We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Customer Service and Loud”
Review of HF Fenix Porto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HF Fenix Porto
Ranked #26 of 110 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2017

When I check-in I asked twice to be placed in a quiet room. What did they do? They put me on the fourth floor beside the outdoor bar that played loud music to 1:00 A.M. The music was so loud ( up to my room on the fourth floor ) that it was as loud as the t.v. I have had to go down for the last three nights and ask them to turn it down. The next night it got louder.
The hotel has problems with their air conditioning. It is set only to heat or cool based on the season. Mine was set for the winter-the repairman came and set it to cool but informed me that the thermostat would not work. He said "if you get too cool just turn it off for awhile." How's that for customer service?
Today, I asked for a taxi for the airport and was informed by the two desk clerks that they were across the street and I should drag my bags across the busy street to find a ride. How's that for customer service?
The breakfast ( free but you paid for when you booked the hotel ) is average but if you are into eating large you can stuff yourself at the buffet.
The bed is hard and the water is hot. If you can get by the lack of customer service at this hotel, you may enjoy being here. I will not stay here again even if it was free.

Room Tip: Ask to be place in a room away from the bar music.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Traveler M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

22 - 26 of 1,189 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed at HF Fenix in Porto for 2 nights with my husband and 2 children aged 12 and 10. We were delighted with our very spacious family room - with great facilities for very young children (toy, microwave, bath, stool for sink, etc)
The hotel buffet breakfasts were good but busy - great pastry selection - and even sparkling wine for a cheeky bucks fizz!
The bar was extremely cool - sunlounger beds, light up chairs at night time, and football on the tv....!
We parked in the car park - charge EUR9 per night. It was full and hard to negotiate around (in the hotel basement).
As the hotel was over many floors, the 2 lifts were in constant use and so difficult to get a lift with enough space in to get downstairs with luggage.
The other thing that we found was that the Wi-Fi was terrible - just never seemed to work well - good job that data roaming was introduced this year!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Kathryn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Quite Good!
Staff is friendly too. And there are many shopping malls and facilities around.
I was tied up in a room with an ocean view, but the facility was okay. It is just weak against noise. At night, the surroundings are somewhat dark.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 시형 박
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

I would not recommend it unless you get a good price for it

Location: 3/4 km from the ribeira, near the house of the musica. You can easily reach pretty much everything with 3-5 € of Uber. The metro is not far - convenient to go to the airport

Rooms: large rooms, with old fashioned furniture. They could use some renovation. It was clean

Bed: not very comfortable- it was hard

Breakfast: continental- good but nothing to write home

Wi-Fi: free - ok

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

The hotel is clean and well kept. The front desk was very helpful and had staff that appeared to be able to speak numerous languages. The hotel is fairly central, and there are numerous restaurants and cafes close by. The cost for a taxi to the old town of Porto was about 6 to 10 Euros ( depending where you got on and off )

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 km away
HF Ipanema Porto
HF Ipanema Porto
#34 of 110 in Porto
848 reviews
1.5 km away
BessaHotel Boavista
BessaHotel Boavista
#18 of 110 in Porto
977 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel da Musica
Hotel da Musica
#40 of 110 in Porto
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
HF Tuela Porto
HF Tuela Porto
#38 of 110 in Porto
695 reviews
1 km away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
4 km away
Eurostars Oporto
Eurostars Oporto
#20 of 110 in Porto
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HF Fenix Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HF Fenix Porto

Address: Rua Goncalo Sampaio 282, Porto 4150-365, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Porto
#16 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#19 Business Hotel in Porto
#23 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range: $109 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — HF Fenix Porto 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four star hotel with a special character.The HF Fénix Porto is the smart choice for those seeking a hotel that not only makes you feel comfortable, it makes you feel special.If you choose the Motion rooms located in the top floors, you will benefit from an exclusive decoration and furniture that will turn your stay into a privileged moment.And if you choose these rooms, you will also have access to the Business Centre room, a space equipped to support those travelling in business. If you’re travelling in leisure, Family rooms equipped with bunk beds are also available. Whether for business or leisure, you'll have free Wi-Fi Internet available throughout the hotel.The location of the HF Fénix Porto is unmatchable. Just a few minutes away, you can find the Serralves Foundation and Oporto's downtown. And a few steps away are Casa da Música, Pavilhão Rosa Mota and its surrounding gardens. In the evening and in the surrounding streets you can find excellent restaurant offers and an exciting night life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your HF Fenix Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hf Fenix Porto Hotel Porto
Hf Fenix Hotel Porto
Porto Hf Fenix Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing