We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
NJV Athens Plaza
Nearby Hotels
US$172
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$175
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$206
US$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$168
US$164
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$213/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$144
US$133
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New Hotel(Athens)
US$346
US$255
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Herodion Hotel(Athens)
US$206
US$194
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$345
US$307
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$257
US$247
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$446
US$367
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$449/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,060)
Filter reviews
1,060 results
Traveller rating
419
416
140
50
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
419
416
140
50
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssyntagma squaregreat locationwalking distancegreek parliamenthotel is locatedking georgeparliament buildingvery nice hotelluxury hotelroom was largelate checkermou streetsuperior roomairport busacropolis viewgrande bretagnegreece
Filter
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 1,060 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2017

The location couldn't be beat, nor could the quality of staff at this hotel. Check in was easy. The breakfast offerings were varied and very good. Don't forget to take advantage of one of my new favorite Greek pleasures: the different varieties of coffee! Iced or hot, you won't go wrong and the staff prepared things perfectly. The staff at the restaurant was impressive and extremely professional.

I did find the rooms to be outdated, but the carpets were clean, as was our room and bathroom. No musty smell or anything that would have made my uncomfortable staying there. We had a deluxe room with a balcony overlooking Syntagma square and that was a really lovely perk! Please note that Syntagma is a very busy area, so if you are sensitive to outside noises, bring earplugs and you should be set. There was some noise from our neighboring room, but that noise came through the door adjoining our room and not the walls. Again, nothing that would have made me unhappy with staying there. Also, we had zero issues with wifi: it was quick and performed well.

I believe that is we had spoken with management here about any issue (although we had none), it would have been remedied ASAP: they seemed to take our satisfaction very seriously.

Room Tip: get a deluxe room so that you have a view and a balcony
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BaseballandTiaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilena Z, Front Office Manager at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at the NJV Athens Plaza. We were delighted to have you! We would also like to thank you for posting such an analytical review of your experience. We were delighted to read that all aspects of your stay were satisfied. Yes, we do everything possible to offer the best accommodation to all our Guests. It is very rewarding for our staff when such an excellent feedback is delivered. We thank you so much!
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

I am so overwhelmed with the moment the taxi dropped us to the entrance of the hotel. The bellmen rushed to us and welcomed us and took care of all the luggage.
Check in took 2 minutes offering chocolates to my twins and connected all our devices to wifi.
The room, the suite is one of the best Views and size I've seen! Lots and lots of complimentary fruits, sweets, wine, coffee, water etc... the list is endless.
Definitely rate the hotel a big 5 for location, service, amenities and friendliness!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Ola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilena Z, Public Relations Manager at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the NJV Athens Plaza and for posting such a kind and wonderful review regarding your experience with us.
We were delighted to read that all aspects of your stay were satisfying and that you had a wonderful time throughout your stay at the NJV Athens Plaza. We try our best to provide all our Guest with the best in service and accommodation. It was a great honor having you as our Guest and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your beautiful family again in the near future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2017

Stayed 3 nights in March on a biz trip Excellent hotel, service and cleanliness is tops. Location is spectacular, in Syndagma square which is central. Within walking distance to Monastiraki, Plaka and Psiri. Price is very fair considering the value.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank demstar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilena Z, Public Relations Manager at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at the NJV Athens Plaza and for posting your review about our property. We were delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our location to be priceless. We thank you. We also thank you about your comments about the service and the cleanliness of your room.
We hope to have the privileged of welcoming you again in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

Never have left a negative review to this degree since most places matched our expectation based on the price and photos but NJV Athens looks to be the first one to change that.

Besides the convenient location the hotel is wrong on so many levels (for its price) but to point out major ones-

The room is grossly outdated with old dirty carpet. The mini bar fridge is also old one (no surprise there) and had waters on the bottom probably leaked somewhere.

Lacking power points. So far we have found two power points and both are in weird spots where you will have to leave your phone on the floor if you want to charge your phone. And only one is working as the other doesn't seem to be charging.

Bathroom shower is on bathtub and there is a curtain- what hotels still use a curtain? And the curtain stinks. Such a turn off every time you use bathroom.

Bathroom towels are really old and look like they've been used thousand times.

Noise level is bad- not complaining about the street noise since it is in the centre of the Syntagma square so some level of street noise is expected but it's the noise between the walls. Walls are so thin that I can even hear some guy next door yawning and sneezing.

Slowest wifi ever- you try to google some stuff and internet keeps dropping in and out. What is this? 1997?

I don't like the bed mattress as it doesn't provide enough support my back but considering the points mentioned above it is not even an issue.

We chose NJV Athens despite the fact that it doesn't have pools or gym or spa facilities which you would expect from a decent five star hotel. But it was the photos that looked cleaner and less outdated than other hotels nearby but the brushed up photos have fooled us.

This is our first night and we still have five more nights here. A very regrettable choice.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank asiandub1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilena Z, Public Relations Manager at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at the NJV Athens Plaza and for appreciating our unique location, right in the heart of Athens. We would also like to thank you for reviewing our property and for expressing your detailed estimation, following your stay with us.
We are looking thoroughly into every aspect of your review and comments in order to understand what went so wrong. We are very sorry for not delivering the best accommodation for which we are regularly praised by many Guests. Apart from that please be advised that our Hotel offers accommodation to many repeater Guests who choose to stay with us, every time they visit Athens.
Our constant effort is to provide always the best accommodation to all our Guests. Our Front Office employees, 24 hours a day, remain at your disposal in order to solve any issue. It would have been very useful to notify them, so that they could have taken care of any unpleasant accommodation experience, by allocating you with a different room, upon availability.
Thank you once again for posting such a detailed review that helps us improve our services.
Please accept our sincere apologies for not delivering the best accommodation services.
We hope to have the pleasure of a future stay with us, so that perhaps your estimation about our property may be reconsidered.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017 via mobile

Came from Cyprus and stayed there 3 nights in June with my wife for the weekend.

The location is perfect. 2-3 minutes walk from the Syntagma metro station.

Front desk/reception area is a small place with great employees. They help with everything. Kindly and smiling persons.

Lobby and cafe specially outside at night time, is one of my favorite corner in Athens.

Rooms are ok. Clean and nice. I saw better decorated rooms in my life and much cheaper. The beds are not that comfortable specially the pillows.

Breakfast/dinner room very nice with very kind staff. The breakfast is good with variety items and open until 11 o clock !!!

I would stay there again. Besides the first Lady of the Republic of Cyprus choose this place for her staying. So who i am to do not like this place.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Vasilis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marilena Z, Public Relations Manager at NJV Athens Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at the NJV Athens Plaza and for letting us know your estimation about our Hotel. We would like to thank you for your kind words about our top location, the front desk staff who are always so helpful and polite to all our Guests. We are happy that you enjoyed our outdoor Cafe right in the heart of Athens! We will try our best, next time you visit us, to offer the best possible accommodation to you regarding beds and pillows. Perhaps our Front desk could have changed the allocated room with another type so to enjoy your sleep to the fullest.
We wish to thank you once again for your kindness. We hope to have the pleasure of your next stay in Athens!
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews