We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalithea Apartments
Ranked #45 of 95 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

What a location! It's stunning and in equal distance between Elounda and Agios with a regular bus service. The pool is great too and the kids loved it however....the apartments are just too dated. I love a basic backpackers but the rooms are falling apart. No proper kitchen facilities that you would want to use and nothing works. Broken shower, broken lights, broken TV, badly painted chipped walls and it's not cleaned properly, plus there is loads of junk just left outside in the apartments 'gardens'. If they invested some money and put the prices up to cover this, it would be amazing.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank kennallvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

Just got home from a two week stay at the Kalithea and it hasn't changed much from my previous visits . The views are beautiful and we took a car to make getting about easy , it's not the best for people with major disabilities in walking as its hill based with lots of steps but my father who just had a knee op managed ok taking things slowly . The rooms are clean and the mother daughter cleaners came in every day to tidy up and make the beds changing towels and sheets when needed . We kept our own room swept so was quite happy and the pool helped yet again let my 3 and 4 yr old get water confident , both diving in by the end of the holiday :0) this happened with my previous two children who are now teenagers who also loved the wifi , pool , pool tables and grounds. You do need to take supply's with you as the mini market on site is closed .

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016

We arrived here very late at night only to find that there is no 24 hour reception. A note with a map to 'find' our apartment was sellotaped to the reception window. After fumbling about in unfamiliar surroundings, in the dark (literally) for a good 10 minutes or more we eventually found the apartment. We had booked a 2 bedroomed apartment, which we got, but there was only bedding left for one bed! The toilet cistern developed a fault after 2 flushes. Be aware that at this time of night there are no open restaurants/cafes anywhere nearby, and it would be wise to eat before you leave the plane/airport or have some sort of 'tideover' snacks with you.
In the morning we went to report the lack of bedding and the toilet issue to reception, but the 2 girls on duty spoke no English whatsoever. When the manager finally appeared he spoke good English and promised to resolve the issues. However, the toilet problem persisted all week. The apartments are large but the kitchens are very basic, minimal cooking utensils are provided, but most people probably choose to eat out anyway. There were no noise issues when we stayed from other guests and the pool was always empty but looked very inviting, if you are into poolside holidays. We hired a car from day one to see the island, and please also note that these apartments are quite a walk out of town, uphill (steep sections) in very high temperatures, I would definitely recommend a hire car!
Upon checking out we again encountered the 2 non English speaking staff who tried to use a phone translation app but ended up calling the manager to speak to us over the phone to verify we had no further room charges to pay before leaving.
I am hesitant to recommend these apartments for anyone other than people who are willing to hire a car, and who are not going to be self catering and only for those who can overlook niggles such as plumbing issues. One further point is to always remember mosquito sprays and room zappers, the mosquitoes are vicious in Greece, and as soon as dusk starts to settle they will be out in force!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rangierover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016

basic accomadation but as a base for travelling is excellent. The location of the apartment means that a hire car is essential but the views were stunning. A 10min journey into town finds cafes and restaurants in abundance and shops galore. Really enjoyed my stay

Room Tip: great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed here as we had family in the area. We were looking for somewhere inexpensive, as we planned to spend most of our time with family at their resort.
Apartment was basic but clean and had fridge cooker and kettle. Basic dishes and cutlery, all that was needed.
Views were stupendous.
Small, nice clean pool, always sunbeds available and rooms cleaned every day.
Staff nice and friendly.
Nice indoor lounge and free wi Fi around reception area.
Excellent value for money

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank GlasgowJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agios Nikolaos hotels
3.2 km away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
8.5 km away
Ostria Apartments
Ostria Apartments
#2 of 4 in Ammoudara
45 reviews
8.1 km away
Cretan Village Hotel
Cretan Village Hotel
#1 of 1 in Amoudara
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas
8.3 km away
Panorama Villas
Panorama Villas
#3 of 4 in Ammoudara
26 reviews
4.4 km away
Hotel Angelos
Hotel Angelos
#40 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalithea Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalithea Apartments

Address: Lenika, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 95 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Hotel Class:2 star — Kalithea Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Kalithea Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalithea Apartments Agios Nikolaos, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing