We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Spilia Village Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Kriti Hotel(Chania Town)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$100
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ionas Boutique Hotel(Chania Town)(Great Value!)
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Samaria Hotel(Chania Town)
US$162
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arkadi Hotel(Chania Town)(Great Value!)
US$68
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Belmondo(Chania Town)(Great Value!)
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Yakinthos Hotel(Agii Apostoli)
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Greco Hotel(Chania Town)
US$64
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Corinna Mare Suites & Studios(Chania Town)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments(Chania Town)(Great Value!)
US$34
US$33
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Civitel Akali Hotel(Chania Town)
US$116
US$104
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveller rating
139
102
27
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
102
27
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalking holidayown transportgreen valleywalking groupbeautiful swimming pool arealocal churchhot wateran ideal basebath showersuperior suitepeaceful locationlovely hotelolive treeslocal cretanstayed here for a weekpool barbreakfast buffet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 284 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2017

After staying in some very ordinary accommodation on the south of Crete earlier in the week it was a great relief to arrive at Spilia Village.
The accommodation was both clean, authentic and a little quirky. we stayed in on one of the villas a few hundred metres from the Hotel with its own pool it was great. Only downside was we were only staying for a few nights. We ate in the restaurant which was good but perhaps they were trying a little hard at making the food fancy! Breakfast was pretty good. Hotel poolside bar and pool were good . indoor spa/pool I don't think were open

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank denno01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Beautiful hotel and incredibly friendly staff. Very good breakfast and delicious dinner. The rooms were tastefully furnished and clean. We felt completely comfortable. The location is extremely quiet and even if the village does not offer any outstanding sights, a short walk to the Orthodox church with a great view of the surrounding countryside is worthwhile.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank holgerfrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

My husband, daughter and I recently spent a week at Spilia Village. We booked as Spilia boasted a range of facilities which suited our needs. The outdoor pool and surrounding gardens are beautiful and tranquil...However, there was some disappointing aspects which guests intending to stay should be aware of. First, my husband was keen to use the gym during our stay and a makeshift sign on the door said that the gym was closed for 'technical reasons' for the whole week. We got the impression that this had, in fact been the case for some time. Also, when looking at the photos of the indoor pool on the website, it looks very inviting. The reality is that it's located in a large, soulless space and, as my husband commented, would feel like swimming in a factory. The same applies to the area where one would have a massage - a drab, soulless room which would not feel remotely soothing or tranquil if you were to book a massage session.
In terms of the dining situation, we had dinner at the hotel on a couple of nights and it was perfectly fine - there was not a huge amount of choice and unfortunately, the menu didn't vary at all throughout the week so those planning on staying on-site for the duration would find it a little repetitive. As we had a car, we had great meals locally in places such as Paleo Arhontiko in Kolimbari and also a wonderful lunch in the restaurant at the Botanical Gardens of Crete. Those without a car would struggle as there are no other cafes/restaurants in Spilia Village.
The more significant issue with dining at Spilia Village was that we were told on arrival that the pool bar, which had its own snack food menu, was open each night until 2am. On certain occasions, when we'd had a pleasant lunch out, we would perhaps just fancy a snack in the evening but the issue was that the pool menu ceases to be available from 6pm and the staff place a sign on the bar saying to go to reception if you need anything! This is because they're the same staff on duty in the restaurant. This, combined with the fact that the hotel doesn't offer room service, means that you have no option but to a) eat in the restaurant or b) head out in the car in search of a snack. The lack of room service is a real issue for a hotel which purports to be a 4 star establishment. Interestingly, the hotel brochure which is freely available in the reception area says room service is available but we checked with staff who said not.
Overall, an ok stay but some changes needed.

Room Tip: We stayed in what was meant to be a superior double but the room was very small and it was impossible for two people to sit on the balcony at the same time as the 2 x chairs and small table took up all the room! We asked to be moved and were given another room half way through our stay. This was better but still the bathrooms were very old-fashioned and all shower screens have a gap between the screen and the wall - rendering them pretty useless!
Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LeezieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

Lovely location - the only hotel in the village, located around 5km from the coast. Breakfast was excellent - evening meals in the hotel were very good and there is a traditional taverna less than 5 minutes walk away. We would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Villa Nicholas - a 4 minute walk up a steep village road. Large, 2 bed villa with its own pool and beautiful views across the mountains. Ideal for a family of 4.
Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AndrewAHardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

Relaxing holidays to Crete island! fantastic hotel charming staff very helpful in directing to beaches around falasarna, balos, elafonisi etc. etc
food in the restaurant was excellent waiters very polite and professional. Rooms very nice and clean.

Room Tip: nice breakfast, quiet village
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank louisdiminique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews