We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Evripides Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$282
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Amalia Hotel(Athens)
US$177
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$181
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$279
US$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Herodion Hotel(Athens)
US$243
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$165
US$144
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$257
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
New Hotel(Athens)
US$372
US$329
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$254
US$164
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Plaka Hotel(Athens)
US$206
US$181
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (824)
Filter reviews
824 results
Traveller rating
198
423
153
32
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
198
423
153
32
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmonastiraki metro stationgreat budget hotelcentral marketroof terracethe breakfast areatop floornever felt unsafeshort walkhotel barcontinental breakfastyogurtboiled eggsroom keywonderful view of the acropolisconvenient locationby footbars and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
264 - 269 of 824 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2012

I really enjoyed my short stay there. Staff is helpful and hotel is close to acropolis (15 minutes walk) and 5 minutes from monastiraki metro station. They helped me arranged renting a car and organize a small tour.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Apostolos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Central location, easy to walk to Acropolis. Easy acces from and to airport. Friendly staff who speaks fluent english. Information from staff in good time - there was a strike one day and the day before the strike the staff had put up a poster by the elevators to make sure that all the guest had the relevant information.
Not right next to metro but not that far away that it was a problem. Breakfast and bar on the roof from 6 o'clock in the evening - nice view of the city and Acropolis. Not the most exciting breakfast but quite OK - coffe, tea, juice, toast, cerials, yougurt, cheese, ham...
The neighbourhood may not look that safe at first sight but we did not feel insecure going home in the evening.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor, which was nice, because some of the buildings opposite the hotel are quite run down and on the higher floors you get the view of Acropolis(if you stand on the balcony). There are 2 elevators so you do not have to wait long for the elevator.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marpar_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Everything you have the right to expect - and more! This reasonably priced hotel delivers all that they promise. It's central, clean, well run, good breakfasts, modern well decorated rooms, decent bathrooms, safe for valuables, some rooms with views of Acropolis (and management who try hard to deliver on promises if views requested), Wi Fi, TV, AC, Roof Terrace, 2 Lifts (so no waiting around). 5th floor is best. (Breakfast on 7th). But what really makes this Hotel so special is the really helpful staff, especially the Reception Staff. Nothing seemed like too much trouble. Reliable recommendations e.g. First class local authentic Greek family restaurant, complete with Rembethika music (on a Friday afternoon!) - within 100 yards and within miniutes of our arrival, we were tucking in to Mythos, and top notch local cuisine - eat where the locals eat! Stupidly I forgot to pack some prescription drugs. No problem - reception looked up and telephoned local late night Pharmacy (Saturday evening mind!). 10 euros later, sorted! Imagine trying to do that in UK? Yes, the location is City Centre and decidedly urban - but we had no problems or difficulty with those less fortunate than ourselves. Greece has problems, Athens has problems - name a modern City which doesn't! Evripides Hotel is situated in the heart of Athens in an area characterised by shoe trade, central meat & fish markets, spices, hardware etc. - a trading area. It's alive. It's interesting. It's vibrant. Several good local restaurants. We walked everywhere within city centre - didn't need to take a cab once. 14 euros buys weekly ticket for all buses, trams and Metro. We caned it! Panathinaikos (Olympic stadium), Piraeus, Glyfada to name but a few. Love Athens. Love Greece and definitely would go back to Evripides Hotel!

Room Tip: If you request a room with a view of The Acropolis, you can be sure Management will do their best to comply - but it can't happen everytime, 'cos everyone wants the same thing. The breakfast roof terrace delivers the view for all customers.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

This hotel is perfect when you are looking for an affordable hotel not too far from the Athens sights. The hotel is clean, breakfast is good (just simple bread, yoghurt, etc) and there is a rooftop terrace with views of acropolis where breakfast is served and where drinks are served after 6PM every evening.
The neighborhood is a bit scruffy but the plus side is that the food market (GREAT value for money if you are looking for fresh fruit, olives, nuts) and a lot of great spices shops are around the corner from the hotel.
It didnt feel unsafe - not even in the evenings, but I am sure it could feel unsafe for women alone walking around at night.
All in all great value for money and very friendly and helpful staff 24/7!
Wifi works in the lobby of the hotel; didnt work in the rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank xAmaronex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Hotel Evripides is clean, TV, A/C, nice bathrooms, rooftop balcony, very affordable, close to Acropolis and helpful staff. Much of Athens is strewn with litter and grafitti is everywhere. On first arrival in Athens at night my wife and I felt a little uneasy walking from Monastiraki station to Hotel. We realized later that most of Athens seems to have the same feel and appearance. We were never approached or felt threatened in anyway though and feel it's something one must get used to. We walked back to hotel late another night and very early AM to Monastiraki with no uneasiness. We would stay here again, no problem.

Room Tip: If your spending much time on their rooftop balcony, with great views of the Acropolis, perhaps stay near the top floor and just walk to balcony.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tmanstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews