant everything was realy fine but only the oysters in lime foam really stood out as a unique plate. The spa is smallish but wonderfully calm and relaxing. We made sure that we got back in good time every day to assure ourselves of at least an hour in the spa and the fully envelopping robes provided in the rooms mean you don't feel foolish getting changed in your room and plodding down the corridors into a dedicated lift (which helpfully doesn't stop at the public ground floor on the way bsack up from the spa). The location is west of centre but Belem has many of Lisbon's major historic attractions and the best pasteis shop. We found that it is about a 15 minute walk down to Belem station then 7 minutes on the train to the centre at a cost of less than 2 Euros each way. A couple of touristy tips are that entry to the famous Belem Monastery is free on Sunday Mornings though you have to wait until after Mass to see the church and the Sao Roque church and museum in Lisbon centre are genuinely wonderful and unique.

Back to the hotel, we can't speak highly enough of the staff who were friendly, attentive and helpful at all times. This applies to reception, housekeeping, restaurant, bar and spa staff in equal measure - not often you feel you can say that !

Room Tip: If you have a preference for light or dark rooms, make sure you communicate this in advance
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karuthers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altisbelem, General Manager at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2012

Thank you for your choice for Altis Belém Hotel & Spa. It has been a great pleasure having you with us, Altis Hotels seeks to continuously improve the guest experience.

Also on the behalf of our staff I thank you for the kind comments and specially for the nice description of the Hotel & it's services, your comments and suggestions help us fine-tune our services to ensure we make every stay a memorable one.

Looking forward to the opportunity to welcome you back, very soon.

Warm greetings
Anabela Bártolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

My husband booked my surprise birthday trip to Lisbon with a 3 night stay at the the Altis Belem. This is a very well appointed, modern hotel situated on the river. We found all the staff to be very attentive and helpful, especially the reception staff. We enjoyed a superb fine dining experience in the restaurant and the breakfast provided good variety and a good start to the day. The accomodation was top class with 'enormous' pillows and good quality linens. Only minor fault was the hairdrier did not work and a potential design fault was the absence of easily accessible sockets. We'd definately stay again when we return to Lisbon.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tiffany61_2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altisbelem, General Manager at Altis Belem Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2012

Thank you for your choice for Altis Belém Hotel & Spa. It has been a great pleasure having you with us, Altis Hotels seeks to continuously improve the guest experience.

Also we thank you for publishing on this "On Line" opinion survey, your experience and impression, your comments and suggestions help us fine-tune our services to ensure we make every stay a memorable one.

We continue to strive and deliver quality services which are a hallmark of Altis guest service excellence and look forward to welcoming you back, very soon.

At your entire disposal, I remain take the opportunity to wish you a Happy New Year.
Yours sincerely
Anabela Bártolo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Myriad by SANA Hotels
#8 of 254 in Lisbon
939 reviews
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#11 of 254 in Lisbon
1,070 reviews
Belem
Palacio do Governador
Palacio do Governador
#73 of 254 in Lisbon
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pestana Palace Lisboa
#34 of 254 in Lisbon
1,896 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa, Praca do Comercio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altis Belem Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altis Belem Hotel & Spa

Address: Doca do Bom Sucesso, Lisbon 1400-038, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Belem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Spa Hotel in Lisbon
#14 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#20 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $243 - $616 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Altis Belem Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Altis Belem Hotel & Spa Hotel Altis Belem - Luxury & Design by the River Altis Belem Hotel & Spa is a 5 star design hotel in Lisbon, located in Belem overlooking the Tagus River, representing a contemporary view of the Golden Age of Discovery. Here you can find the gourmet Restaurant Feitoria (One Michelin Star) and the Spa BSpa by Karin Herzog. The theme of discovery is threaded throughout all of the hotel's 50 luxury rooms (including 5 suites) absorbing and enticing you to embark on an exotic journey displayed in a series of illustrated wall panels, giving each room a bespoke atmosphere. A design hotel in Lisbon that allows you to go on a journey from Mauritania on the West coast of Africa, through Arabia, India, Siam, Osaka and across to the other side of the world via Brazil. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Altis Belem Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altis Belem Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing