We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Laranjeira(Viana do Castelo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fabrica do Chocolate Hotel(Viana do Castelo)
US$92
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$100/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Rali Viana(Viana do Castelo)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$98/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$93/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Casa Melo Alvim Hotel(Viana do Castelo)
US$102
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel A Ponte(Viana do Castelo)(Great Value!)
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flor de Sal Hotel(Viana do Castelo)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$132
US$128
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$156/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Pensao O Laranjeira(Viana do Castelo)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel FeelViana(Viana do Castelo)
US$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (648)
Filter reviews
648 results
Traveller rating
377
192
49
20
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
377
192
49
20
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssanta luziafantastic viewsthe rivercorner roomfunicular railwayspent nights herepublic rooms aregrand hotelwinding roadpestana groupgorgeous hotelthree nightsold world charmsea mistthe atlantic oceanhill overlookingdual aspect
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 648 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2018

Great hotel to finish our 2 week Portugal vacation. Service, food, staff all great and WONDERFULL views of the area from our room. Enjoyed the buffet breakfasts. Aside from using a car a relatively easy access to the lovely town below the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
2  Thank shirleymarcmennel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_MtStLuzia, Gerente geral at Pousada Viana do Castelo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear shirleymarcmennel,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comment on Pousada Viana do Castelo.

We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and and would also like to thank you for your positive comments on the staff and atmosphere of the Pousada.

We would love to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018

The pousada have a very nice view but thats it,we had a superior room but thats very small especially the bathroom.Restaurant is to expensive for the food you get on the plate.a disapointing experiance

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
Thank erikmarianne21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_MtStLuzia, Gerente geral at Pousada Viana do Castelo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear erikmarianne21

Thank you so much for taking some of your time to leave here your comment.
We regret that your stay with us did not meet your expectations.
The points that you mentioned have been taken in consideration and are being properly treated, in order to get it's improvement and resolution.
Hope we’ll receive you again one day.
Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

This hotel has become our preferred place to celebrate special dates. To arrive at the hotel, with its relaxed charm, and its view way down the coast and way above the small rivermouth city of Viana do Castelo, is to leave the stress of work and everything else behind. The unhurried atmosphere, the lack of corporate smarminess, the broad spaces of the public areas, the light from the panoramic windows past the reception, all contribute to the special atmosphere ot the place. It is as if they have discovered what works and smoothly continue to do it, as opposed to those establishments which are continually trying to "update" themselves, and imposing their shallow "mission statements" on us. Taking a gin and tonic in the lounge or on the terrace is as peaceful an activity as one can imagine. Then, arriving at the restaurant, with Senhor João's genuine pleasure to see you back, is to feel so welcome that I have to confess we don't even bother to visit the city. The rooms are comfortable, as one would expect, but many hotels have comfortable rooms. They don't all have the location, tranquillity and friendliness of this place though.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the city and river mouth would appear to be better.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Takingitscourse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_MtStLuzia, Gerente geral at Pousada Viana do Castelo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Mr. Takingitscourse,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousada Viana do Castelo Historic Hotel and for taking the time to post your comment, which we carefully read.

We were delighted to know how much you enjoyed your stay here.
Thank you for your kind words. They will certainly help us to keep on improving.

We will be pleased to host you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

The poussada is on top of a hill overlooking Viana Do Castelo. The view from our balcony was stunning. Recommend a superior room. Food in the restaurant is very good although more pricey than in the town, the service makes the experience well worth it. The funicular down to the town only takes 7 minutes plus a short walk. Viana is a lovely town with many cafes and restaurants. Plenty of places to take a trip to also. Ponte de Lima Barcelos and Guimarães were all great visits.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
1  Thank Norfolkteacher2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_MtStLuzia, Gerente geral at Pousada Viana do Castelo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Dear Norfolkteacher2013,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousada Viana do Castelo Historic Hotel and for taking the time to post your comment, which we carefully read.
Thank you for your kind words which certainly help and motivate us to keep on improving the quality of our services.

We will be pleased to host you soon at Pousada Viana do Castelo Historic Hotel Portugal.

Kindly Regards,



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

Stayed two nights in superior family room. Superb views from large room. Hotel inside and out is beautifully appointed. All staff from front of house to the bar were friendly and attentive. Hotel ambience and location was excellent. Food in restaurant very good. Only downside was air conditioning not available on a very warm weekend.

Room Tip: Room 308 is large and has superb views
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alanvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_MtStLuzia, Gerente geral at Pousada Viana do Castelo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Dear alanvh,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comment on Pousada Viana do Castelo.

We were very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay and and would also like to thank you for your positive comments on the Pousada.

The less positive point that you mentioned was taken in consideration and is being properly treated.

We would love to welcome you again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews