We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
52
87
35
24
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
87
35
24
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbus stationold townbalcony overlookingexcellent stayair conditioningcreteseaharbour
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 203 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2015

Staying in Jo-An Palace Hotel was the best experience among a lot of hotels. Starting with a good location in town, warm atmosphere, professional staff in all hotel- room- service- rooms are really clean, kitchen- food is varied and tasty; restaurant- roomy with a good service; reception- really professional and helpful, not only in these things what are connected with hotel. They are giving good advices what places is good to see in the town and what to see around Rethymno and for sure hotel management- the best in Rethymno. Good point is, that they are speaking a lot of different languages.
We would recommend Jo-An Palace for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kittykas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2014

We spent 2 weeks at the end of September in the Jo-An palace in the heart of Rethymnon. Excellent location, the old town and beach are within easy walking distance and the many other attractions of Crete are easily reached by nearby bus station. We received a fantastic welcome and an excellent standard of service throughout our stay. The food was varied, plentiful and of good quality. Our room was kept spotlessly clean by the hard working staff. We will definitely be returning and we would recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: request a room on the upper floor
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mdaly82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for ten days at the end of august. The reception and dining staff were excellent. However it's not a 4 star hotel, more like a 3 star. Ask for a room facing the street.Hotel is close to the old town. And Rethymnon is a lively and interesting city. The food was average and sometimes poor. Next time we would do b&b not half board. We rented a car for a couple of days and explored West side of crete. Saw many beautiful sights. Get out there and explore. Once out of the town the roads are fairly good and not that busy.The air conditioning was good and the room was clean, although the bathroom was very small. There is a small pool on the roof. Most of the guests were Russian or East European who loved the fruit!!!!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have just returned from a week at Jo An Palace. It is conveniently located and the staff are very pleasant and helpful. We had a spacious room with a balcony which caught the sun in the afternoon. But that is where the compliments stop. The food though varied was of a very poor standard. The washbasin in our ensuite was GLUED to the wall but the glue had long since dried and the basin was just balancing on the pedestal. The automatic plug didn't work so water was continually draining away. At some point there must have been a flood because the flooring outside the ensuite was swollen and lifting up. The springs in the mattress were poking through and the pillows beneath the pillow cases were dirty.On the fifth floor there is a swimming pool but the lift stops at the fourth floor and an open tread staircase leads to the fifth floor. There is no bannister or hand rails. Another guest said she had gone up and come down on all fours for safety. Although the hotel boasted a bar, it was never manned.The acid test is would we stay there again and the is "NO".

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Geraldine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stayed here at the beginning of May. If you choose to stay here, please go with the idea that it is a budget hotel and you wont be disappointed. It is definately 3 star not 4. The rooms are very basic-we only use them as somewhere to wash and sleep (we spend a lot of time out and about) so it didn't bother us that much. Food is poor-there is a reasonable choice but we thought it poor quality and it was at best luke-warm. However, on the plus side, the staff were friendly and the location is very good for accessing the old town. You will only need to walk 5 mins down to the arch-way and you are there-it is a far cry from the busy street where the hotel is situated so dont let the road put you off. The old town of Rethymnon is lovely-cobbled little streets. loads of shops and restaurants/bars to suit everyone. Nice atmosphere in the evening. All in all, we didnt pay a fortune for the hotel-we slept there, ate a little bit there and had the rest of our meals out. Still a pleasant holiday for the price.

Room Tip: Rooms on front of hotel can be noisy but double glazing is good and it is much quieter at night so sleeping wasn't a problem
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews