We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quinta da Bela Vista
Ranked #21 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
London, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel!”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

The Hotel is very well located away from the noise of a normal city, located about 6 minutes drive from the centre of Funchal.
The food is realy very good - Buffet breakfast served in the yeallow dinning room, lunch at the poolside bar with beautiful views over the bay of Funchal and the dinner in the original manor house where they serve the a la carte menu is really the end of a unforgettable day.
During the day we swam in the heated outdoor pool; play tennis and play billiard.
We made several excursions on the island and the most impressed was the visit to Porto Moniz in the west of the island.
We also did some sightseeing in they famous levada walks.
It was an unforgettable week for us thank´s to the efficient and very professional service throughout the hotel staff.
We will return to the island of Madeira and of course the beautiful Quinta da Bela Vista.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    662
    170
    50
    17
    2
See reviews for
90
652
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I Was expecting somethyng especial but never to receive this kind of treatrement.
On arrival at the hotel the reception staff welcome us like a kings.
As soon as the taxi arrived to the hotel they welcome us and d´not allow us to do anything helse.
They picked up the luggage from the car, they informed me that from that moment we only have to enjoy our holiday.
Room was very comfortable facing the the beautiful gardens " we booked a De Luxe room with Balcony" I say is a Junior Suite.
Large room (mini bar bath and shower with separate Wc) wiffi connecting free of charge was very usefull for me because I had to use it very offen (bussiness) and the private and large balcony was very nice because I me a smoker so a could smoke in the balcony.
Regarding meal´s: Buffet breakfast - Fantastic - In the restaurant located in the Old House where they serve the a la carte menu - Service and food is out of this world (We have had the change to enjoy some meals in restaurants with Michelan starts) but this Quinta restaurant should have at least 2 michelan Stars.
Pool bar - The Light lunches that they serve there are very good and also from there we enjoyed very much the view over the bay of Funchal and mountains.
Our sincer congratulations for your excelent service, we will be back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Nobrega M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberfeldy, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We came here on a walking holiday, hot and tired at the end of a long day. We were met by the manager and one of his staff with a glass of madeira wine and it was like coming home. Our room overlooked the bay and part of the garden with a small balcony with table and chairs. The view at night was wonderful, the food unexpectedly good and the service could not be faulted. We felt genuinely welcome - not just because it was a quiet time of the year. The courtesy bus to the centre of Funchal was a bonus as was the heated outdoor pool. Not the cheapest but I would recommend it to anyone if you want to escape the busy centre of Funchal and imagine you are almost in the country. We even had a letter on our return to the UK to thank us for coming and hoping we would be returning. We hope so too!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank margaret g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Lovely hotel with an impressive high level of luxury. Room is large, the staff are helpful and friendly and the facilities excellent. The food is 5 stars, also the service at the pool bar is excellent. We really loved being able to relax by the pool with a cup of tea, or in the lounge overlooking the beuatiful bay and montains. Oh and breakfast was very good as well.
Bela Vista is not in the centre of town, but it's possible to walk into town in about 20 minutes. Coming back we always tack a taxi costs only EUR 5.,00 to 6 euro.
We can thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Olav O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
z
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Enjoyed very much our 7 nights stay - Service excellent - Room spacious very clean and with a superb view over the bay of Funchal.
Breakfast "Buffet" excellent - Dinner in the old house superb.
Mini-bus very usefull to go to the centre of town.
Thank you to all staff to make our stay special.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gustav L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.1 km away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 86 in Funchal
875 reviews
1.9 km away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
1.5 km away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#9 of 86 in Funchal
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,857 reviews
2.1 km away
The Vine Hotel
The Vine Hotel
#18 of 86 in Funchal
2,111 reviews
1.1 km away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta da Bela Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta da Bela Vista

Property: Quinta da Bela Vista
Address: Caminho Avista Navios 4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-129, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#19 Family Hotel in Funchal
#21 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price range (per night): $205 - $498
Hotel Class:5 star — Quinta da Bela Vista 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We strive to give you the warm and genuine hospitality of the traditional Madeiran Quintas. There are many moments to be cherished at Quinta da Bela Vista, one of the most select and exclusive family properties on Madeira island. This five star hotel enveloped in two hectares of luxurious botanical gardens – the ideal place to relax and enjoy spectacular views - hosts a significant antiques private collection. Our commitment ensures every guest wishes are fulfilled, making you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quinta da Bela Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Da Bela Vista Hotel Funchal
Quinta Da Bela Vista Funchal, Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing