We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Spilia Village Hotel
Ranked #20 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2017

The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant but the food was unpredictable.
We had two really lovely meals but one main course was practically inedible.
As a walking group we had a set menu with choice of main course and dessert.
A la carte was available.
My room was very close to its neighbour ( 118/119) and the king size bed didn't leave much space for case/ rucksack etc also voices from kitchen below could be heard quite late at night.
The swimming pool was lovely and well maintained.
Very relaxing after walking all day.

Room Tip: Don't accept 119 unless you are very friendly with 118 guests.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pauline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017

Stayed as a couple here in September. We were upgraded to a suite upon arrival from a superior double room. We had a bedroom, bathroom and sitting room. We had a couple of small balconies which we did use at the end of a day but they overlooked a road which although was not busy was not quite what I had expected,, but saying that we had views of the surrounding hills and it was quite interesting sometimes. Our room had all the amenities you could need except for a kettle for that early cup of tea, fortunately I had taken one with me! The bath/shower was hot and powerful but unfortunately the screen was not sealed properly and it did leak onto the floor. The bed was very comfy and the room was kept very clean and tidy daily by housekeeping but some elements of the room would benefit from a little loving care by maintenance. The food in the restaurant was very good if a little limited in choice if you were to eat there several times. The restaurant and poolside staff were excellent, friendly and very accommodating. Loved sitting around the pool during the day and we were lucky to choose days when we had the area to ourselves and it felt like our own private villa! I did enjoy our week there, some things were a little tired but I suppose were in keeping with a 'traditional' Greek hotel. The hotel is set within a lovely traditional village with some lovely walks to the 2 local churches and village taverna which is worth a visit. The local coast is only a 5/10 minute drive away and the hotel is ideally situated for exploring the beautiful west side of Crete with its fantastic beaches of Balos, Elfonsisi, and Loutro, several gorges and Chania is definitely worth a visit and is beautiful of an evening lit up.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

This hotel certainly lived up to our expectations. The buildings have been sensitively built or converted to fit in with the old style of village houses. Our villa had a beautifully planted garden surrounding the pool, romantically lit at night. Top marks to whoever designed it. The restaurant attached to the hotel is fine, but has a limited menu, so it would be good to see some 'specials' each day to ring the changes. However, there is an independent taverna - Platania, about 3 mins walk away from the hotel, which is excellent, and in a lovely setting beneath 4 huge plane trees (hence the name).
All the staff were very friendly, but Vasilis always went 'the extra mile' and even arranged for us to see inside the old church. Reception staff are full of useful tips on where to go, as well as where to avoid. If you are interested in churches and Byzantine wall paintings, there are plenty to see in this area. At the top of the hill behind the village is the Church of St John the Hermit set into a huge cave, very interesting. Also another little church built into the rock part way up the road to St John's. Apart from the modern church with its large clock tower, there is a church right by the hotel, and an even lovelier church up the road on the left hand side of Platania Taverna.
One tip about the villa, I don't know if it applies to other villas or hotel rooms, but it takes a while for the water to come through hot. Don't panic. If you wait a few minutes the shower is hot and the water plentiful.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 1 bed villa with private pool - highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

After staying in some very ordinary accommodation on the south of Crete earlier in the week it was a great relief to arrive at Spilia Village.
The accommodation was both clean, authentic and a little quirky. we stayed in on one of the villas a few hundred metres from the Hotel with its own pool it was great. Only downside was we were only staying for a few nights. We ate in the restaurant which was good but perhaps they were trying a little hard at making the food fancy! Breakfast was pretty good. Hotel poolside bar and pool were good . indoor spa/pool I don't think were open

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank denno01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Beautiful hotel and incredibly friendly staff. Very good breakfast and delicious dinner. The rooms were tastefully furnished and clean. We felt completely comfortable. The location is extremely quiet and even if the village does not offer any outstanding sights, a short walk to the Orthodox church with a great view of the surrounding countryside is worthwhile.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank holgerfrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
14.1 km away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#13 of 111 in Chania Town
566 reviews
21.4 km away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#3 of 111 in Chania Town
898 reviews
21.7 km away
Palazzo di Pietro
Palazzo di Pietro
#28 of 111 in Chania Town
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 km away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 111 in Chania Town
585 reviews
21.5 km away
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
Domus Renier Boutique Hotel
#1 of 111 in Chania Town
156 reviews
21.8 km away
Ambassadors Residence Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spilia Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spilia Village Hotel

Address: Spilia Kolimbari, Chania Town, Crete 730 06, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chania Town
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chania Town
#28 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: $152 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spilia Village Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Spilia Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spilia Village Hotel Chania, Crete, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing