We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,263)
Filter reviews
2,263 results
Traveller rating
1,381
628
192
34
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,381
628
192
34
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mirabello restaurant lobby bar a la carte restaurants elounda village greek night main restaurant mythica package fire pit sea view half board all inclusive package beach area buffet restaurant gala dinner bungalow room beach bag glass of champagne
Filter
Updating list...
418 - 423 of 2,263 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We stayed at the resort the first two weeks in October. Weather was lovely. We had room 763, which had a sea view. Absolutely beautiful. We could watch the sun rise every morning over the lovely blue sea from our balcony. The hotel sort of faces north-east, so no balconies really get much sun in the day. Air conditioning in the room was good.
Wifi was excellent everywhere. There were a lot of stone steps up and down to the beach, nicely landscaped and no problem if you are fairly fit, but not suitable for disabled.
The hotel is excellent and is very well run by the management team. The staff and waiters are all very friendly and helpful and add to the enjoyment of the stay.
Diane, our Thomson rep, was really friendly and helpful, with a good knowledge of the area. We had taken a hire car from the airport and explored the lovely area. A drive to Plaka and a boat over to Spinalonga was very worthwhile. Better if you have read "The Island" before you go. Walking across the causeway and to the two churches on Kalydon is worth doing if you are up for the rugged 5 mile round trip. Elounda Village, with its nice beach and shops, is great to visit. We were regulars for cappuccinos at Rudi's Bar.
The hotel pool is lovely and easy to get a sun bed around it. The beach is small but great to swim in the sea there. Need to get down there early to get a decent sun bed though.
The food standard and choice is excellent. Easy to eat too much. If you are on half board, drinks, even water, can seem a bit expensive, so budget for it.
Dress code for evening meals is standard smart casual with long trousers for men. The black and white formal evening with management is a nice idea, but it really doesn't matter if you don't have black and white clothes. The Greek themed evening is definitely worth attending.
Would certainly return here.

Tip - don't keep your room key next to anything magnetic, like a mobile phone, as it wipes the magnetic stripe. Reception are frequently reprogramming key cards, including ours, until they explained what caused it.

Room tip: Worth paying a bit extra for a bungalow with a sea view.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnnaandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Tui Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing the Aquila Elounda Holiday Village and for providing us with your excellent feedback.

I am delighted to know that our hotel exceeded your expectations and my team are extremely proud, as am I; that you enjoyed your time with us so much. Our aim at the Aquila Elounda Holiday Village is to ensure that you experience a wonderful stay and so it is a great pleasure to be provided with such positive comments in respect to our facilities and the service we provide.

It was our great pleasure to host you and we look forward to welcoming you again, which we hope will be very soon.

Kindest regards
Michalis Volyrakis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Previously reviewed this hotel in July 2014 on our first visit. Just returned again in September 2016 and all as we remembered. The welcome and friendliness of the staff is outstanding were nothing is too much trouble. The standard of accommodation is excellent (stayed in bungalow with sea view) and cuisine is all you could wish for with two waiter service restaurants as well as the buffet dining. The lobby bar is a very relaxing area both before and after your evening meal. OK some people may criticise the meaning of all inclusive but once you have worked out what is and what is not included you get excellent value for money which includes numerous quality brands of drinks rather than local.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for a relaxing, laid back holiday experience and look forward to returning in the future.

Room tip: Recommend sea view room or bungalow to appreciate location of hotel
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NormanK423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Tui Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you for returning to the Aquila Elounda Holiday Village and for taking the time to provide us with your excellent review.

We are pleased that you felt so at home in our hotel and that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday. My team will be delighted to know that they exceeded your expectations in every way and would wish for me to thank you personally for your kind comments in respect to the service they provided.

It was our great pleasure to host you and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future.

Kindest regards
Michalis Volyrakis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Beautiful hotel. Amazing food.
We loved the double sunbeds and lived on them for a week.
The romantic bungalow was beautiful, well stocked mini bar.
Water sports were great fun. Jet Skis 90€ for 1/2hour.
Only 14€ for a taxi into town. The Al a Carte restaurants were amazing. Service was brilliant and food was of a really good quality but warning, the portions were huge, ask for a small portion if you are not a big eater. You get a little tasting dish which changes each night compliments of the chef, lovely and tasty touch!
The only down points for me were you had to go by taxi to anywhere you wanted to go, they do not offer marmite at breakfast time and you cannot buy it on the island....I spent over 100€ trying to find some and the wine was undrinkable, we had to mix it with sprite.
The beach bar for food was very good, fresh local produce but the bar does not stay open as late as they says it does unfortunately. Evening entertainment really isn't great either. Overall we did really enjoy our holiday but we will not return.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank MissFoodLover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Tui Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing the Aquila Elounda Holiday Village and for taking the time to provide us with your excellent review.

We are pleased that you felt so at home in our hotel and that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday. My team will be delighted to know that they exceeded your expectations in every way and would wish for me to thank you personally for your kind comments in respect to the service they provided.

Your comments regarding the wine on offer and bar opening times have been noted. Please be assured that these will be looked into.

It was our great pleasure to host you and we do hope you may consider returning in the near future.

Kindest regards
Michalis Volyrakis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Stayed at this Hotel with Thomson Holidays in September 2016. Transfer time about 1.5 hours calling at other hotels, our main issue was the hour plus wait at the airport for another flight to arrive before even starting. The hotel is set at the bottom of a steep hill from the main road which is important if you plan to go anywhere by bus as the stop is at the top of the hill, The nearest shop/mini mart is about 15 minutes walk away which is probably worth it to buy cheap milk and water. The hotel shop is quite expensive as you are sort of captive customers. The village of Elounda is about 45mins walk but a good evening stroll to get out of the hotel. The hotel complex manages to face almost south on a north coast and is set on a hill which has steep slopes to all areas except the small beach/harbour which is over 50 steps down. Disabled/wheelchair users would find the whole hotel quite difficult. The main pool is good and the two smaller pools are a bit quirky being very small and only really fit for a quick cool off. As the pool area is on the edge of the promontory there is always a breeze which can result in quick sunburn. The rooms are good sizes but I agree with another review that the 'romantic' drape over the bed and the lack of bedside tables takes a lot off the gloss. Our tea and coffee equipment was adequate but not always refreshed properly so we took to our own supplies. The aircon worked and was needed all day. The views from the mid area bungalows was quite limited so I would choose either the lower rooms are the very high ones. All inclusive price is much more than half board and can come as a bit of a shock as not all drinks are included and can be expensive. As a very light drinker I was surprised at the € 9.00 charge for a scotch (half board). As half board guests all drinks were extra even water with meals so we ran up a bit of a bill but nowhere like what all inclusive would have cost.
The so called voucher for the Al La Carte restaurants was a waste of time as it was only valid for non themed nights and we found the buffet restaurant very good. Food here was plentiful both in quantity and choice, mostly of good quality too. Fish night was our favourite with Oysters, lobster, mussels all available.
Poolside entertainment consists of water aerobics, quizzes and yoga classes. To be fair on the staff they worked hard but the offerings were not inspiring and were not very popular, except the water aerobics which drew a fair crowd, Scuba diving is available on site at area average costs. They also run a 'try scuba' free every wednesday.
Evening entertainment was sparse and not great standard, we enjoyed the guitar player on Sunday evening but were so disappointed on the following Sunday when the playlist and even the commentary were identical, word for word, song for song.
If you become ill during your stay there are two chemists in Elounda, the first one you come to (on the right about 400 yards before the main square) has a very good pharmacist who can help greatly. There is also a free clinic on weekday mornings only, just near the main chemist in Elounda town square.The hotel will call a doctor for anything more serious.
Overall the hotel is very quiet even though it is aimed at adults/couples so I would say we enjoyed our holiday but there are too many good places on the world for us to consider going back anytime soon.
Finally Heraklion airport is a nightmare. Very small and crowded, que up to check in then have to lug luggage to another area to have it scanned. Then another long que to go into departures security, this makes a frustrating end to a holiday and the Cretan authorities need to deal with this soon.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scotthY1245ZO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Tui Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing the Aquila Elounda Holiday Village for your holiday and for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I am pleased to hear that there were many aspects of our hotel which you enjoyed and that overall you had a pleasant stay. However it was disheartening to read that there were areas in which you were unhappy. The vast majority of our guests experience wonderful holidays with us and many return year after year. Nevertheless, your comments will be taken into consideration.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest regards
Michalis Volyrakis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016

As the Thomson Rep said, this is very much a fly and flop hotel ( fly in, flop and stay here until the coach comes to take you home) and you certainly wouldn't want more than a week here. It is so isolated that you NEED a car to escape. They don't even have a bus to take you to local villages/towns. The taxi to Elounds is €8 each way and to Agios Nikolaos €14 each way.

The hotel is clean and tidy. Nice gardens. As has been said before the food is good and staff very nice. Here I would especially name waitress Maria, who works incredibly hard, and Lucy of the entertainments team who was unfailingly cheerful.

After reading the trip advisor reviews, we got cold feet and paid another £500.00! for a sea view. We were upgraded to a jnr suite which we thought would be very nice, but it was in the main building and cooking smells pervaded before every meal. Althougn we had a sort of partitioned off balcony, there was a walkway at the end and thoughtless other guests would be talking and partying there late into the night. It seems that all British guests were in the main building.

There were some very nice, more modern rooms further down the garden which overlooked the sea, but they didn't seem to be for British guests.

The wi-fi was very good.

Thankfully we hired a car at the airport for a fortnight (£160.00) and escaped every day. The scenery of Crete leaves a lot to be desired and was very disappointing.

All in all I felt it was a waste of money and we won't be coming back here again.

Room tip: Difficult to give advice as it's a lottery whether you get a good one.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 144janei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Tui Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2016

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing the Aquila Elounda Holiday Village and for providing us with your review.

I would like to apologise that you were unhappy with the location of your room. I am confident that had you reported your concerns to my staff, every effort would have been made to move you to an alternative room.

I was however pleased to read your comments regarding my team, in particular Maria. They will be delighted to know that they exceeded your expectations in every way and I am sure they would wish for me to thank you personally for your kind comments on their behalf.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and I do hope your decision will change in time and you will return for another visit.

Kindest regards
Michalis Volyrakis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews