We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$145
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$155/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$132
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$368/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$133
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$136/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$289
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$272
US$198
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$246
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$138
US$119
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$146/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$147
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$165/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$74
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (324)
Filter reviews
324 results
Traveller rating
248
53
16
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
53
16
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflower roomcoco chanelthe frank lloyd wrightmaster suiteindoor gardentrendy boutique hotelthemed suitetoilet roomdoor mannewly opened hotelcontinental optionswonderful balconyhelpful teamlocal artistsunique decorclassic roomthe river
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 324 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2017

Parking wasn't great, but the location was perfect. It was walking distance to everything we wanted to see. The rooms were great, and the service was excellent. I'm a musician and my wife is a painter. We had fun enjoying the themes of the rooms, and my wife can't wait to go back

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sbclegg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torel A, Diretor-Geral at Torel Avantgarde, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2017

Dear Sirs,

first of all thank you very much for your nice review. We are so proud to know that you apreciated and enjoyed our concept.

Concerning your words about the parking, as you well know we have limitated space and sometimes it is diffiicult to please all our requests.

Thank you once againd and we hope to welcome you back very soon in the Avantgarde.

With our best regards
Francisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3-night stay. Very modern and beautiful facilities and rooms. Very comfortable bed. Modern and beautiful bathroom. Great water pressure. Nice steam room and adjacent private showers. Fixed-price breakfast buffet was excellent - fresh fruits, breads, pastries, cheeses. Hot items available on order. room and breakfast were good value for money.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torel A, Diretor-Geral at Torel Avantgarde, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear sirs,

thank you very much for your nice review.

We are very pleased to know that you had a great time with us.


We hope to welcome you again very soon in the Avantgarde!

Best regards
Francisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

So many things to love about this hotel. The warm and friendly staff took care of every need with ease and smiles. The room could have had some better lighting but our views of the river were outstanding. We chose not to eat at the restaurant because we wanted to explore the City and breakfast seemed a bit overpriced. All in all I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room with river views.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torel A, Diretor-Geral at Torel Avantgarde, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear Ms. Michele,

thank you very much for your nice words. We are very pleased to know that you had a great experience with us.

Concerning the lights, we are very glad to inform you that we are working on it in some of our rooms and during the next weeks we will have a nice improvement.

We are looking forward to welcome you again!

With our best regards
Francisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

A unique hotel which we enjoyed. The whole experience was a delight. The staff were exceptional always very attentive a lovely acknowledgement every time we returned to the hotel. I have stayed in many 5 star hotels in Portugal and this is overwhelmingly the best. Things like staff remembering what you like to drink in the morning, bar staff remembering not only what drink you like but what sort of glass you prefer, the bed prepared in the evening while you were out of your room. All these things should be part of 5 star hotel life but so often they are missing. At Torel Avantgarde nothing is missing....even 2 umbrellas provided in each room. Perfect and we met the hotel owner who was enthusiastic and it was lovely to hear how the hotel evolved. To all the staff keep up the excellent work you are all 5 star.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wendyz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torel A, Diretor-Geral at Torel Avantgarde, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Dea Ms. Wendey,

thank you so much for yoru lovely review. It really makes us feel that you lived the experiece that we are looking forward to offer to our customers.

We are specially proud about your words of our staff, without a doubt our team it is one of our strongness in the hotel.

Please do not hesistate to contact me before you next visit, it will be a pleasure to welcome you with our repeater customer treatments.

Thank you once againg and see you soon in the Avantgarde!

Best regards
Francisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

a new and very modern hotel but a lot of designing mistakes:
a transparent toilet room
"sophisticated" taps
dark room (we could not read)
the staff was outstanding! all of them, nice, cooperative and very helpfull.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hplivne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torel A, Gerente de recepção at Torel Avantgarde, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear guests,

first of all thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased to receive your feedback, it is without any doubt our best tool for keep improving day by day.

Concerning your words about the transparente toilet glasess and dark room we are very proud to tell you that we are working on it and in a few day we will finish with the improvements.

We are looking forward to welcome you again to show you in live.

Thank you once again and kind regards!

Francisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews