We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$234
US$221
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$243
US$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$286/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$289
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
US$179
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$65
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
Reviews (558)
Filter reviews
558 results
Traveller rating
245
252
41
16
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
245
252
41
16
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmunicipal gardenscentral locationrooftop barold townthe ritzla viesmall poolexcellent locationswimming pool on the roofgreat showertinned fruitbreakfast roomshopping centrenoisy at nightsized roomthe main hotel areawalk in shower
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 558 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2018

This is one of the worst hotels my wife and I have ever experienced and was so bad that we refused to eat breakfast after the first morning and abandoned the last night of our three night stay. When we arrived, we got no more than a glance from a very unpleasant and condescending receptionist who neither welcomed nor greeted us. Our room was little better than a jail cell, not least because of its cramped dimensions and its looking out onto an internal light well across from other guests passing corridor windows. To reach the room, we had to negotiate flights of stairs after leaving the lift. It took over an hour's persistence before we were moved to another room, which was better but nothing like the images on the hotel's web site. Breakfast the next morning was appalling. The canteen staff were rude and astonishing unhelpful and the choice of food was woeful. There was no proper coffee, which is inexcusable these days. A daily fee is levied to use the safe box in a room. The hotel bears little resemblance to its presentation on its web site, which is misleading in the extreme, and we would advise anyone asking us to avoid it. The cost of a room in this hotel are excessive compared to its lack of quality. There are far better hotels in Funchal that are pleasant to stay in and far better value than this one. Our access to the formal complaints book that all hotels must have on Madeira and that are regularly inspected by the authorities was denied.

Room Tip: Just avoid the hotel and go elsewhere.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms
3  Thank mauriceapeakin2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menezes-Sonia, General Manager at Hotel Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Dear Mr. Mauricepeakin2016,

Thank you for your review of your stay at Hotel Madeira. The input, and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met upon arrival. However, we are disappointed to see that you have not been in contact with us as requested on your previous "worst hotel every stayed in review" written by your partner/wife approximately two weeks ago (24th of May) and instead decided to write yet another negative review.

We would like to point out that we have two elevators which together cover all the floors of the hotel. Also we confirm that all images on our website are of existing rooms. Our breakfast is Buffet with a variety of choice hot and cold dishes and it is not a canteen. Also we confirm that there is a small charge for using of the safe and which guests can decide to use or not.

We are sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations, our team of professionals work very hard every day to improve the service and to make our guests feel special and at home.

Best regards,
Sónia Menezes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2018

This hotels location is 2 blocks away from the promenade and harbour/water. The red hop on hop off busses also start their journey close to the hotel. However, the picture on hotels.com for booking a room is not a true reflection of the room we got. When I asked for an upgrade, I was informed that the hotel was fully booked. We have requested a double bed and we got 2 single worn out maytresses. Do not expect much of the rooms as this is a 3 star hotel. The pool and the view is nice, the breakfast was average, but the location as mentioned cant be beaten for the price you pay. There is also a market over the weekend in feont of the hotel where locals sell their arts and crafts. The streets surrounding the hotel were very noisy at night. You also had to pay a deposit for the use of the safe in the room.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Illona0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018

This was our third visit to Madeira and the hotel so obviously we were very pleased with our previous stays.

The public areas, breakfast room and top floor sun / snack bar area are very clean neat and tidy. The swimming pool is also located on the top sun lounger area.

Reception is both friendly and helpful, catering staff are efficient and welcoming.

Breakfast of the continental style is good and well stocked. The roof top snack bar provides a good tasty snack menu in a nice panoramic setting.

I'm not sure what has happened to room make up / cleaning but we found it a bit irregular and either 8.30 am before breakfast, while getting dressed or left very late in the afternnon even after reporting it to reception. The latter meant that after a day out on trips coming back to the hotel and showering we had to use damp, partially aired bath towels. Then the cleaning lady would arrive in the middle of dressing.

Maybe management could get the cleaning ladies to have a routine so the guests would know when they are going to do up the rooms. I'm sure this could be addressed and return the hotel to a five spot service rating.

Room Tip: South / front area daytime sun. North side for afternoon and evening sun set and views.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

I do not agree with any of the comments made by a previous reviewer. It was almost as if they were reviewing a different hotel.

Our room looked out on the street with the usual street noise of a busy town throughout the day but it was very quiet at night even with our little window over the door open.

The lift took a bit of getting used to but we had it worked out after a day or two. The room will probably need redecorating in the next year or so but it had almost everything we needed (with the exception of tea and coffee making facilities that we would have liked). The hotel in general and the public areas in particular were clean, bright and tidy. The breakfast room was bright and cheerful with pretty decor The tables were cleared quickly when guests had finished. Breakfast was a choice of three hot dishes and a variety of cold meats, cheese, fruit, juices, cereals, different breads, croissants along with tea and coffee. A special thank you to the ladies in the breakfast room who worked so hard.

All the staff we met were very pleasant and helpful. Another special thank you to Artur who always had a welcoming smile when we met and who looked after us when we needed him.

The location of the hotel is excellent. A short fairly flat walk to the main street and sea front and around a 10 minute walk to the Old Town.

We did have a look at the pool area and it looked lovely but cannot really comment more as weather was not good enough to brave a dip.

We hope to return soon and would certainly be looking to stay at Hotel Madeira again.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank marg001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018

We have stayed in a few lovely hotels in Madeira in different towns so having looked at the photos of the rooms in this hotel we expected it to be of equal quality.
We arrived after a long day travelling to be sent to a room that was small and smelly.Its only window looked out onto a internal courtyard with an air conditioning unit for the hall way directly next to the window. This unit was very noisy and smelly.
To get to the room we had to wind our way with our cases up and down many flights of stairs.
There was no central heating or air conditioning in the room but only an old oil filled heater shoved into a small corner next to a very makeshift dressing table.
We complained to the man at reception about our disappointment of the room to be told this is the room you have been given and we can not move you .After about an hour of arguments and a long phone call to his manager we were finally offered a different
room.
This room was a little better in size but just as shabby, very smelly and extremely noisy most of the night.
After a very bad night's sleep we went to breakfast to find a small shabby room ,instant coffee,stale bread, very little choice of other food and very unfriendly staff.

After 2 nights we couldn't take any more and found alternative accommodation.We were not offered a refund for the remainder of our stay or any apologies. There was a
absolutely no understanding or sympathy for our distress and we were clearly considered as being unreasonable.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel
Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank susancolours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menezes-Sonia, General Manager at Hotel Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2018

Dear Mrs. Susan Colours,

Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. We are sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations. Our team of professionals works very hard every day to improve the service and to make our guests feel special and at home.

Regarding the points mentioed, we would like to point out to the contrary to what you have mentioned, our halls do not have airconditioning, but all our rooms have individually controled AC units.

We hope that weI can convince you to change your mind about another visit to our property. Please reach out to me directly at sonia.menezes@hotelmadeira.com , if you would be willing to give us a chance to turn your experience around. It would be such a pleasure to personally welcome you back to hotel Madeira!

Best regards,
Sonia Menezes
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews