We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$99
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/02/23
Expedia.com
US$132
View deal
Hotel Website
US$89
View deal
Hotels.comUS$132
travelup.comUS$117
TravelocityUS$132
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (615)
Filter reviews
615 results
Traveller rating
299
243
49
10
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
299
243
49
10
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location metro station baixa chiado rua augusta within walking distance front desk staff mini fridge bed was comfortable hotel location public transport breakfast buffet lovely hotel city break minute walk double room ham pastries
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 615 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2022

Overall, a solid 3-Star, and in a 5-Star location. My review focuses on toiletries & amenities and the breakfast buffet, as these were important to me when booking. Plus, an important tip on navigating the nearest Metro station.

BATH TOILETRIES
**Included: Combination hair and body gel dispenser in shower, Shampoo, Lotion, Bar soap, Tissues (small pack) and Vanity kit.

***TIP: Bring your own Hair conditioner (not included).

BREAKFAST BUFFET
I was pleased that the Breakfast Buffet included HOT foods (protein), albeit the items are basic and mostly processed foods.

**Hot Foods: Scrambled eggs, Mushrooms, Baked beans and Pork Belly-like Bacon. Make your own Pancakes machine.

**Cold Foods: Cereal/Milk, Cut and whole Fruit, Yogurt, Nuts, Egg tarts, Pastries/Rolls, Cheeses & Ham lunchmeats, Tomatoes, Cucumbers.

**Drinks – Cappuccino/Espresso – Make your own machine, Juice, Water.

**For Extra 2-4 Euro Each: Orange juice, Poached or Fried egg, Omelets.

METRO (SUBWAY)
BAIXA & CHIADO is the closest station, which has 2 entries.

***TIP: When exiting, especially with luggage, follow exit signs for RUA DO CRUCIFIXO and then exit signs for RUA DA VITORIA – this exit is only 1.5 blocks from the hotel, where the ground in flat. The other exit is Largo do Chiado – which is a very steep 10 minute walk uphill/downhill on a very busy shopping street, making hauling luggage very difficult.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunshineGirl2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Andreia Penedo, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at The 7 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2022

Good morning ! Please accept a huge thank you from all of us here at the The 7 Hotel! We were so happy to hear you had such a great experience. It means the world to us to hear we were successful in taking part of your special trip to Lisbon.
Hope to have you back soon.
Kind regards,Andreia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2022 via mobile

Hotel is in an excellent location.

As other review has stated there is no flexibility on the 3pm check in rule which after a flight that lands at 10am means you have up to 5 hours to kill.

Our room on the 5th (top) floor was the smallest hotel room we ever experienced. In over 50% of the room it wasn't possible to stand up straight.

On the plus side, the room was very clean with a daily room cleaning service which included towel changes.

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank enda1276
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Andreia Penedo, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at The 7 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2022

Hello Good morning, thank you very much for your feedback! Your room was on the top floor, and it's a sloping ceiling floor. We are sorry that you didn't like it and we suggest that next time you talk to us at reception, we will try to change a room. As for the check-in time, we disinfect all the rooms with our own high temperature machines before check-in and that's why we can only make the rooms available at that time! Believe me that in the time between check out and check in all our teams are running to have the rooms on time. For early flight situations, what we always advise is to book the room one day before arrival, so that you can have the room as soon as you arrive. Understand our side, our check out is at 11 am, and we always leave our guests free of charge to leave around 12 pm however we have to have time to clean, tidy the room and still disinfect. It's almost a race against time, only the machine has to stay at least an hour in each room. Thank you. Andreia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2022 via mobile

This has been my "go to" hotel in Lisbon for each of the past 3 years however I know its time for a change.

I do like the hotel location and its spotless and clean rooms.

What I have come to dislike is the hotel check-in policy which has become annoying and somewhat draconian.
The hotel maintains a rigid and hard check-in policy of 3pm. THIS DOESN'T WORK WELL FOR PEOPLE FLYING INTO LISBON FROM THE USA OR EVEN OTHER EUROPEAN LOCATIONS AS FLIGHTS TYPICALLY ARRIVE BETWEEN 07:00-10:00 LOCAL TIME! Consequently, people arrive at the hotel, are required to check there luggage on site and then you have to literally mess around Lisbon between 5-8 hours in a semi conscious state until they 'graciously' allow you to have a room!
It also doesn't work for people like myself who are partially handicapped with mobility issues! I either have to sit in their lobby for a long stretch of time or try to navigate the city killing hours when all I really need is to get into a room and stretch out after my 8.5 hour flight to Lisbon. There is only so much time a person with a cane can move around.
The third item which has arisen is the €15 pp daily on site charge for breakfast. Pricey!

Room tip: Dont come to the hotel to checkin before 3pm. You wont get in!
Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kolasa03148
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Andreia Penedo, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at The 7 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2022

Hello, Good Morning!
Thank you so much for your feedback! All comments are important for us to improve our service.
As for the value of breakfast, unfortunately the prices have gone up and to keep the same quality of food, we also had to raise the values,
As for the check-in time, we disinfect all the rooms with our own high temperature machines before check-in and that's why we can only make the rooms available at that time! Believe me that in the time between check out and check in all our teams are running to have the rooms on time. For early flight situations, what we always advise is to book the room one day before arrival, so that you can have the room as soon as you arrive. Understand our side, our check out is at 11 am, and we always leave our guests free of charge to leave around 12 pm however we have to have time to clean, tidy the room and still disinfect. It's almost a race against time, only the machine has to stay at least an hour in each room. We are sorry for what happened and hope to see you again, Thank you. Andreia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2022

Great location! Close to everything, center of town, walk to everything, a block from Rua Augusta, 2 blocks from Justa lift, 3 blocks from Plaza D’ Comercio.
No public transport used during our 6 days stay, except to/from a Airport. Funicular to Barrio Alta is walkable. I feel safe here, we took siesta in between our walks.
Hotel is comfortable, some small issues with TV connection, but fixable. Staff are very helpful.

I highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: September 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank batutay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Andreia Penedo, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at The 7 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2022

Good morning ! Please accept a huge thank you from all of us here at the The 7 Hotel! We were so happy to hear you had such a great experience. It means the world to us to hear we were successful in taking part of your special trip to Lisbon.
Hope to have you back soon.
Kind regards,Andreia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2022 via mobile

There was a problem in the electricity in my room. It turned off every hour and then partially turned on after a few minutes.
So when Ive been in the shower the light were turned off. When I was sleeping the AC was turned off by itself (and didnt back), leading to a bad sleep. The tv was turned on a few minutes after that when the electricity was automatically back every hour (!) in night (the AC didnt back automatically as mentioned).
I asked for the help of the reception staff 6 times, they promised everytime that it was solved but it wasn't even on my last night.
Additionally, the house keepers in floor 4 were yelling non-stop when they worked together (usually 9AM-5PM), which made the sleeping even worse. I could hear everything in the adjacent room (including snoring of the people there).
Furthermore, the room didnt feel clean. I found several woman hair on bed (I was a solo male traveler), and there was a significant rust in the bath. The soap dispenser was very dirty as well.
Overall it was a very bad experience.

Room tip: There are a lot of other great hotels in this city, avoid this terrible one.
Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank 278idanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Andreia Penedo, Serviços ao cliente/atendimento at The 7 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2022

Good morning Mr. Idan. Thank you so much for your feedback and your photos. Only then can we evolve and improve our service. Yesterday we asked an electrician to check his room, as you talk about electricity problems, however he did not detect any problems and we also had no complaints from other customers, which leaves us with some doubts. , as for the complaints you made at reception, we analyzed it internally and the only time we were aware of it was at your check out. Our housekeeping team rarely works in pairs, the noise you may have heard may have been guests and in that part we do not have full control, however we regret what happened. As for the cleanliness complaints you report, some rooms will be refurbished due to excessive use and it is normal for some things to deteriorate. Our cleaning is done to the smallest detail, and all sheets and towels are cleaned at high temperatures, We think it's strange that you found hair, however we appreciate your feedback. We only ask next time that if you see any problems, contact us at the moment so we can act, as it seems that you just wanted to complain on our social networks. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews