We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
18
3
3
4
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
3
3
4
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view properties nikos village fridge
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2018

I stayed at Penelope Traditional stone house as one of five people for a week. We arrived after midnight and were welcomed by owner who gave us a bottle of water and 4 pieces of fruit. it would have been nice to have had a basic food pack given the lateness of our arrival. We couldn't find any cutlery, and eventually located it in a warped shut drawer in the table. By sliding my arm in from behind I managed to get a few items out. We were instructed to ask the maid if we required anything, but she didn't speak any English, so we couldn't communicate what we wanted. Our toilet paper bin was emptied once during the week- We had to see to it the rest of the time. Not very acceptable when 5 of us were using it!! The rubbish was disposed of once during the week. There was no washing machine, or Iron as stated. The property was grubby, I had to clean the base of my reading lamp which was black with dust and grime, and had to dust shelves before use. Taps were wonky and the toilet seat was broken, fittings tired and generally needed some TLC. The up side is the lovely attractive building with it's original features, and it's location/views. The pool was also good. For £1.000 for the week, I don't think it is value for the money.

Date of stay: September 2018
1  Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018

We were looking forward to our time in Crete, especially from the photos of the traditional home we had booked in Mavriakiano, Elounda where old school architecture was promised to be combined with modern amenities, a private pool, aircon throughout, wifi.

Our first warning bell was when our wonderful Greek driver could not locate the place and despite calling the operator multiple times noone answered. Half an hour later at 10pm, a man by the name of Vangelis picked up the ph and offered to come and meet us where we were at Elounda to show us the way. He said a 5 minute drive. Instead he took us up a mountain about 10-15kms away in the middle of nowhere and said we had arrived.

We knew immediately this was not the place we had paid for and despite asking many questions about our booked accommodation, he refused to answer. Vangelis pressured us to stay in this isolated area citing it was a luxury villa compared to what we booked. When I refused, he called us morons in Greek. Thankfully our driver stayed with us and we asked he take us to our booked place otherwise we would have been stranded. After Vangelis spent ages on the phone he told us to follow him again. He took us to an absolute dump in Mavriakiano but as it was 11.30pm with 3 starving tired kids and conscious of our poor driver we stayed for the night.

We had no working aircon and the place was hot as an oven. There was no pool to cool down in, the beds had springs sticking out, water barely ran out of taps, the wifi did not work and the shower was essentially a hose at the bottom of the wall in bathroom. There was not even toilet paper left there for us.

The next morning Vangelis came back and we asked he take us to our booked accommodation. After arguing with us for some time he took us to a place 10 metres away which people had just left. It had a pool but only accommodated 3 people in beds and we were a family of 5. He suggested the adults stay in another house!

We wasted an entire day and night in Crete trying to find an alternative place to stay and ended up spending significant money on extra transport arrangements. Thankfully we ended up at Poppy Villas who were so welcoming and offered a wonderful place for us.

It is clear this man Vangelis is a dishonest con-man who uses this trick regularly and I wish I had seen some of the reviews earlier.

There was absolutely no redeeming features to this property and unless you feel like ruining your holiday, I cannot impress enough upon people not to stay here.

Room tip: My best tip is to not stay here at all.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank helencG8861JA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perakise, Manager at The Traditional Homes and Villas of Crete, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Madam,
I refer to your comments as above regarding your one night stay ONLY at the most well known from the point of Architectural Value traditional home of ARGIRO taught in the Athens University being one of the best in Greece , and as these comments are biased , untrue, and highly defamatory , I would like to present below the true picture of your reservation as follows :

Your reservation concerned a Home of 5 adults in Mavrikiano-Elounda. Regretfully due to severe sweage problem this home was unavailable at time of your arrival . We directed you therefore for the first night only to the 5 star Villa ( ALMOND TREE-) with large garden and private swimming pool in the village of Vrouhas 7 klm away, which you refused even to see. . Finally the home of ARGIRO at Mavrikiano - Elounda was used for the arrival night only . This home and all others have tv, a/c, internet, fireplace, safe, parking, hairdrier . Thus you only make untrue statement and comments as you have not even asked for the Internet Code of the home. GREAT PITY.

Next morning and early having solved the problem we directed you to the home originally booked DIMITRA/EFTERPI with private swimming pool which you have refused to be accommodated in .

Least but not last Holidays are for Laugh, enjoyment , and pleasure , but as you are stuck on internet, you missed them all. You could have departed without even informing us of the reasons , and without writing this long essay , which represents sorrow and misery., and unhealthy feelings . Certainly it took you very long to write ??

You purposely ommited to mention that you and family have been offered a full dinner at time of late arrival and the taverna next door , for which you did not have the kindness to say THANK YOU

We are in business for people of Culture , who love History, and adore the old homes and like to live the way Cretans do . . You do not represent these people at all ..

Vaggelis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018

We stayed in the Monestary last June with our daughter and her 3 friends. We loved it so much we came back in October (just the two of us) and stayed at another Traditional Homes of Crete Property - Argyros House. These are typical traditional properties, both the houses we have stayed in are amazing architecturally with exposed stonework and cretan furnishings. If you like boring perfection in places where you could be anywhere in Europe then these properties are not for you. If however, like us, you like to really feel you are in Crete then The Traditional Homes of Crete are perfect. We're going back on August 1st with our daughter to stay in Erato where we will have exclusive use of the pool, and then in September we are back to Argyros House where the sea view is out of this world.

Room tip: Argyros House has the best sea view we've ever experienced in a holiday home
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarnie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018

about villa Margarita - really astonishing. It was full of stories you could feel from figures like the legendary director Nikos Kundouros, American ambassadors and Scandinavian royalty. The decoration too. We are not talking about mass produced retro-looking objects but real antiques simply lying around the house or serving their useful everyday purpose. It has a huge veranda with the most amazing sea view. We spent most of our time there. You can simply tell this house has been designed by people who know the good life. There is a second fully equiped kitchen (as well as BBQ) in the veranda so you can have your breakfast, dinner or party without missing out on the view and company. The owner, Mrs Argiro was very kind, relaxed and helpful.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theoharis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

We were really looking forward to staying here as we had seen the properties from afar when staying in Elounda previously. We were disappointed though and whilst I don't like to give a bad review I think it's important that other travellers know what it's like. If this had been our first time in elounda we would not return.
It wasn't cheap either.

Good points-
A.
near to the Hope meze restaurant and BeeRaki a new bar specialising in craft beers
B. Near to lovely Elounda and Plaka
C. Clean towels and sheets almost daily
D. Bins emptied almost daily
E. Houses have been beautiful and could be again
F. Aircon was good but only in one room.
G. Owner very nice

Bad bits-
A. Not suitable if you are in anyway unfit or unsteady on feet. It's got a very steep (rough) access and is about a 20 min walk from village (uphill in heat not easy). You can get a taxi for 5€. It may already say this on website.
B. Plumbing needs a serious overhaul. No water at all in bathroom sink, so we had to brush teeth in bath. Very little water in "shower" . Can't be cos of water pressure as it was fine in kitchen.
C. Fittings need replacing. Very dirty, mouldy etc. Bathroom very unpleasant.whole house very very dusty (although you would expect this with stone walls to a degree)
D. Kitchen very dirty you will not want to cook here. Stained mugs, dirty fridges etc.
E. Terrible smell from kitchen sink. You could hear waste going down pipe under sink when someone flushed toilet in other apartments. We had to block up plughole.
F. View outside could be very pretty except for partly constructed house in front of the property.
G. WiFi didn't work.
H. Broken, shabby outside furniture.

I've added photos for information. This property could be amazing again if the plumbing was sorted, new bath/shower etc and the place was given a thorough clean. It doesn't look as though there has been any investment in the place since it opened.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aka M, General Manager at The Traditional Homes and Villas of Crete, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Laura ,
we have read with great interest your comments concerning your stay with us . We are amazed with the problems you have encountered , as you have not been kind enough to let us know of all these during your stay . We are always here, and ready to solve guests problems irrespective where they come from . We value the comments of our guests , and solve them all instantly and on the spot . But then you prefered to express your disapointment only when you have returned back home . Great pitty Mrs Laura , it would have been easier to solve all the problems during your stay and to your advantage for a better holidays as these nowdays are expensive and rare.
yours sincerely
Vaggelis / mgr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews