We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leonidas House- a tiny, quirky taste of traditional Crete”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Traditional Homes and Villas of Crete
Ranked #3 of 3 Elounda B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We have just enjoyed a week in Leonidas House which is very quaint and rustic. The view from the upstairs terrace is stunning and the outdoor kitchen is a bonus as cold drinks are on hand and a simple meal can be cooked outside. The photo's on 'The Traditional Homes and Villas of Crete' website are slightly misleading as they feature other properties mixed in with it (2 photo's are the wrong way round!) and we were disappointed that the pool featured on this page does not relate to Leonidas house. But it was still very homely & unusual. It is a pleasant walk into Elouda town, down a winding lane and lots of steps through the village or down the hill and along the shore- both lovely ways to start the day. The nearby taverna is full of locals who made us feel very welcome & we enjoyed their food (see 'The Hope' review)

Room Tip: The brochure photo's lead you to believe there is a pool- there isn't, but the house is so q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flutefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

I have been in the Efterpi house with my boyfriend and friends for two nights. We have found this place by chance since we were looking for a place to stay in Elounda. Our contact person - Mr. Argiro Peraki- has been really kind and helpful and led us to this beautiful place, a house built in stone and wood, really striking. Everything was clean and the area where the house stands is really quiet and near to a cafè and a good restaurant, named Kandouni. We have really enjoyed the experience!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Silvia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed at 'Margarita' (Traditional Homes of Crete), in Mavrikiano for 10 days in April. After seeing the photos on the website we knew we were in for a different experience to our usual self-catering accommodation. We arrived in Crete at 11pm and drove to Elounda to meet the house keeper Vaggelis who escorted us to the house. Make sure you make arrangements to be met, before you leave home, as 'Margarita' would otherwise be very difficult to find, especially in the dark. Vaggelis was great, giving us a tour of the house, and its history, while we stood on the terrace, looking out at the stunning view of Elounda and Elounda Bay. All this at about 1am! The traditional stonebuilt house has room to sleep 6 adults and is very spacious. The layout is very interesting and beautiful, with stone walls, floors and stairs, and a massive arch in the living room. The furniture is unique with painted panels on the cupboards and wardrobes. The kitchen and tiny bathroom are outside the main house, but they are only a couple of steps across a tiny courtyard, so it's not really a problem. The covered veranda/terrace is very spacious with a large table, chairs and cushions. There is also a barbeque and 'summer kitchen' here. If you want something really different, give 'Margarita' a try!
At the bottom of the steps to 'Margarita' is a bar/restaurant called The Hope. It is very friendly and welcoming, serves great food, and has a super view! Well worth a visit, or two.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeanHuntingdon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

the owner for one more time was very kind and helpful with everything we needed! And the house that we ve stayed was perfect, we felt once more like our home! it was the second time that we ve visited and surely we will go and this summer to another house. thank you very much for everything and we will see you again soon!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zoemich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

It was a great experiance. The house is traditional, all made by stone, very beautifull. Thank you Nikos for the hospitality! The sea is very calm ant the weather amazing. The pool is quite and the facilities was good enough for all the company. Very clean, comfortable and good mood. Ωραιότατα περασαμε! Μπραβο παιδια, πολυ καλη προσπαθεια, θα το το συστήσω και στους φίλους μου!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Grigorakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0 km away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
466 reviews
0 km away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
0 km away
Domes of Elounda, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Tui Sensimar Elounda Village Resort & Spa by Aquila
0 km away
Stella Mare
Stella Mare
#1 of 1 in Plaka
42 reviews
0 km away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#2 of 35 in Elounda
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Traditional Homes and Villas of Crete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Traditional Homes and Villas of Crete

Address: Mavrikiano Elounda, Elounda, Crete 71202, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Elounda
Price Range: $99 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Traditional Homes and Villas of Crete 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
we are 10 stone built traditional Cretan homes in the settlement of Mavrikiano Elounda constructed on the basis of the original homes of previous century with added amenities the modern traveler expects i.e. modern bathrooms with jacuzzi, kitchens/with kitchenware, swimming pools and safes, parking, TV, A/C etc. Ten minutes walk from the center of the town of Elounda, the Sandy Public Beach and departure of boats to the island of Spinalonga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Traditional Homes and Villas of Crete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Traditional Homes And Villas Of Crete Elounda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing