We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”
Review of Quintinha Sao Joao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quintinha Sao Joao
Ranked #9 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From the minute of arrival, the friendly welcome and attention to customer service was first class. This continued from each and every staff member regardless through out the entire week we were there. We felt almost as if among friends rather than a paying guest in a hotel. The whole atmosphere and ambiance in the hotel is peaceful, relaxed and welcoming. We had a standard room with a balcony and a fantastic view over the beautiful gardens, only slightly marred by a rather ugly looking hotel only just visible through the trees. Breakfast was beautifully prepared and presented with plenty of choice for all. We ate dinner in the hotel for a couple of nights and the quality of menu and flavours quite lovely. The hotel is nicely situated away from the more built up "hotel district" so retains a real character. It is a walk of around 15 minutes to the town and is uphill on the way back so after a long day out could be a little wearing but the taxis from the town are cheap and the hotel does run a courtesy bus during the day. I would say the location may not be suited to those with mobility issues. We loved our stay so much that we will definitely be back and really would hate to spoil the experience with any negative comment but were we forced to make such a comment, it would be that the beds were a little too hard for our tastes. But that said, we did not mention it to the staff and I feel sure with their high standards of sincere customer care they would have endeavoured in some way to put this to rights. If you are looking for a place to feel special and sincerely cared for (not the "have a nice day" type of customer service) with brilliant rooms, grounds and facilities, then look no further.

Room Tip: Views form the rooms with balconies are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PennyT59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a kind and detailed review of your stay at the Quintinha de Sāo João. We are all delighted with your lovely words about our hotel, its décor, cuisine, staff and service.

We strive constantly to achieve the highest standard of quality in all areas and I am thrilled that you found our service such that you felt you were among friends! Your kind words are much appreciated and will be a great source of motivation for the entire team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your Home in Madeira very soon.

Kind regards

Yours sincerely

André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 1,154 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Room Tip: Very good blackout curtains - don't close them if you need to get up early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 September 2017

We visited in september, and found the hotel fitted the bill perfectly for us. It is located around 15 minutes walk from Funchal, if you take the right route. The Hotel is traditionally styled and set in a reasonably peaceful location. The rooms are spacious and very clean, they have a TV and fridge, bathrobes and good sized bathroom. One thing, for a 5 star hotel, they should provide you with free bottled water every day, they don't here so buy some. The Maderia tap water is ok to drink but has a high mineral content and can upset your stomach, personally I never drink local water anywhere, always bottled.
The floors where the rooms are, are tiled so it can be noisy, also the walls are thin, and you can hear the toilets flush in other rooms, doors banging as well.
The restaurant is superb, with a varied menus, we loved the Goan Currys. we ate several times here as the food was that good and a very reasonably priced.
Breakfast was also good with many choices. The staff, well simply lovely.
There are a couple of courtesy buses per day but to be honest we used taxis as well as it's only a 6 euro trip if you don't fancy the walk.
It has lovely gardens and a small pool area with a bar and you can eat here, try the custard tart. The pool is bordered by a sort of grass, If it were my hotel I would get rid of the grass and, tile, or put something down as there are insects in the grass, I got bit on the ankles by the pool so use a cream. All in all for us a lovely place and we would visit again.

Room Tip: Top Floor room will avoid noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Happysnapper50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Quintinha de São João for your September holiday to Madeira and for taking the time to leave your kind remarks on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to know that you found our hotel “fitted the bill perfectly “for you and that you specially enjoyed the cuisine and our staff.

We are delighted that you would visit again and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

We visited in August 17 with our two teenage daughters.

The hotel was fantastic, very comfortable bedrooms each with a balcony overlooking their wonderful gardens. The bedrooms were wonderfully clean and the maid service was very thorough.

We ate in the restaurant several times and thoroughly enjoyed our meal each time. Breakfasts were varied and always had freshly made cakes, rolls, cereals, fresh fruit and hot food made to order.

What is really special about this hotel though is the staff, all were incredibly friendly, went out of their way to be helpful and spoke impeccable English.

We would definitely stay again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank 99Bailey1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear guests,

It was a pleasure to have had the opportunity of welcoming you to the Quintinha de São João for your recent holiday to Madeira and we are most grateful for your positive feedback and perfect “5 stars” rating.

Thank you for the special mention regarding our staff and we are delighted that you found us friendly and helpful. This is of the utmost importance to the whole team.

It is wonderfully rewarding that you would stay here again and we look forward to this immensely.

Kind regards
Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

Fantastic staff and a fantastic hotel. Pools were clean, master chef night was great, complimentary cocktail, excellent pool bar, and great service throughout. The courtesy bus was very useful, the gym was well equipped and the spa facilities are second to none. The knowledgeable staff made a big difference to my wife and I enjoying many aspects of Madeira that we had not seen highlighted elsewhere.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Vijay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear guests,

Thank you for choosing the Quintinha de São João for your recent holiday in Madeira and thank you for sharing your experience with the followers of TripAdvisor.

It was a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay and found that our knowledgeable staff made a difference to your discovery of the “real” Madeira.

Your comments are much appreciated and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.0 km away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
920 reviews
0.9 km away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
1.3 km away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
2,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#16 of 88 in Funchal
2,241 reviews
1.0 km away
Castanheiro Boutique Hotel
2.9 km away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quintinha Sao Joao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quintinha Sao Joao

Address: Rua Levada Sao Joao 4 | Madeira, Funchal, Madeira 9000-191, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Funchal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#7 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $184 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Quintinha Sao Joao 5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built within the grounds of an historic "Quinta" of Funchal, Quintinha de Sao Joao resurrects perfectly the magic of the old Madeiran residences. There are 42 spacious rooms in total, all equipped with the most up-to-date facilities with splendid views over the gardens. Bar, restaurant, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools and full Spa are included facilities. The careful attention to detail and the excellent personal service brings to life our motto "Home from Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quintinha Sao Joao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quintinha Sao Joao Funchal, Madeira
Quintinha Sao Joao Hotel Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing