We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$234
US$221
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$195
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$180
US$169
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$204
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$210
US$173
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$243
US$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$286/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$103
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$299
US$290
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$69
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,830)
Filter reviews
2,830 results
Traveller rating
1,580
892
280
51
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,580
892
280
51
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain restaurantmoonlight barbranded drinksall inclusive hotelpool areashow cookinglobby barbuffet restaurantwater and soft drinksguest relationsall inclusive packagegreat holidaylovely hotelevening entertainmentplenty of choicea la carte restaurantsaqua aerobics
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 2,830 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Madieira is considered as a holiday destination, for, should we say, the elderly. This incorrect.
Admittedly there were many of the 'older generation' at The Enotel Lido, but these were balanced by younger guests who wanted a quieter holiday than the Ibiza experience. Indeed, this was our second visit, having had great fun last time.
So, arriving at the hotel somewhat later to planned (we had missed our connecting flight in Lisbon) the dois amigos were pleased to see some old faces. Nice room too, great balcony. Perfect for that morning cup of jolt or tea. (Hint; take your own tea and coffee and ask for a kettle. Portuguese coffee is all Decaf).
So, what do you get.
Pool area with large pool and separate kids/adult paddling pool. More sun loungers than you can shake a stick at. No need to get up at the crack of dawn and perform a pincer movement to get one. Add an area of tables and umbrellas and you are all set. There's also a heated indoor pool, a gym and spa.
Sports Bar - serving premium brand drinks, as do all the bars in the hotel. At pool level you also find the specialist restuarants, Japanese, Madeiran, Italian and a Brasserie, the latter is a short walk away through a 'secret' tunnel. You can book one visit to each for each week you stay - book at Guest Relations on the 6th floor in reception, which is at ground level, in the expansive foyer, complete with bar area.
The main buffet style restaurant is on level 2. Excellent choice for all palates including vegetarian. When this is closed, the Italian has a buffet running all day. Your choice.
So firmly ensconced, the dois amigos went exploring. The wife won the Madieran Open at a crazy golf course up the road for the second year running. We took the Yellow Bus (hop on hop off to the Cabo Girao Skywalk) Funchal, Cabo de Lobos and walked down extinct volcano tubes. All was great.
But three days before we were due to leave, I became very ill and was to spend the next six days in a Portuguese hospital. My wife (Heather) was obviously very worried, but this is where the hotel staff stepped up. Carolena (Guest Relations attended my exit via ambulance, and housekeeping cleaned up the mess I had left.
Orlando on Reception ensured my wife could stay in our room and offered support for the next six days, as did Carolena. But it didn't stop there; Marsilea in the level 2 restaurant would make sure my wife was looked after, asked about me and was very attentive, something I very much appreciated as I lay in bed feeling sorry for myself.
Many other staff, reception staff and the hotel manager, Monica, also offered support. Talk about going the extra mile.
On Day 6, my wife sprang me 'I've come from my Boy'and returning to the hotel the staff were pleased to see me, and frankly I was pleased to see them. In my estimations, this hotel just got better!
The next day we had a flight back to the UK, which in itself caused problems. Failed landing attempts, cancellations, no information forthcoming at the airport and a 22 hour delay.
But that, dear reader, is for another day.
Enjoy your stay at the Enotel Lido.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank audiowriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent a lovely week here. On arrival greeted by really friendly staff. We were allocated a beautiful room with a sea and pool view. The restaurant was well run and the food was very good. Drinks and food available in abundance. Hotel kept clean and public areas immaculate. Entertainment not brilliant but okay. It's about a 40 minute walk into Funchal centre which is a beautiful place. The walk is pleasant with lots of bars and shops. Maderia is a beautiful Island and has many return visitors.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank RnK16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is our third visit to this lovely hotel. There have been a few changes to the exterior of the hotel, mainly painting on the side facing the pool. This has smartened the outside a lot. All the staff are as friendly and helpful as ever. We travelled with Jet2 and were given an excellent room overlooking the pool and with almost a full sea view.
The food was, on the whole, quite good, but perhaps not quite as good as last time. The main restaurant was really busy, but the service was excellent, the staff work really hard.We had lunch in the snack bar down by the pool, which was also very good.
No complaints at all really, except one liitle thing - it would be good to have a kettle in the room, so that we could make a drink in the morning before breakfast. A small thing really, not a problem.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaroleBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner and i arrived at this lovely hotel on the 18th June '18. The transfers and check in were quick and the overall arrival was welcomed by friendly staff who gave us our room key/number and also in-depth relevant information to help us through our stay.
The room we had was 718, it was very handy as it was very close to the stairs/lift so not very far to walk! The room itself was spacious, Provided bath robes, Essential shower and bath products. Our room had a shower and a bath which was nice to have an option. We had two single beds pushed together (ideally we would of preferred a proper double bed), as i felt like i was going to fall through the middle! ha!
We had a balcony which had a table and two chairs outside, our view was mostly the street with the sea view on the side (we had to hang off the balcony to see it!!) However we weren't fussed, as we saw the sea practically everyday when we were outside.
The overall appearance of the room was a little dated, but really cannot complain too much as we were only in there to shower and sleep etc.
The room was provided with a safe (free of charge). We also had a "free mini bar" Which was basically a small fridge that was stocked with two big bottles of water and three fizzy can drinks everyday, which is good as we didn't have to walk with bottles of water from the shop everyday!
We found the whole lighting a little strange, as we had to keep one light on in order to charge our phones overnight, but we managed to find a way around it and compromise. so it wasn't a massive issue.
Towels were replaced everyday, beds made, floors hoovered etc, so cleanliness was a 10/10.
Then we come onto the catering, and the meal times. we could not fault it, lots of options and variety of food, Catered well for lactose intolerant (i found it easy finding alternatives and not missing out on too much). We booked and attended 3 different cuisine restaurant's these were Italian, Japanese and Maderian, They were fantastic and again catered for my milk intolerance. We could most definitely tell that a lot of passion went into the meals and every one of them looked well presented. Overall we never felt hungry and we definitely felt satisfied after every meal. Wide variety of drinks were provided on all inclusive too. The staff behind the bars were so welcoming, Chatty and very pleasant people. (We definitely won't forget there kindness and generosity throughout our stay).
Entertainment was good. We enjoyed the nights we attended, met some lovely people, and again staff behind the bar were entertaining too!
The outside area was simply stunning! We always managed to get ourselves a sun lounger, However it clearly stated that no one should reserve sun loungers. We found this happened a lot. A couple of sun loungers had been taken up with towels, however the people didn't come to them until almost 5 hours later! So we were a little cross with some people as they could of been used within that time, Would be good if we had someone monitoring this and actually taking towels off especially with it being more than 2 hours of no use. (These were right under the sun too, so some people were struggling to find a nice spot as so many were being reserved).
We had planned quite a few activities with the hotel itself however we made the mistake of booking an activity with our holiday rep (Thomas cook) and actually paying so much more than the hotel. So we booked the rest with the hotel and we were very satisfied with the whole process, they were very helpful too. We would definitely recommend the Jeep safari. We had the pleasure of seeing the sunset too. We were able to order a 'picnic' for the days we were out on trips so we could still eat, this came with packed sandwiches, fruit, cake and a bottle of water all x2.
Our whole experience overall was incredible, We couldn't really put fault on the hotel or the staff. We can't express enough how welcoming and friendly the staff were and we really do appreciate them.
Whilst we were away on the Sunday it was my partners 25th birthday, The hotel had actually left an ice bucket with champagne in our hotel room, with a birthday card. Even i was overwhelmed and it wasn't even mine! Little things like that made us feel appreciated and made our experience that little bit better and memorable.
we highly recommend this hotel. Any questions then please don't hesitate to ask.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RoxieeSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a very good all round hotel that serves premium brand drinks v good food and very clean rooms the staff are very friendly the hotel is suited to the more mature person the entertainment is probably the worse we have come across but is the only thing to mention but what can you expect a very good week thank you.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank glenn1956100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews