We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great First Visit to Madeira”
Review of Porto Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Porto Mare Hotel
Ranked #7 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2008

Stayed at Porto Mare 18-25 Feb 2008 and thoroughly enjoyed the experience.
Excellent bedroom with views over pool and garden out to sea.
Plenty of choices for evening meals, both in (4 restaurants) and outside the hotel complex. Slightly better value to eat out.
Easy walk into Funchal, though hotel courtesy bus free and useful, especially back to hotel mid afternoon.
Pool areas good and clean, but can be slippery on indoor pool surrounds, so care needed.
Overall an excellent choice of hotel/location and a very picturesque island.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StaffsTraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,571 - 1,575 of 2,198 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2008

The Hotel Porto Mare Funchal was excellent. We booked Hotel on the internet and flights with East Jet and everything was perfect including the price. Weather was 22°C with plenty of sunshine for early Feb. The hotel indoor pool was lovely , spacious, empty and warm, which also went outside. Two indoor pools and two outdoor pools. No towels on sunbeds and peace and quiet all day. Lovely fluffy white bath robes and fresh swim towels all day , as many as you want .The buffet food was excellent with loads of choices for everyone and the dishes were constantly restocked with fresh food. Three other restuarants were also available. We booked half board but there are plenty of other restuarants around. Entertainment every night in all the bars if you want that sort of thing otherwise just chill out and take the night air. Activities on during the day like Aquafit, table tennis, cooking, wine tasting, dance class, pilates, mini golf etc. We reckon we had the view and room advertised on the website and in the brochure so we were very lucky. We will definately return to this Hotel and request the same room no.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Hilsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2008

My fiancé and I have just returned from a lovely relaxing week in Madeira. This was our second time staying in The Hotel Porto Mare (our 1st trip was back in August) and it was just as fantastic as first time.

We arrived at 11am to sunshine and blue skies, and having been awake since 4.45am we were very grateful and relieved that our room was available straight away.
As has already been said by other guests, the rooms are fantastic. They are very spacious, clean and comfortable, and the beds are enormous!!!
The 1st time around we had a Garden View room on the 2nd floor overlooking the gardens and pool which was lovely and also very private. This time we requested a room on one of the higher floors (Sea View) and it did NOT disappoint!
We were given a room on the 5th floor and the view was amazing and quite surreal, definitely worth the extra expense.

Back in August on our first visit, the day we arrived was my fiancé’s birthday and there was a bottle of chilled sparkling wine waiting in the room. This time around the same was done on my birthday which was a lovely touch.

The hotel is about 30 mins stroll from the centre of Funchal. We walked into town a few times (all downhill!) but we took a taxi or the free shuttle bus back most times as the uphill trek back was just a bit too much of a workout for my liking!

The resort facilities are excellent. The main outdoor pool is exceptional (although it was too cool to swim in this time around, during the summer it was fantastic) and the indoor pools are also pretty impressive. The indoor and outdoor Jacuzzi are both quite spacious and well maintained although one afternoon having emerged from the outdoor tub, it was obvious that the water was quite dirty. This was an isolated incident as we used the Jacuzzis and Pools most days of both visits and the water was crystal clear.

We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis which I’d highly recommend as the breakfast is definitely something to be experienced. The array of breads, sweet treats, fried/grilled foods, fresh fruit, breakfast cereals and drinks is a sight in itself!! We found that the breakfast filled us up for the day and kept us going until dinner.
I’m a coeliac so I often skip breakfast at hotels or stick to just fruit or something I’ve brought along myself but I was quite amazed and shocked to see that they also provide freshly baked gluten-free buns which taste absolutely fantastic.

We didn’t eat in the hotel in the evenings as there is such a wide variety of restaurants on the doorstep (the hotel also seems to be quite pricy compared to the local restaurants). One thing I did notice is that the Buffet in the hotel always has a “Gluten-Free” dish in the evenings (again, not something I’ve seen before!).
We did try out a few of the local restaurants but our favourite by far is La Paella which is just beside the Monumental Shopping Centre at the top of the hill. We ate there 3 times in August and 4 times during our recent visit. The food is amazing and it happens to be one the cheapest restaurants too. Steak on a Stone is a must, as is the Grilled Chicken and the Regional Skewer.

All in all, the hotel is a fantastic resort and rightly deserves all the good reviews. There is very little to fault. I think the only thing would be that some of the breakfast staff are a little rude (plate/cutlery slamming was a regular soundtrack in the mornings on both visits!) however, the reception, bar, facilities and housekeeping staff were all lovely and very helpful during both stays.
The room service menu is a little limited especially for a coeliac (or if you fancy something other than a sandwich!!) but they were very willing to make me up sandwiches with gluten-free bread that I provided. It made no sense that they produce amazingly tasty gluten-free buns for breakfast but refuse to sell these on the room service menu (we asked!) but it’s a minor gripe!

We booked the August trip as a package with Thomas Cook (something I would never repeat as they were completely useless!) and direct with the hotel this time around (much better option).

The only real down side to this hotel was having to leave! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
14  Thank Holiday_addict11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2008

Stayed from the 21st to the 28th of January and would concur with the good reviews of the hotel. Rooms and facilities are excellent and the staff were generally very friendly, although occasionally the information from reception proved to be incorrect. The only slight grumble I would have is the charges for every facility other than the swimming pools. Some of these charges seemed to be so small that they didn't seem worth collecting.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank johnnyboyDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2008

Porto Mare is a really nice hotel. The rooms are nice and clean, the staff helpful. Breakfast is very good, many dishes and well prepared. We never tried the buffet dinner, but eat one dinner at the Mediterranean restaurant, excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank helgehund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,075 reviews
0 km away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 88 in Funchal
865 reviews
0.1 km away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 88 in Funchal
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
2.5 km away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
1.2 km away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Mare Hotel

Address: Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-565, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Funchal
#5 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#6 Family Hotel in Funchal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: $214 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Mare hotel occupies the central wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort and benefits from the use of all its facilities. There are many different corners and atmospheres here ... something new to discover every day. The rooms combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. Four restaurants, six bars, an ice-cream parlour, five pools, SPA, sports and children's facilities... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Porto Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Funchal
Porto Mare Hotel Madeira
Porto Mare Madeira
Porto Mare Hotel Funchal, Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing