We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$40
View deal
Booking.com
US$40
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
getaroom.com
US$35
View deal
Hotels.comUS$40
PricelineUS$37
travelup.comUS$58
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (707)
Filter reviews
707 results
Traveller rating
199
292
132
47
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
199
292
132
47
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews floor restaurant taxi station booked this hotel lovely hotel nice breakfast on foot min walk sea view crete port rooftop
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 707 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2019

The room was clean, but very small. This hotel is located right across the street from a taxi queue, so that is convenient, but it is not within walking distance to many attractions like I hoped. Heraklion is very busy and bustling - after just two full days, we were bored - so consider that prior to visiting this area! The best part of our stay was meeting Patroklos ant the upstairs bar/restaurant. He provided incredible service, and always made us laugh. He made us feel welcome and cared for our entire stay. I would not return to the hotel as a guest and stay here again, but I would return just to visit Patroklos upstairs!

Room tip: Balcony was small and nearly inaccessible; extremely loud at night in this part of the city
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 434lport
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas_Fotakis, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Castello City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2019

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your nice words about our personnel. We are always attentive in the needs of our guests. We have the responsibility to keep our guests happy because we respect the fact that they honored us with their choice.
Greetings from Crete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2019

Stayed here for 2 nights when we arrived in Crete before heading to beach resort. Staff were so lovely on reception and at breakfast. Breakfast was great, scrambled eggs with sausage especially delicious..keeping us Brits happy! And hands down best cappuccino from a hotel machine I've ever tasted! Had 3 one morning!
Beds comfy and fabulous shower in super clean bathroom. Good location too..walking distance to main part of town (which is beautiful) and sights, port etc. Would definitely stay again. ))

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Polly673k
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas_Fotakis, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Castello City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2019

Dear Guests,
on behalf of the Castello City staff, please allow us to express our gratitude for this nice and empowering review. It is true that our goal and our pride is to have our guests satisfied. We will always search ways to improve our services and offer a nice experience to our guests.
Thank you for your stay.
Greetings from Crete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2019 via mobile

Good location, nice staff, clean and quiet hotel. A so small elevator like the others hotels everywhere in Greece but a very good experience. I’d note like phisician I am that you can not switch fresh fruit by dry fruit at breakfast, it’s not the same nutritional value!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank osocaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas_Fotakis, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Castello City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2019

Dear Guest,
We appreciate and respect your review, the breakfast consists of 10 different hot choices and more than 20 cold. Served in a very rich buffet, there are options for everyone in a mixture of Cretan and International Cuisine.
In our buffet, there are both fresh and dried fruit.
Thank you for your stay,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2019

Small room but clean and has most things you need. Fixtures recently updated. Not on the heavily touristed areas. Stay nice and helpful and breakfast buffet on in the view restaurant on floor 5 was 4stars. Not expensive and would recommend.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Cancelon.com
2  Thank Sheldon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas_Fotakis, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Castello City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2019

Dear Mr Sheldon,
we appreciate your nice words about the room and the restaurant. The breakfast consists of 10 different hot choices and more than 20 cold. Served in a very rich buffet, there are options for everyone in a mixture of Cretan and International Cuisine.
Thank you for your stay,
Greetings from Crete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2019 via mobile

Love this wonderful hotel, with its excellent location. It is about 5 minutes to the port, Old Town, as well as the beach.
We can see sunrise and sunset from the 5th storey restaurant. The food being served here is great for dinner.

Highly recommend you to stay at this hotel for your visit to Heraklion , Crete.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank olevia_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas_Fotakis, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Castello City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2019

Dear Mrs Olevia,
thank you for your review. Our hotel is conveniently located near the center and the access is really easy. Heraklion center is a difficult place to drive. Unlike most hotels in the center, we offer also free parking.
Greetings from Crete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews