We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hera Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$325
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$186
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$148
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Amalia Hotel(Athens)
US$192
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$178
US$144
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
New Hotel(Athens)
US$374
US$331
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$281
US$240
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Plaka Hotel(Athens)
US$208
US$185
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$257
US$166
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$230
US$225
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,151)
Filter reviews
1,151 results
Traveller rating
520
487
94
30
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
520
487
94
30
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacropolis museumpeacock restaurantgreat locationwithin walking distanceacropolis viewjunior suitetwo blocksbreakfast roomrestaurants and shopsrooms are smalltop floorshort walkrooftop bar and restaurantwonderful hotelmetro stationlit up at nightmajor attractions
Filter
Updating list...
785 - 790 of 1,151 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2012

we stayed in hera for 4 nights in january after new years eve. i ve been in athens more than 10 times and this location is far the best i ever chose... exaclty next to the museum and acropolis metro station. a lot of attractions and shops a few steps from the hotel. if u like to walk its short distance to thiseio with the view during your walk to be just magnificent... close also to syntagma square . 15 minutes walk or 1 stop only by metro.
so location is more than 5 star!!
about the hotel .. is a warm boutique hotel in a really charming old and fully renovated building.
like all boutique hotels areas are small but really nice... especially the breakfast area is so nice. breakfast is just nice i suppose . it has things to choose . the only mention i have is that because when we stayed there maybe not more than 4 rooms where booked so some cakes and fruits didnt seem so fresh probably because none was there to eat them!!

staff was very polite and helpful..
the room was small but still had all we need... very nice new big tv a small balcony if u need to smoke .. coffee and tea facilities... comfortable bathroom and nice decor . the heat was great kept the room as warm u needed... the only disadvantages i have to make is that the view of the room we got was in the back of the hotel and was really bad! an old dirty building and 2nd i usually dont want my towels to get changed a lot but since we have a baby we needed once to change 2 of them so i putted them on the floor ( one was dirty) and when we got back they put the same dirty towel , something that seemed so unprofessional.thats the only thing that made me think if i have ti put 5 stars or 4 but since all others were perfect and especially the price i got from booking , i would say i totally recommend this hotel and 99% my next booking in athens will be there too.

Room Tip: front rooms have a normal view...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Nasos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most rewarding feedback from your recent stay with us.

We were pleased that our prime location, tastefully appointed décor and service all attributed to a most memorable and enjoyable experience. Regarding your comments on the housekeeping, i will share them with the department accordingly.

We appreciate your word of mouth influence and look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Iro Chatzilia

Hotel Director

Iro Chatzilia

Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We stayed for 2 nights.
We got a room on the 3rd floor with a small balcony (which we didn't use because it was very windy).
The room was amazing. It was very confortable and the bathroom was great.
When we arrived, the first thing i did was open the mini bar (we were very thirsty) and for my surprise i found 1 bottle of vodka missing and other 2 opened. I called immediately the front desk and a cleaning lady came to replace them. That was the only "bad thing". Service and staff was at it highest level!
The roof top restaurant was opened just for one night. We didn't eat there, but we had a view at night and it was amazing.
There was another lounge for breakfast. The food was delicious.
The hotel is located about 150 meters from the Acropolis and Acropolis museum. It is also in walking distance (5 min) to Apollo's temple ande about 20 min to the Panathinaiko stadium and Syntagma Square. The neighborhood is very nice, with lots of bars and cafes along the street, just one block away. There are many souvenier shops nearby with very nice things (we bought a small replica of the parthenon). It is also located in a very safe area (we felt safe everywhere we went).
The hotel has wifi too, but just in the lobby. If you're in lower floors, you might get signal (we did).

Room Tip: No wifi in rooms but in lower floors you can get signal
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GGSS83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.

We were truly delighted that we exceeded your expectations from our close proximity to all major Athenian sites, to the tastefully appointed details in your accommodation. We pride ourselves on trying to provide exceptional levels of service and I was pleased to learn that our team members were able to exceed your expectations, making your stay most memorable.

Regarding your comment on our internet services, please note that as from 1st of April 2012 we do offer free wi-fi to all our guests throughout the hotel.

We sincerely appreciate your high praise and recognition and look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Iro Chatzilia

Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

The Hera was a very nice and affordable hotel. Location with in walking distance to the Acropolis and Acropolis Museum and great dining options. Breakfast was nice. Staff was very helpful in giving us directions and arranging for taxis and other services. Great experience!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsmtravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.

We were truly delighted that you enjoyed our prime location and close proximity to all major Athenian sites. We pride ourselves on trying to provide exceptional levels of service and I was pleased to learn that our team members assisted you on all concierge matters.

We sincerely appreciate your high praise and recognition and look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Iro Chatzilia

Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Our experience at Hera Hotel was not good from the beginning. My husband and I booked a 'special rate/non-refundable' rate, because from the reviews we read and the hotel's website, it appeared to be nice and a good deal...we were sadly mistaken.

I'll begin with the good. First, it's pretty centrally located in the Plaka neighborhood of Athens which is full of tourist shops, restaurants, little cafes, and steps from the Acropolis and Syntagna Square. Second, it has great access to the subway system (which is very easy to understand and use). Last, the food at the hotel was actually halfway decent. One night we ordered late night appetizers for room service and the food was hot and fresh.

Now for the not-so-great aspects. Like I said, we booked a 'special rate/non-refundable room.' We check into the hotel and the first room they gave us was very small, the carpet was filthy (honestly brown and stained) and the ethernet cord outlet had been broken! I know you're suppose to escape from email on vacation, but we both like to check it from time to time, plus, we enjoy watching NFL games while we're out of the country, so for us Internet is kind of a necessity. So we called down to the front desk and requested another room. Second room was small, filthy carpet and hot!! It's not super cold yet in Greece, but many of the boutique hotels have switched off their A/C, so the rooms are unbearably hot. You have to sleep with the windows open, but then that's not the best because of security reasons and we faced an alley way. To top it off, we were given a room with two twin beds...I felt like we were on a 1950s sitcom.

We weren't too happy with our arrangements and to make matters worse, we had already booked the hotel for our return leg of our trip (two separate bookings). We told them we were not happy and that we didn't need our second booking which was scheduled for the following week. Instead of trying to accommodate us, they charged our credit card for the future stay that hadn't taken place yet!! We were furious. We tell you we won't be staying a week in advance and instead of canceling our reservation, you charge our credit card?! Then they wanted to make amends and they offered us 20% off our second booking (this is after they've charged the card the first time). Guess what happen? They charged the card a second time for a rate 20% less than the first!! So now we've paid twice for a stay that never took place!! I'm not even sure it's a fight worth having with the hotel and credit card company. We've just learned that you get what you pay for.

I can't even tell you how excited we were to leave that hotel. I'm not one for complaining, but I wanted to share our experience and tell you to just 'think twice'.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Love2TravelDoU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

Dear Mme,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

I am disappointed to learn of the details of your experience. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience that we caused you and your husband.

As checked your case, your reservations were for a Standard double room with a non refundable rate. As, it is clearly stated, you cannot modify or cancel your reservation at any time. We understand that your schedule might change, as you had claimed, thus we offered you , as a courtesy, a 20% discount . We never charged your card twice. Its a usual policy to pre-authorize the credit cards, for security purposes. As you can see, at your balance statement the card is only charged, the discounted rate.

Regarding your comments on the rooms, we apologize for the luck of Internet. However, as you mentioned we moved you to a different room. Some rooms, do have stains in the carpet, from previous guests. We have thoroughly cleaned every room, however there are some stains ( ex. wine) that cannot be removed. Please rest assure, that we are very diligent with all cleaning and hygiene issues. As most hotels, offer, twin and double beds. As per your request, we had offered you , on your 1st room, a double bed. However, as you requested to change, the only available room , at that point, was with twin beds.

I look forward to speaking personally with you, you can reach me at info@herahotel.gr . I hope that you will give me the opportunity to restore your confidence. Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Sincerely,

Iro Chatzilia

Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Location, location, location! Hotel Hera is just a 1/2 block from the New Acropolis Museum and right on the doorstep of the Plaka. It was very convenient to walk to everything. The hotel itself is beautiful! We were in Greece for our honeymoon so we booked a junior suite which was spacious with a modern decor. Our balcony off the room had a great view of the Parthenon and was very pretty at night. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, as we had to unexpectedly stay another night when our flight out of Athens was cancelled due to strikes. They booked us in the same room with no problems. We really enjoyed the breakfast here as well, variety of items to choose from that was well made.
Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JessGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatzilia, General Manager at Hera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback which is much appreciated. I am delighted that you found our hotel beautiful. I am especially pleased about your comments on our people.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Athens and Hera Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Iro Chatzilia

Hotel DIrector

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews