We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful days in Athens”
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #12 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful days in Athens”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

This March my husband and me visited Athens. We chose Plaka hotel because of its exellent location and because of good reviews. We could not make a better choice! The view from the roof is breathtaking! Every evening we enjoyed it. The ladies and gentlement at the reception were always friendly and helpful. They answered all our questions and gave good recommendations. The room was clean, and breakfast was tasty. practically all sights are near Plaka hotel - Akropolys, Agora, Sintagma. There is a nice ancient Byzantine chirch near the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear Guest,


What a nice title you gave to your review!

We are so pleased that you and your husband enjoyed your stay in Athens and that you loved the view from the roof terrace as well as the central location, the cleanliness of the rooms and our breakfast

All our staff thank you for sharing your positive experience with other readers.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,764
    1,220
    188
    50
    16
See reviews for
650
1,579
233
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (602)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

This hotel has a great location and nice, helpful staff. You get breakfast in the morning, and you can have a glass of wine in the evening with a view of the acropolis. We were comfortable, and it was easy to navigate from there, even though the city was in turmoil.

Room Tip: Try to get a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aleximou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear Guest,

We are all really thankful for your positive review and your high score.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that next time you come you will be able to experience a peaceful and safe city as Athens really is.

Hope to see you again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

The Plaka Hotel does what it should and well. The simple, refinded spaces make for a excellent stay and the well-catered, fulfilling breakfast sends you on your way ready for the day. The location is pretty much unbeatable for a visit to Athens.

We stayed with our kids and they felt right at home.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TessmacTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear Guest,

We are so pleased to read that your family felt at home during your stay in Plaka hotel.
Thank you for sharing your experience on TA and hope to see you again on a future trip to Athens.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

After reading reviews of this hotel, my expectations were very high. Unfortunately, reality wasn't quite as rosy. The hotel was clean, the breakfast tasty and the location incredibly convenient. But, the room was very tight, the front desk staff mostly gave the sense that asking anything of them annoyed them and the price was too high.

The hotel charges a significantly higher rate for two travelers than it does for one. A higher rate is understandable, the amount they charged was excessive. When I accidentally booked just one person instead of two online, I emailed the hotel immediately. The response was basically "Oh well, your mistake. We just changed it and charged you more. See you when you arrive."

The view from the rooftop was breathtaking, but there are many hotels with great rooftop views of the Acropolis (namely the Herodion -- you have access to it even when you stay at its less expensive sister hotel, the Philippos). For my money, next time I'm in Athens, I'll stay in another hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abt19317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our hotel after so many months. I am pleased you enjoyed the cleanliness, our rich and tasty breakfast as well as the location.
I am sorry to read though, that the front desk was not as friendly as you were expecting.

As our primary aim is to constantly improve, I would appreciate very much if you could email me, giving some further details about your reservation.

I thank you in advance.

Kind regards

Dorina |Stathopoulou
plaka@athenshotelsgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I stayed there for 5 nights.
First of all Plaka (they spell it blaka ) area is the best location to stay in athens and Plaka hotel is in the heart of this area.Hotel is very clean , room are quiet and cosy , great staffs , excellent breakfast and I myself belive that this is a 4 star hotel not 3!
whether you are going for business or travel as a tourist , Plaka Hotel is what I recommend you.

Room Tip: first room 401 , 301 , 501 , 601 they might have a direct view to acropolise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reza817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 326 in Athens
2,199 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
2,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 326 in Athens
1,678 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
3,715 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#19 of 326 in Athens
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Property: Plaka Hotel
Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#10 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price range (per night): $109 - $746
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing