We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
16 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$216
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/01/22
Expedia.com
US$216
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/01/22
Destinia.com
US$195
View deal
Free cancellation until 23/01/22
PricelineUS$216
Hotels.comUS$216
ZenHotels.comUS$229
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,168)
Filter reviews
2,170 results
Traveller rating
2,002
148
17
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,002
148
17
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews galapagos tortoise resident tortoise beautiful botanical gardens beautiful hotel pool area courtesy bus nothing is too much trouble half board steep walk a la carte menu without exception rooms are spacious lovely pool balcony overlooking third floor every member of staff relaxing holiday
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 2,170 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2021

We spent a wonderful 10 days here at the beginning of November. Jardins do Lago is a small hotel set up the hill from the busy front of Funchal but don't be put off by that - the hotel shuttle runs up and down the hill all day.
We had a standard room which was huge, and had everything we could wish for.
The main part of the hotel is stylish and very comfortable and the restaurant boasts old-style service which is a joy in this day and age.
The service from every member of staff was exceptional - possibly the best we've experienced in many years of travel.
The gardens and pool area are beautiful - you could very easily spend all day there without venturing out.
We met many people who go back year after year and we could understand why - we'll probably go back again next year.
Would highly recommend!

Room tip: Higher rooms have sea view
Date of stay: November 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AlisonW796
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 November 2021

The hotel was friendly and helpful beyond expectations right from the start when we arrived outside in our hire car and were greated with, " leave everything to us and we will take you to our gardens to relax"! The website does not do justice to the very high quality of the gardens, communial areas and rooms which were all fantastic. Even their giant tortoise, Colombos, posed willingly for photos! The service in the restuarant was polite, attentive and dignified; the rooms spacious, very quiet and clean; the gardens enourmous and quite beautiful. The situation is more-or-less in the centre of town 20 mins walk downhill to the harbour (I would recommend their free and frequent shuttle bus for the return, howeever); and oasis giving easy access to the main higway in the South of the Island; and the grounds have spectacular views over the town and hillside! For four nights at under 1000 EUR (with two evening meals, a lunch and drinks), we felt safe and welcomed - I would recommend anyone to try this little gem out soon!

Room tip: Ample secure parking off road.
Date of stay: November 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DaveWoodnutt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 November 2021

This is an old style hotel, with a wonderful garden, beautiful rooms and a sizable and nice balcony, The service of the staff is extraordinary. Breakfast is an experience. It really does not get any better than this... for me.

Date of stay: November 2021
Thank Torgeir J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 November 2021 via mobile

The hotel is set in absolutely beautiful gardens. My room had a balcony overlooking them and the view was stunning. You could hear the birds. The room was very spacious, comfortable and with a beautiful bathroom. Robes and slippers were a lovely touch. The pool is fantastic and the sauna great. It was cleaned between uses. The food was delicious. A special mention must be made for the service which was truly exceptional - all the staff were a delight and couldn’t do enough for their guests. Everything felt very Covid secure. I had a very special visit which surpassed my expectations in every way. I cannot recommend this wonderful hotel highly enough!

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank Leximortoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 November 2021

Our second (and not the last) visit to this lovely hotel. Situated in a quiet are above Funchal with lovely views and in beautiful grounds. Excellent restaurant, good food, well served. The staff are so helpful and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble . Lovely pool area with a bistro for lunchtime so no need to leave the hotel but if you do there is a free shuttle down to Funchal .
So relaxing.

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K7250SBbobc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews