We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quintinha Sao Joao
Nearby Hotels
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel The Cliff Bay(Funchal)
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$578
US$371
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$263
US$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$95/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Porto Santa Maria Hotel(Funchal)
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$233
US$138
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$241
US$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,218)
Filter reviews
1,218 results
Traveller rating
980
186
34
15
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
980
186
34
15
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquintinha sao joaomaster chefcovered poolgames roomsmall hotelbalcony overlooking the gardena la carte menuhappy hourcourtesy busbusy roadnothing is too much troublelovely hotelmattress topperhalf boardhome from homesteep walkrestaurant staff are
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 1,218 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Room Tip: Very good blackout curtains - don't close them if you need to get up early!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 September 2017

We visited in september, and found the hotel fitted the bill perfectly for us. It is located around 15 minutes walk from Funchal, if you take the right route. The Hotel is traditionally styled and set in a reasonably peaceful location. The rooms are spacious and very clean, they have a TV and fridge, bathrobes and good sized bathroom. One thing, for a 5 star hotel, they should provide you with free bottled water every day, they don't here so buy some. The Maderia tap water is ok to drink but has a high mineral content and can upset your stomach, personally I never drink local water anywhere, always bottled.
The floors where the rooms are, are tiled so it can be noisy, also the walls are thin, and you can hear the toilets flush in other rooms, doors banging as well.
The restaurant is superb, with a varied menus, we loved the Goan Currys. we ate several times here as the food was that good and a very reasonably priced.
Breakfast was also good with many choices. The staff, well simply lovely.
There are a couple of courtesy buses per day but to be honest we used taxis as well as it's only a 6 euro trip if you don't fancy the walk.
It has lovely gardens and a small pool area with a bar and you can eat here, try the custard tart. The pool is bordered by a sort of grass, If it were my hotel I would get rid of the grass and, tile, or put something down as there are insects in the grass, I got bit on the ankles by the pool so use a cream. All in all for us a lovely place and we would visit again.

Room Tip: Top Floor room will avoid noise issues.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Happysnapper50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Quintinha de São João for your September holiday to Madeira and for taking the time to leave your kind remarks on TripAdvisor.

It was indeed a pleasure to know that you found our hotel “fitted the bill perfectly “for you and that you specially enjoyed the cuisine and our staff.

We are delighted that you would visit again and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

We visited in August 17 with our two teenage daughters.

The hotel was fantastic, very comfortable bedrooms each with a balcony overlooking their wonderful gardens. The bedrooms were wonderfully clean and the maid service was very thorough.

We ate in the restaurant several times and thoroughly enjoyed our meal each time. Breakfasts were varied and always had freshly made cakes, rolls, cereals, fresh fruit and hot food made to order.

What is really special about this hotel though is the staff, all were incredibly friendly, went out of their way to be helpful and spoke impeccable English.

We would definitely stay again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank 99Bailey1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear guests,

It was a pleasure to have had the opportunity of welcoming you to the Quintinha de São João for your recent holiday to Madeira and we are most grateful for your positive feedback and perfect “5 stars” rating.

Thank you for the special mention regarding our staff and we are delighted that you found us friendly and helpful. This is of the utmost importance to the whole team.

It is wonderfully rewarding that you would stay here again and we look forward to this immensely.

Kind regards
Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

Fantastic staff and a fantastic hotel. Pools were clean, master chef night was great, complimentary cocktail, excellent pool bar, and great service throughout. The courtesy bus was very useful, the gym was well equipped and the spa facilities are second to none. The knowledgeable staff made a big difference to my wife and I enjoying many aspects of Madeira that we had not seen highlighted elsewhere.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Vijay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear guests,

Thank you for choosing the Quintinha de São João for your recent holiday in Madeira and thank you for sharing your experience with the followers of TripAdvisor.

It was a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay and found that our knowledgeable staff made a difference to your discovery of the “real” Madeira.

Your comments are much appreciated and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

The hotel staff all care about guests' comfort and enjoyment - nothing is too much trouble. There is a lady, Rosie, who is available to help you book trips and to suggest excursions/activities that you might enjoy. She was very helpful in tracking down a park that we went to 25 years ago (our description was "the park had a couple of traction engines in it" - and she somehow got the right park from that). It is a 15-20 minute walk into the centre of Funchal, or there is a courtesy bus twice a day. We enjoyed it not being near the main "hotel area". The rooms are clean and well-equipped.
The small gym has all the equipment that you need for a workout, and the pools are good for a cooling off dip. If you want a more substantial swim, we recommend a trip to the Lido.
The breakfast has a wide range of options - there will be something to please every palate. The meals at the restaurant are well priced and excellent. My husband recommends the specialist Goan curries, and we both enjoyed the "Madeiran experience" evening.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abarreto, General Manager at Quintinha Sao Joao, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your delightful review and lovely comments. Thank you too for highlighting our staff, service and restaurant in particular. "The hotel staff all care about guests' comfort and enjoyment - nothing is too much trouble" - this is what the Quintinha is all about and we are pleased that you have found this apparent.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future and preferably before 25 years!

Kind regards
Yours sincerely
André Barreto
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews