We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be aware!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Traditional Homes and Villas of Crete
Ranked #3 of 3 Elounda B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 August 2016

We were booked into the Elounda apartments but a couple of days before departure we were informed that the accomodation had been double booked and we would be staying one week at another property and then transferred to the originally booked apartment. We weren't happy but could not find other accomodation so off we went. We arrived in Elounda at 1:30 am and the transfer driver told us to get out at the church. We refused and then the driver had a convoluted discussion with the taxi drivers nearby and ten minutes late the owner/manager drove up and took us in his car to Leonidas House. He then at 2 am told us that he had mixed up the bookings and that we would stay in this house for four nights, then transfer to another property for three nights and then the apartments for the next three! We weren't happy but resigned ourselves to it. Leonidas House is in Mavrikiano - a lovely spot. The house is well equipped but definitely not suitable for anyone with mobility problems - steep stone stairs lead to the bedroom upstairs. We enjoyed our four nights and then prepared ourselves for the next move only to be told that the Elounda apartment was now available. Back in the owner's car again! The Elounda apartments are well situated in the town. The kitchen is well equipped and the bathroom and bedrooms are of a good size. The only downside is that there is no balcony. We enjoyed our stay and the moves didn't really inconvenience us. The owner is a lovely guy of nearly eighty and I think he is just trying to keep his occupancy at a maximum. However we also saw the same thing happen to two other couples booked into his accomodation when we were there for ten days. So if you want typically Greek accomodation and are prepared to be flexible then this is the accomodation for you!

Room Tip: Make sure you book a sea view if you opt for an apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2016

Just back from a lovely weekend staying at this property had a great time the owner
was very nice even took us on a tour of Elounda all in all i can give this place a great review we will probably be going back another time

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 823Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2015

Started badly as we were dropped off at 12 midnight in Elounda and no-one picked us up to take us to the house as had been arranged. However we were rescued by some wonderful Greeks who found out where the house was and arranged for us to be transported there.

It was worth the bad start. The house is amazing. So many traditional and quirky features with the most amazing view from the balcony. The outside kitchen is a great place as it has a fridge etc and it tempted us to make two meals there something we never do on holiday. The house has the biggest key we have ever seen and we showed it off to everyone we met. The village is lovely and the people warm and friendly. The house is directly opposite The Hope restaurant which has the fattest cat we've ever seen in Greece.

In the description it says it is not suitable for people with mobility problems and if you haven't got a car this is true because it is quite a walk from the centre of Elounda with a couple of steep inclines but it is so worth the effort.

So glad that we chose this accommodation and would recommend it to anyone who likes a property with history and tradition.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Olympic Holidays – OlympicHolidays.com
4  Thank Joan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2015 via mobile

A world famous over done restoration of a 4000 yr old Minoan palace. The site is overcrowded, tricky to navigate around, very hot with little shelter, and confusing without a guide. Footing can be treacherous and difficult for the unfit or the elderly. More valuable by far is a visit to the wonderful museum in Heraklion.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Although we had a confirmed booking from www.booking.com the owner had double booked the Almond Tree resulting in us not haveing a place to stay. Our vacaction was ruined!
Be carefull, although you will get a confirmation that you have booked the villa, nothing is guaranteed as the owner is a crook and books it several times on the same dates.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0 km away
Elounda Mare Relais & Chateaux hotel
0 km away
Elounda Water Park Residence
0 km away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Elounda Heights
Elounda Heights
#2 of 35 in Elounda
518 reviews
0 km away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#17 of 35 in Elounda
725 reviews
0 km away
Kalypso Hotel Elounda
Kalypso Hotel Elounda
#24 of 35 in Elounda
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Traditional Homes and Villas of Crete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Traditional Homes and Villas of Crete

Address: Mavrikiano Elounda, Elounda, Crete 71202, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Elounda
Price Range: $103 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Traditional Homes and Villas of Crete 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
we are 10 stone built traditional Cretan homes in the settlement of Mavrikiano Elounda constructed on the basis of the original homes of previous century with added amenities the modern traveler expects i.e. modern bathrooms with jacuzzi, kitchens/with kitchenware, swimming pools and safes, parking, TV, A/C etc. Ten minutes walk from the center of the town of Elounda, the Sandy Public Beach and departure of boats to the island of Spinalonga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Traditional Homes and Villas of Crete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Traditional Homes And Villas Of Crete Elounda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing