We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Art Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$352
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$128
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
NJV Athens Plaza(Athens)
US$408
US$374
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$172
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$191
US$163
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
New Hotel(Athens)
US$369
US$321
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$153
US$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$277
US$235
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$284
US$268
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$803
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (887)
Filter reviews
887 results
Traveller rating
329
257
171
85
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
329
257
171
85
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsomonia metronational museumminute walkbusy streetlate at nighthotel is situatedmajor attractionsrooms are smalltaxigreeceacropolissquaresightsgraffitidistrictgreek
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 887 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2018

A lot of the poor reviews about this hotel focus on the poor neighbourhood - well, its not great but we never felt threatened or unsafe. If you're affronted by graffiti or the site of a few rough sleepers then I don't think Athens is for you wherever you stay.

The hotel seems to have 2 distinctively different standard of rooms. The older rooms are very 1970's, tired and more hostel standard. The newly refurbished rooms are completely different, very modern, clean and comfortable. They are a few euro's extra but very much worth it unless you're on a very tight budget.

Breakfast is good with lots of choice.

Athens centre is 15 minute walk past the don't miss open air markets. 2 stops on the cheap metro. Lots of good bars / restaurants within 5 mins walk

Room Tip: Make sure you book the new rooms unless you're on a very tight budget
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markhartley10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

The staff was very friendly and helpful, the facility is clean, and the appearance of renovated 19th century building is inviting at the background of less interesting buildings around. Three Metro stations are at short walking distances, there is a lot of eateries nearby, and a good supermarket at 1 minute's walk just across the street.
Breakfast food quality might have been a little bit better on some of the days. WiFi connection in the room was OK, but internet connection was rather lame.

Stayed: January 2018
4  Thank Andrei S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

The room was a little tiny considering that it was rainy and we had wet coats.

All staff people were English speaking and very helpful with advices and local phone calls. Needless to say that we speak no greek.
We happen to be a few people living at 5 AM and they made breakfast ready for us at 4 AM.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank y_spier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights because we were going to a concert and also spent a few days sightseeing

Our room was in the new part of the hotel and was well fitted out, clean and lovely. However there was no view at all from any window which was disappointing. Just as well we were out and about most of the time which is why we felt had we been staying any longer and needed a day ‘in’ it wouldn’t have worked.

There was a reception area where you could sit but again no external views. There was access to a small outside area ( corner surrounded by buildings) at the back with a small swimming pool which we didn’t use and people went out there to smoke.

Breakfast was in a large room with tables all lined up together, felt a bit odd at first however the tables were big enough for ‘privacy’ and the food was good.

We decided on our last night to eat in so checked at reception if they did dinner, as we hadn’t seen any sign of it although the information talked about a restaurant, and were told yes and asked to pick what we wanted that morning. It all went wrong from there as it turned out they got the food in from elsewhere and it was late and cold by the time we got it. After a difficult conversation we left to eat elsewhere as we didn’t go to Athens to get a carry out which needed reheated! There was an apology the next morning.

The location was fairly close to the subway and once we got used to it we could get around fine.

We walked back late one night and felt unsafe as we got closer to the hotel so recommend a taxi for returning back late.

It did the job for us at the time but wouldn’t go back

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank DorothyMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here even after reading some of the reviews. We changed rooms from the front, as it was dark, noisy and cramped to one overlooking the pool courtyard.
It wasn't much better and there was no other alternative. The hotel is interesting and the main foyer and dining area is stylish but does not reflect the old, hard mattresses that overhang the single beds bases pushed together.
Our bathroom was ok apart from the fact that the toilet bowl was hard against a pillar causing you to ride side saddle.
We found the neighbourhood initially daunting, there was a riot, but not unsafe. I know that sounds ambiguous but it is an eclectic neighbourhood mostly students, some homeless and drug activity and like so many parts of Athens decorated in graffiti.
The local restaurants are excellent and by and large you are left alone walking around at night.
I think they are trying and the staff are friendly and helpful. Would I stay again? Perhaps if a little refurbishment was done and a little more attention to detail for breakfast, which is very basic. Not a 4 star hotel by any means, perhaps in the past.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews