We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect holiday hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Athens Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Athens Gate Hotel
Ranked #11 of 334 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Singapore
Level Contributor
119 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Am worried I am becoming over reliant on Trip Advisor to plan for my trips... well, again, I was not disappointed ;-)

Athens Gate hotel is a great place: in short, location is perfect, opposite Temple of Zeus, closing to Acropolis, metro station and Plaka area. Apparently hotel was renovated in 2007, except for the lift which is a bit outdated, the rest is new. Room is great, see through bathroom with all new appliances, flat TV with news channels in many languages (no movie channels though). Ours was overlooking temple of Zeus, nice view (and a balcony) but super noisy on Syngrou avenue. 2 computers with free access in the lobby, that's very convenient. Staff are friendly and efficient. No specific comment on the breakfast. For dinner though, I found the restaurant a bit pricey compared to regular restaurants in the area.

In short, very good hotel, I would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frog_Singap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,058
    1,269
    201
    37
    16
See reviews for
546
2,121
167
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (931)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

spent only one night at Athens Gate Hotel on 9October2011 prior to boarding cruise ship. we found this hotel on our own, using TripAdvisor, and all the positive reviews are spot on. the room was comfortable and we appreciated the ability to open the door to balcony to let in fresh air without worrying the rain would also pour into the room. the hotel fronts a multi-lane thoroughfare and complaints of noise can be chalked up to its location in a major city and not a small village.

our trip offered a pre-cruise hotel at a 5-star property but the location of Athens Gate is far better situated. anything else seems immaterial. the breakfast buffet was plentiful and had fresh croissants, perfect poached eggs, fruit, and decent coffee. no caviar or champagne, but we also didn't pay for those sort of offerings either.

we arrived at Athens Gate approximately five hours later than anticipated despite clear weather and Aegean Airlines plane at the gate at Heathrow. air traffic controllers in Athens decided to "slow down" air traffic at their whim. it was well after 10pm when we pulled up to the hotel and we were greeted cheerfully and a room with a view was waiting. the bar on the top floor was still open and the beer was amazingly delicious.

our cab ride to the cruise ship and eventual boarding was fraught with impassable streets and inept dock workers. Athens does not work at the public level.

however, if you should find yourself in Athens, we would recommend the Athens Gate without reservation.

Room Tip: the Temple of Zeus view is stunning. assume the Acropolis view is quieter. both are fully visible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EleanorWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

I stayed at the Athens Gate Hotel in May 2011 for both business and pleasure. The hotel rooms are spacious and comfortable. I upgraded for a view of the Temple of Zeus. You cannot beat the location (close to the Acropolis, Platka, restaurants and plenty of tourist sites). The Metro is only a 3 minute walk away. A more detailed review is on my website at http://internationaltravelchick.com/2011/12/22/nikkis-nest-athens-gate-hotel-athens-greece/

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkipga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stayed at the hotel in October 2011. We were traveling with two children, aged 6 and 9 and we got adjoining rooms. The hotel was wonderful. Excellent service, excellent views and great food. The location is perfect to see the historical sites and to enjoy the resturants in the Plaka.
The hotel also set was able to set up a day trip to some of the nearby Greek Islands. Those islands really are as beautiful as people say.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rvb_dev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Best bed I have slept in in ages! So comfortable - room was great and bathroom was perfect. We were upgraded to an Acropolis view room - such a bonus - but the view from the restaurant for the wonderful breakfast was also awesome. Staff so friendly and helpful and we loved the location too - very close to a nice walk through Plaka to Monastiraki. Everything perfect apart from one small complaint..... Air con/heat was controlled centrally by the hotel and even though it wasn't too warm outside I was too hot and stuffy all night. The window only opened a fraction and no way to secure it, so it banged in the wind, meaning we couldn't leave it open all night. Otherwise FABULOUS. Made our stay in an otherwise very run down, sad downturn times, Athens actually pretty special.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo_Paris100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#9 of 334 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,052 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 334 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#14 of 334 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,024 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#5 of 334 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,581 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athens Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athens Gate Hotel

Property: The Athens Gate Hotel
Address: 10 Syngrou Avenue, Athens 11742, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Athens
#9 Family Hotel in Athens
#9 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#11 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#21 Business Hotel in Athens
Price range (per night): $160 - $323
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athens Gate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athens Gate Hotel is located in the historic district of Athens exactly opposite the Temple of Olympian Zeus. It is 400 m away from the Acropolis, 200 m away from the new Acropolis Museum, and on the doorstep of Plaka, the heart of the tourist district of Athens. It has recently been taken over by new Management, and fully renovated. Its style is modern and simple, as befits the area. New features include LCD TV in all rooms. In 2015 The Athens Gate Hotel was announced best case Hotel, under a research conducted by National and Kapodistrian University of Athens in order to identify energy consumption patterns and best efficiency in buildings in Attica Hotel sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Athens Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Gate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing