We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
172
119
36
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
119
36
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalking holidaywalking groupown transportorange treesgreen valleyhf holidayplane treestraditional villagehot waterwestern cretebreakfasts were excellentoutdoor poolan ideal basesuperior suitebath showercharm and characterpoolside bar
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 343 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Stayed as a couple here in September. We were upgraded to a suite upon arrival from a superior double room. We had a bedroom, bathroom and sitting room. We had a couple of small balconies which we did use at the end of a day but they overlooked a road which although was not busy was not quite what I had expected,, but saying that we had views of the surrounding hills and it was quite interesting sometimes. Our room had all the amenities you could need except for a kettle for that early cup of tea, fortunately I had taken one with me! The bath/shower was hot and powerful but unfortunately the screen was not sealed properly and it did leak onto the floor. The bed was very comfy and the room was kept very clean and tidy daily by housekeeping but some elements of the room would benefit from a little loving care by maintenance. The food in the restaurant was very good if a little limited in choice if you were to eat there several times. The restaurant and poolside staff were excellent, friendly and very accommodating. Loved sitting around the pool during the day and we were lucky to choose days when we had the area to ourselves and it felt like our own private villa! I did enjoy our week there, some things were a little tired but I suppose were in keeping with a 'traditional' Greek hotel. The hotel is set within a lovely traditional village with some lovely walks to the 2 local churches and village taverna which is worth a visit. The local coast is only a 5/10 minute drive away and the hotel is ideally situated for exploring the beautiful west side of Crete with its fantastic beaches of Balos, Elfonsisi, and Loutro, several gorges and Chania is definitely worth a visit and is beautiful of an evening lit up.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

This hotel certainly lived up to our expectations. The buildings have been sensitively built or converted to fit in with the old style of village houses. Our villa had a beautifully planted garden surrounding the pool, romantically lit at night. Top marks to whoever designed it. The restaurant attached to the hotel is fine, but has a limited menu, so it would be good to see some 'specials' each day to ring the changes. However, there is an independent taverna - Platania, about 3 mins walk away from the hotel, which is excellent, and in a lovely setting beneath 4 huge plane trees (hence the name).
All the staff were very friendly, but Vasilis always went 'the extra mile' and even arranged for us to see inside the old church. Reception staff are full of useful tips on where to go, as well as where to avoid. If you are interested in churches and Byzantine wall paintings, there are plenty to see in this area. At the top of the hill behind the village is the Church of St John the Hermit set into a huge cave, very interesting. Also another little church built into the rock part way up the road to St John's. Apart from the modern church with its large clock tower, there is a church right by the hotel, and an even lovelier church up the road on the left hand side of Platania Taverna.
One tip about the villa, I don't know if it applies to other villas or hotel rooms, but it takes a while for the water to come through hot. Don't panic. If you wait a few minutes the shower is hot and the water plentiful.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 1 bed villa with private pool - highly recommended
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

After staying in some very ordinary accommodation on the south of Crete earlier in the week it was a great relief to arrive at Spilia Village.
The accommodation was both clean, authentic and a little quirky. we stayed in on one of the villas a few hundred metres from the Hotel with its own pool it was great. Only downside was we were only staying for a few nights. We ate in the restaurant which was good but perhaps they were trying a little hard at making the food fancy! Breakfast was pretty good. Hotel poolside bar and pool were good . indoor spa/pool I don't think were open

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank denno01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Beautiful hotel and incredibly friendly staff. Very good breakfast and delicious dinner. The rooms were tastefully furnished and clean. We felt completely comfortable. The location is extremely quiet and even if the village does not offer any outstanding sights, a short walk to the Orthodox church with a great view of the surrounding countryside is worthwhile.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank holgerfrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

My husband, daughter and I recently spent a week at Spilia Village. We booked as Spilia boasted a range of facilities which suited our needs. The outdoor pool and surrounding gardens are beautiful and tranquil...However, there was some disappointing aspects which guests intending to stay should be aware of. First, my husband was keen to use the gym during our stay and a makeshift sign on the door said that the gym was closed for 'technical reasons' for the whole week. We got the impression that this had, in fact been the case for some time. Also, when looking at the photos of the indoor pool on the website, it looks very inviting. The reality is that it's located in a large, soulless space and, as my husband commented, would feel like swimming in a factory. The same applies to the area where one would have a massage - a drab, soulless room which would not feel remotely soothing or tranquil if you were to book a massage session.
In terms of the dining situation, we had dinner at the hotel on a couple of nights and it was perfectly fine - there was not a huge amount of choice and unfortunately, the menu didn't vary at all throughout the week so those planning on staying on-site for the duration would find it a little repetitive. As we had a car, we had great meals locally in places such as Paleo Arhontiko in Kolimbari and also a wonderful lunch in the restaurant at the Botanical Gardens of Crete. Those without a car would struggle as there are no other cafes/restaurants in Spilia Village.
The more significant issue with dining at Spilia Village was that we were told on arrival that the pool bar, which had its own snack food menu, was open each night until 2am. On certain occasions, when we'd had a pleasant lunch out, we would perhaps just fancy a snack in the evening but the issue was that the pool menu ceases to be available from 6pm and the staff place a sign on the bar saying to go to reception if you need anything! This is because they're the same staff on duty in the restaurant. This, combined with the fact that the hotel doesn't offer room service, means that you have no option but to a) eat in the restaurant or b) head out in the car in search of a snack. The lack of room service is a real issue for a hotel which purports to be a 4 star establishment. Interestingly, the hotel brochure which is freely available in the reception area says room service is available but we checked with staff who said not.
Overall, an ok stay but some changes needed.

Room Tip: We stayed in what was meant to be a superior double but the room was very small and it was impossible for two people to sit on the balcony at the same time as the 2 x chairs and small table took up all the room! We asked to be moved and were given another room half way through our stay. This was better but still the bathrooms were very old-fashioned and all shower screens have a gap between the screen and the wall - rendering them pretty useless!
Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LeezieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews