We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$146
View deal
Expedia.com
US$155
View deal
Trip.com
US$123
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/02/23
Hotels.comUS$155
TravelocityUS$155
PricelineUS$146
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (879)
Filter reviews
879 results
Traveller rating
598
252
23
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
598
252
23
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews alfama district converted convent rooms are small fresh fruit salad tram route pastries old lisbon river view lovely hotel single room recommend this hotel modern design junior suite comfortable bed walking distance quiet at night definitely stay here again
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 879 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2022 via mobile

Amazing hotel in a great area. The staff is wonderful and helpful and the breakfast delicious. The rooms are small though, but they face a courtyard so it’s quieter at night. Our only complaint is that the beds are so hard! The mattresses are extremely firm, I have a back ache from 3 nights of little sleep. If you are used to it maybe it’s no problem, besides that this hotel is amazing!

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 701AnitaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 19 November 2022

I remember that I was getting very concerned about my hotel room when I got to the neighborhood. It seemed like an older, run down area of the city. The hotel and room actually ended up very pleasant The hotel staff was very considerate and helpful. It was a small room, but accommodating considering the low price. The room was very clean and comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to any of my friends and family on a little bit of a budget. It’s a good value place!

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Peterharris32
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 31 October 2022 via mobile

3night, long weekend stay here. The hotel is a converted convent which gives it some lovely outside space in the centre of Alfama.
The staff were very helpful and polite - nothing was too much trouble.
As a single traveller it was great to get a ‘single’ room with a double bed and plenty of room to move. The interior of the hotel has been refitted beautifully, very modern and with all the little touches you’d expect.
Breakfast is plentiful, but a little cramped when it’s busy.
I arrived from the airport on the metro and disembarked at Martin Moniz station. It’s only a 9 minute walk BUT it’s ALL uphill!! It was a good introduction for what lay ahead in my exploring days. No matter how you approach this hotel on foot you will be climbing steep inclines. But that added to the charm for me!

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank prill62
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 31 October 2022

We are very happy with our stay staff is amazing and polite, the breakfast is top notch.
Rooms are very clean, air condition is great, location is stellar.

We will definitely stay here next time.

Thank you very much.

Date of stay: October 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mcklein1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 22 October 2022

Tucked away in Alfama this is a very nicely converted hotel. We were there for 6 nights so went for the duplex junior suite (2 small cells on top of each other!) very nicely done out with a large comfortable bed and lovely wood stairs. The AC is efficient and you get a comfy sitting area. My husband wasn’t too happy with the bathroom being downstairs. A useful safe, fridge and kettle are provided and there is a very good breakfast each morning with freshly squeezed orange juice, freshly cooked bread and a hot selection as well as lots of fruit and pastries.

The hotel is like a cloister around a courtyard with a pleasant lounge area. Staff were friendly and helpful. We had a few problems with the bathroom when we arrived which were promptly sorted out.

The area is very busy (it’s right next to a popular tourist viewpoint and on the 28 tram route – in fact the tram goes round 2 sides of the hotel. This does make it a bit noisy especially in the evening with tram noises, plus the local young men using skateboards on the marble terraces above is a bit annoying as they crash around. But the rooms are reasonably soundproofed and it goes quiet at night.

There was imperfect soundproofing between our room and next door however which meant that if we had noisy neighbours they were audible.

It’s walking distance to a lot of things if you are OK with hills. The tram passes close by but can be very busy at times. It’s not so handy for the metro. We found the most reliable was to get around was to walk down to the cruise terminal where you could get buses going up the river or into the train station more easily than the tram.

There is a charitable organisation associated with this hotel so it’s a sound choice. And Alfama is an amazing area, very easy to get lost but with little restaurants everywhere.

Date of stay: September 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews