We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience of Portugal”
Review of Popular da Foz

Popular da Foz
Ranked #512 of 2,064 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Reservations
Description: LightHouse is located near the beach in one of the best neighbourhoods of Porto: Foz do Douro. This apartment is equipped with one double room and one twin room, each with private bathroom. It has a fully-equipped kitchen (refrigerator, glass ceramic/induction hob, microwave, oven with grill, dishwasher, espresso coffee machine, and toaster) and a cozy living room. It also has a terrace where you can enjoy an open-air breakfast and relax even within the city. Other facilities : Air conditioning; Flat-screen TV; Satellite TV; Free WiFi; 100 % cotton bed sheets and bath towels. Foz's amazing beaches are just 1-minute walk away. At about 50 meters there are several bars along the river and the sea. Guests can walk along the promenade or cycling. Green areas like "City Park" are a 5-minute drive from this apartment. Contemporary Art Museum Serralves, Casa da Música and Boavista are 10-minute away by car or bus. Historic city area, the so called "Baixa", is 20-minute away by car/bus.
Reviewed 9 October 2017

A great day side trip from Porto is to take the #1 tram from below St Francis cathedral along the Douro river towards its mouth where it meets the Atlantic Ocean. It costs 3 euros and at the end of the line you can walk along the boulevard, past the fort and reach the ocean beach. In a back street from the beach is a very authentic Portuguese restaurant called Popular da Foz. The street is called Rua Senhora da Luz and the owner speaks English and has multi language menu. The food is reasonably priced and for a true Porto experience try the Francesinha. Very filling and tasty, similar to a Crocque Monsuieur, with a Porto twist about 9 euros.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dubsMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David d, Proprietário at Popular da Foz, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2017

A good place that serves Portuguese dishes from fish, meat and seafood. Good wine, we tried white. There are desserts.

Thank Zuevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David d, Proprietário at Popular da Foz, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Thank you for your appreciation.

We look forward to your next visit.

Please accept my regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

The best meal in our 7 day trip around portugal.
- charming owner
- great atmosphere
- tasty & simple food

We had
-Green soup
- robala fish, calmary
- chocolate and almond cake
Everything very tasty and well priced.

Go for it!

Thank JanB5658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Popular d, Gerente at Popular da Foz, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Thank you, Jan B, for your kindness and for a pleasant evaluation. I hope to have the opportunity to serve again the next visit to Porto.
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

Delicious food and charming waiter/owner. Made us welcome, made us giggle! And the chap seemed fluent in several languages, he explained the menu to us (UK) and to a French couple and also to another table in a different language again. What a dude! Will return when next in Porto.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Zeta_McCheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Popular d, Proprietário at Popular da Foz, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017

Thank you for the kindness of your words.
We hope to have more opportunities to serve you.
See you soon
The "POPULAR da FOZ" team thanks.
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

Stumbled upon this place whilst visiting Foz and was delighted we ate there. First up, the staff were really, really friendly and explained everything on the menu. The wine was exceptional! The food was equally as good. We sat out under an umbrella with the sun shining down, soaking up the ambience. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal here and will definitely be back!

Thank FrequentFlier613771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David d, Gerente at Popular da Foz, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Thanks for the kind words, we were glad to have served you. We hope to have a new opportunity, in a next visit to Porto.
greetings
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Popular da Foz also viewed

Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Popular da Foz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing