We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, average rooms”
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #12 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Great location - very close to Plaka shopping area and not too far from Acropolis.
Room size is average and there were 2 single beds combined to make a double bed. Breakfast menu is good though it has limited options for vegetarians.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Charu J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Charu J,
Our location is indeed right in the center of all of the tourist attractions of Athens and this clearly aided your sightseeing and event planning whilst you were at the hotel. As for the room size please note that we also offer "Superior" rooms which are bigger, with balcony and larger bathroom with bathtub.
In our attempt to improve we surely value all the feedback we can get from our guests.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 91 of 3,439 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2017

Well located for the acropolise. Basic, clean, helpful and friendly Staff, however the bed and pillows are in desperate need of modernisation. Matresses were of single beds pushed together, very worn. Pillows are as hard as the Acropolise Marbles. That is why we only gave it 3 points

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Khalid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Khalid H,
I am glad that you were satisfied with the service you received from our staff, and the location of the hotel. On the other hand, I am sorry to hear you found the beds inconvenient. To be honest, we sometimes get mixed reviews on our pillows (depends on personal preference) but its extremely rate we get any negative feedback on the bed itself.
Feel free to contact me directly if you would like to discuss this further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Lovely small hotel. Staff could not be more helpful. Great view of Acropolis from the roof-top bar. Book an Acropolis view room. Good breakfast. Parking available fairly close but they have an area just outside to drop luggage.

Room Tip: Acropolis view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank qgardiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear qgardiner,
Thank you for your posting on TripAdvisor and for your recent stay! We greatly appreciate your compliments about the location of Plaka Hotel, the excellence of the staff and breakfast.
Hope to see you again.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

After reading a number of very positive reviews of this hotel on Trip Advisor, we decided to book this hotel as part of our 50th wedding anniversary celebration and it was a wonderful experience. Pavlina and Vasilis at the front desk went out of their way to make us feel welcome and were so friendly and helpful with information about this beautiful city, restaurants, directions, etc. Our room was very clean and comfortable and the breakfast buffet was delicious. The view of the Acropolis from the rooftop was spectacular, and it was a very easy walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy and Dick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Nancy and Dick H,
Thank you for your warm comments about your stay in our hotel.
It is always so nice to read such complimentary comments about our staff as they aim to make every guests’ stay memorable. I will ensure that your kind words are passed onto them and that their service is duly recognized.
I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at the Plaka hotel and had a room with a view of the Acropolis. It is in great location right in the Plaka district, our room was very quiet and clean. The breakfast at this hotel were superb, one of the best of our trip. Roof top bar is fabulous and has great views of the Acropolis particularly at night.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Karen150161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Karen150161,
I would like to thank you for your kind recommendation to others and for sharing your feedback following your stay with us. I am thrilled that you enjoyed the location and the experience of the Acropolis view, as well as the breakfast and the cleanliness.
Satisfaction of our guests is our primary concern and we are very glad when we achieve a positive result.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,943 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,438 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 282 in Athens
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 282 in Athens
1,825 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Athens
#7 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#11 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: $91 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing