We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas 2010 & New Year”
Review of Porto Mare Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Porto Mare Hotel
Ranked #7 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2011

2010 was our 8th visit to the Porto Mare at this time of year. It's wonderful! Nothing is too much trouble for the staff - particularly the receptionists. We ate in the Atlantida restaurant and praise the staff there also. Gala dinners there on Christmas Eve & New Year's Eve are memorable (pics). The hotel is beautifully decorated at Christmas, and last year the display in the reception (pic) was the best ever. We've already booked for next Christmas; beware it's addictive!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MemberBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2011

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about Porto Mare holiday experience.

We are glad to know that you have enjoyed the service, facilities and Christmas deco.(now with pictures on TripAdvisor we have to do better this year!).

I am glad to know that you have already booked another stay, so thank you also for you support.

Muito Obrigado

With warm regards,

Antonio Pais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,447 - 1,451 of 2,223 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2011

I can honestly say that the Porto Mare is the BEST hotel we have ever stayed in. I cannot fault it in any way. We have just returned after a weeks stay and if I had the chance I would be on the next plane back. We will definately go back. Not only is the hotel excellent in all ways, the staff are really friendly and helpful, the food is fantastic, rooms are large and clean with beautiful views over looking the exquisite gardens. I would highly recommend this hotel to every person who wants a relaxing holiday in a wonderful setting. 10 out of 10. Aly and Nick from Reading.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alycat41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2011

Thank you for your “ simply the best” comment, posted on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to know that we are able to contribute positively to a relaxed and enjoyable stay.

Also let you know that if you wish to come soon we still have some rooms available, so don´t waste your time!

Hope to see you in a near future,

With warm regards,

Muito Obrigado,

Antonio Pais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

This hotel is part of the Vila Porto Mar resort and includes the Eden Mar hotel and The Portomare Residence, so it was larger than anticipated. However, this added to the spacial feel of the pool area and gardens in particular. The whole design has been carefully thought out and has a luxurious, elegant atmosphere. The room allocated to us had an extremely large balcony and a perfect sea view; we may have just been lucky, but it seems that most of the rooms face the coast.
Breakfast was buffet style and plentiful, probably the best we have had barring buffet breakfasts on cruises. The staff were friendly and courteous. We aim to stay here again if visiting Madeira.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivien97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2011

Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your comments that I will certainly share with my team.

Due to the generous areas of the different rooms, facilities and gardens, Vila Porto Mare can be a resort that suits different holiday makers in different periods of the year. We are glad to learn that you have had a nice holiday with us and profited from our services.

Hope to see you in a near future,

With warm regards,

Muito Obrigado,

Antonio Pais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Our 2nd visit, this time we returned for my 50th Birthday. I'm pleased to say the Hotel has maintained it's high standards. The room, hotel and grounds are immaculate and the staff were 1st class (with the exception of 1 barman who really needs to go to charm school). There was a bottle of champagne waiting in my room on my birthday which was very thoughtfull.

I have friends who are going to the Porto Mare on my reccomendation now and I wouldn't hessitate to reccomend it to anyone else. Just one tiny niggle they are very mean on the tea's and coffees in the rooms, quite why I cannot understand.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duffnutt09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2011

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for the comments about your stay at Porto Mare hotel.
I have taken good note of your thoughts and give proper attention to it.

Also take the opportunity to thank you for the recommendation of our hotel to friends and hope to have you back for the 51st Birthday!

With warm regards,

Muito Obrigado,

Antonio Pais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

We stayed at this hotel on the 7th Feb- 14th Feb 2011 as a couple and booked as a package through Thomas Cook.

Porto Mare Resort was an excellent choice for accomdation, The pools, grounds, rooms, restaurants and reception were spotless and very modern.

Rooms were spacious and the beds were so comfy had excellent sleeps every night, We were in room 2223 which had a pool and sea View which was lovely.

The hotel has 2 indoor pools heated, 3 outdoor pools and one jacuzzi. In the winter they are open from 10-6 summer 10-8.

I visited the spa are for a treatment very nice and lovely.

The Porto Mare runs a courtesy bus down into Funchal which was around every hour or if you walked it took us around 40 minutes.

Restaurants- We were half board basis for the week. There is 4 restaurants to choose from, The Buffet, Il Basicilo, Alfama or the Med Restaurant. All 3 are a la carte and when you are half board you can spend 17 Euros each per night towards your meal or the Buffet you can eat as much as you want.
We choose to eat at the a la carte restaurants every night. The Med restaurant was our favourite some fab dishes on the menu.

All the staff around the resort were friendly and polite.

Overall we had a really nice holiday and i would recommend the Porto Mare to other people.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thrahtobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2011

Dear Sirs,

Thank you for your comments and nice pictures of Porto Mare hotel.
I am glad to see that you took profit of our gastronomies options and even happier to see that you have enjoyed all of them.

Muito obrigado and hope to see you soon,

Warm regards,

Antonio Pais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0 km away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 88 in Funchal
870 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,105 reviews
0.1 km away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 88 in Funchal
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
2.5 km away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
1.2 km away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Mare Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Mare Hotel

Address: Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-565, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#5 Business Hotel in Funchal
#6 Family Hotel in Funchal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: S$232 - S$334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Mare Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Mare hotel occupies the central wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort and benefits from the use of all its facilities. There are many different corners and atmospheres here ... something new to discover every day. The rooms combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. Four restaurants, six bars, an ice-cream parlour, five pools, SPA, sports and children's facilities... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Porto Mare Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Funchal
Porto Mare Hotel Madeira
Porto Mare Madeira
Porto Mare Hotel Funchal, Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing