We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$231
US$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$252
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$295
US$288
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$192
US$184
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$154
US$131
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$69
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$128
US$82
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albergaria Catedral(Funchal)(Great Value!)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$201
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$438
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
7
2
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
2
1
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2014

TJ Walking is definitely the place to stay if you enjoy asking on Madeira. Accommodation is great together with expert information on routes to walk and the buses needed to make that possible. Trever and June go out of their way to let you enjoy your holiday on the island. They even catered for my Coeliac Disease and provided gluten free cornflakes for my breakfast.
There is a regular bus down to Funchal and back again to suite most situations. They tell you the times and number of the bus needed to get you back after your walk so you can enjoy the day knowing that there will be transport back to Funchal.
Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at TJ Walking. As others have said and we can confirm, Trevor has a tremendous knowledge of the trails on the island, and of the bus services that you may be able to use to access them, and he is very happy to give you the advice you'll likely need. Their house was more than comfortable enough for our needs, and June's breakfast was great. There is a stop for a frequent bus service to city centre very close by. Incidentally, my luggage was lost in transit for many days, and Trevor and June were helpful in trying to get things sorted out.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

This hotel is really a sweet place to stay in the interior is so different from the outside.and I live in London. So it was actually travelling to another country. Really I loved the swimming pool outside it should be at least 12 square feet

Room Tip: Corner suites are nice and sunny
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ibrar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Just back from a great holiday in Madeira,Initially we were a little anxious about booking this bed and breakfast guest house due to the awful SUZE1970 review in Feb. 2009!! But from the moment we arrived we were welcomed wholeheartedly by two wonderful people June and Trevor, they couldn't have done enough for us during our week stay.
We saved a great amount of time getting all info about walks,buses routes, and things to see and do around the Island from our hosts.
Trevor also offers Airport transfers at a very reasonable cost, wish we'd known before.
The guest house is very large and is in a particularly good location, having the Botanical gardens,Cable Car,and Toboggan just a short bus ride away, in fact the toboggan finishes just a short walk away from the accommodation.
The bus no 19 stops on Livramento so getting to Monte or Funchal is so easy and convenient.
A proper safe, tea and coffee-making facilities, hair-dryer, well-stocked fridge at very reasonable cost, plenty of storage etc await you in your room.
June did us a very filling breakfast with cereal,juice,fresh bread/cobs,fruit, cake + Preserves,Tea etc for the money we paid we just couldn't ask for more.
Trevor and June are warm enthusiastic knowledgeable people who go out they're way to make sure you'll have a wonderful holiday at Trejuno.
So the 1 bad review that so nearly stopped us booking at the Trejuno. PLEASE IGNORE!!
We had a wonderful stay and would certainly stay there again.
Many Thanks to you both June and Trevor x

Room Tip: The TWIN room no 2 is particularly spacious and has a great view of the mountains.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank coale39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2009

Trevor and June Franks have been providing a wonderful service to those who love walking in Madeira for many years. They have a large house situated 900 feet above the centre of Funchal with 4 double/twin rooms to let; they also provide guests with a substantial continental breakfast. Their knowledge of walking the levadas is not matched anywhere else and Trevor has detailed over 120 walks to suit all degree of walkers which are available to everyone who stays at their B and B.
My wife and I have stayed with them several times in recent years and can recommend them wholeheartedly.
David and Sylvia.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoystonFrinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews