We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of TJ Walking

TJ Walking
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Funchal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
TJ Walking
Ranked #24 of 35 Funchal B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 September 2014

TJ Walking is a little gem of a bed and breakfast which we found quite by chance. Trevor and June are excellent and welcoming hosts and nothing is too much trouble. We were met by Trevor at the airport and driven to their home where they have 4 double en suite rooms. Each room is tastefully decorated and very comfortable. Also included is a safe, fridge, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facility.
Breakfast is served with cheerful banter by June each morning! A choice of cereals, local breads with homemade jams and fruit. Tea , coffee and fruit juice to wash it all down.
We are both keen walkers and Trevor is a font of knowledge. There are folders with routes for very many walks of differing levels of difficulty, each with the relevant bus number and times to get to the start of the walk.
Can't wait to visit again!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank toetaperific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

TJ Walking is definitely the place to stay if you enjoy asking on Madeira. Accommodation is great together with expert information on routes to walk and the buses needed to make that possible. Trever and June go out of their way to let you enjoy your holiday on the island. They even catered for my Coeliac Disease and provided gluten free cornflakes for my breakfast.
There is a regular bus down to Funchal and back again to suite most situations. They tell you the times and number of the bus needed to get you back after your walk so you can enjoy the day knowing that there will be transport back to Funchal.
Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at TJ Walking. As others have said and we can confirm, Trevor has a tremendous knowledge of the trails on the island, and of the bus services that you may be able to use to access them, and he is very happy to give you the advice you'll likely need. Their house was more than comfortable enough for our needs, and June's breakfast was great. There is a stop for a frequent bus service to city centre very close by. Incidentally, my luggage was lost in transit for many days, and Trevor and June were helpful in trying to get things sorted out.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

This hotel is really a sweet place to stay in the interior is so different from the outside.and I live in London. So it was actually travelling to another country. Really I loved the swimming pool outside it should be at least 12 square feet

Room Tip: Corner suites are nice and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ibrar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Just back from a great holiday in Madeira,Initially we were a little anxious about booking this bed and breakfast guest house due to the awful SUZE1970 review in Feb. 2009!! But from the moment we arrived we were welcomed wholeheartedly by two wonderful people June and Trevor, they couldn't have done enough for us during our week stay.
We saved a great amount of time getting all info about walks,buses routes, and things to see and do around the Island from our hosts.
Trevor also offers Airport transfers at a very reasonable cost, wish we'd known before.
The guest house is very large and is in a particularly good location, having the Botanical gardens,Cable Car,and Toboggan just a short bus ride away, in fact the toboggan finishes just a short walk away from the accommodation.
The bus no 19 stops on Livramento so getting to Monte or Funchal is so easy and convenient.
A proper safe, tea and coffee-making facilities, hair-dryer, well-stocked fridge at very reasonable cost, plenty of storage etc await you in your room.
June did us a very filling breakfast with cereal,juice,fresh bread/cobs,fruit, cake + Preserves,Tea etc for the money we paid we just couldn't ask for more.
Trevor and June are warm enthusiastic knowledgeable people who go out they're way to make sure you'll have a wonderful holiday at Trejuno.
So the 1 bad review that so nearly stopped us booking at the Trejuno. PLEASE IGNORE!!
We had a wonderful stay and would certainly stay there again.
Many Thanks to you both June and Trevor x

Room Tip: The TWIN room no 2 is particularly spacious and has a great view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank coale39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.8 km away
Residencial Parque
Residencial Parque
#61 of 88 in Funchal
93 reviews
4.9 km away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
3.9 km away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,073 reviews
3.1 km away
Phil's Haven Hostel
Phil's Haven Hostel
#15 of 43 in Funchal
50 reviews
1.4 km away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TJ Walking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TJ Walking

Address: Estrada do Livramento 94, Funchal, Madeira 9050-231, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Funchal
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
TJ Walking Funchal, Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing