We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful upmarket Hostel & guesthouse ”
Review of Gallery Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gallery Hostel
Ranked #2 of 267 Speciality Lodging in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

Good sized double, individually decorated by a local artist, with ensuite & aircon. Simple self-serve breakfast included which can be eaten in a lovely sun-trap of a courtyard.
Lovely little bar to meet & chat with fellow guests. Delightful staff, welcoming, helpful & full of smiles!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Layla I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

Pretty much a hotel with hostel style rooms and bunks. Very comfy beds and some of the nicest sheets I've ever had. Bunks very sturdy, spacious rooms and gallery-eske aethetics. Very helpful and friendly staff. Free breaky with many items to choose from and quite healthy. A bit loud throughout due to wooden floorboards (ie. When people are moving around the dorm rooms) but adds to the building's personality. Computers to do some web browsing, a little library, cute bar area with a little cinema and music room off that. A great stay in a wonderful city....highly recommend! Special shoutout to Alex who checked us in and was really helpful, and to Paulo who took us on the walking tour and recommended a great winery to try in the Douro Valley.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank bd0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

It was a nice hostel with the staff genuinely there 24 hours at your service. The facilities seem interesting and fun; however, that was about it. The dormitory rooms were as like any other hostel. Cleanliness in the room, especially the bathrooms are the ones that need the most improvement. Perhaps also offering generic shampoo and body soap would be great, as well!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

We had a private room in the sister hotel across the road. Our room was very spacious and comfortable, especially the bed. There was a nice garden. The staff were all extremely helpful.
That's about it.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

I had a great stay in Gallery Hostel, this place has a great atmosphere not only because of a very welcoming and helpful stuff but also because of the coziness of the whole building.
Beds are very comfortable, rooms are very clean and the breakfast, which is included in the price, is delicious! You can also get a drink in their bar or watch a movie in the cinema room.
The stuff does a free walking tour around the city's main attractions which is really good if you are not staying in Porto long enough to see everything by yourself. What I also liked was the location. It is very close to the city center and the streets are not busy during the night.
I would definitely recommend staying at this place!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamsbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
1.3 km away
Ibis Porto Centro
Ibis Porto Centro
#27 of 111 in Porto
1,982 reviews
0.1 km away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
3.6 km away
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
#38 of 111 in Porto
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Vincci Porto
Vincci Porto
#9 of 111 in Porto
1,161 reviews
1.7 km away
TRYP Porto Centro Hotel
TRYP Porto Centro Hotel
#47 of 111 in Porto
637 reviews
1.1 km away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#32 of 111 in Porto
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gallery Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallery Hostel

Address: Rua Miguel Bombarda 222, Porto 4050-377, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 267 Speciality Lodging in Porto
Price Range: S$34 - S$186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gallery Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gallery Hostel is set in a privileged area of Oporto, known for its art galleries and modern shops, at a walking distance from the main points of interest in the city centre such as museums, monuments, gardens, restaurants and bars. Located in Rua Miguel Bombarda, the Hostel is established in an historical building with more than 100 years old, which just went through a renewal in order to respond to our guest’s needs and expectations. With high standards of comfort and carefully decorated, you will find a familiar and cosy atmosphere, complemented by a multilingual and professional team. Composed by several types of rooms, the Gallery Hostel is divided in two sections. You can choose between staying in the main building in a 6 or 4 people bedroom, or in one of our Garden Suites, always offering a privileged privacy. In the main building, each room is named after the most renowned artists of Oporto such as Sophia Mello Breyner, Almeida Garrett, Julio Resende, Silva Porto, Siza Vieira and Souto Moura. Also creating an original feeling of the city and enhancing local culture, the Garden Suites are named after the main Oporto city parks (Cordoaria, Botânico, Serralves and Palácio de Cristal). Our services and common areas have also been developed in order to satisfy any need the guest might have. You can choose listening to music and drink Portuguese wine in our Lounge Bar, watch a DVD in our Movie Theatre or play a game, surf on internet or read a book in our Library, have a chat or chill out in our interior gardens, enjoy a meal in our open kitchen and breakfast area, between others. RNAL:30843/AL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Gallery Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing