We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and helpful staff!”
Review of Klados Travel

Klados Travel
Ranked #10 of 44 Tours in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Klados Travel is a family company. It was founded in 1985 and is the oldest, the most experienced tourist agency in our town. Our office is open throughout the all year and our main activity is to organize excursions in Crete, as well as in the whole country. We visit the famous archaeological sites, old and traditional villages, our charming cities, imposing gorges, fantastic beaches and many, many other interesting and beautiful places. Since decades of years our excursions are the best way to explore and to get to know our unique island, its history, archaeology, mythology, religion, tradition and its incomparable natural beauties better and to spend pleasant and truly unforgettable holidays. It goes without saying, that all our buses are air conditioned, our passengers full insured and accompanied by our experienced guides. For thousands and thousands of our contended clients we are the first choice, the real and the only No. 1 in the town. We wish you wonderful holidays!! Your Klados Travel Team
A TripAdvisor Member
31
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

We had the chance to travel in Crete and have heard of Klados Travel when we arrived on the island; one of the best recommendation we had there. Klados Travel staff is really informed and will guide you through whatever the excursion you are planning to do.

Great service, great experience, great landscape to enjoy Crete!

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klados Travel T, Public Relations Manager at Klados Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Dear Ms/Mrs,

Thank you for visiting us by recommendation!! We appreciate your vote about us, our service, our organization. It makes us happy to know that you enjoyed landscapes of Crete on our tours!!

All the best wishes,

Klados Travel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"imbros gorge"
in 8 reviews
"photo safari"
in 5 reviews
"tour guide"
in 9 reviews
"bus driver"
in 3 reviews
"great trip"
in 6 reviews
"boat ride"
in 3 reviews
"local travel"
in 2 reviews
"booked trips"
in 2 reviews
"several languages"
in 4 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 3 reviews
"air conditioned and comfortable"
in 2 reviews
"professional company"
in 2 reviews
"several trips"
in 2 reviews
"hairpin bends"
in 2 reviews
"highly recommend this company"
in 3 reviews
"coach trip"
in 3 reviews
"dropped off"
in 3 reviews
Filter

14 - 18 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

***this is the first review I’ve ever written but with this experience I had to ***
My family went on the South Pearls excursions and had the worst experience. The company promised a boat ride to two beaches and a view of two others while passing by but when we got there they informed us the whole trip would be done by bus. When we booked the trip we paid for half and then they said to bring the other half of the money to pay for the boat the day off..which seemed very convenient considering we didn’t even get to go on a boat. VERY SKETCHY. This left us wondering if they previously knew we would not be taking a boat the day off but did not want to lose money so decided to continue with the trip. When we arrived to the first beach there was a 15-30 minute hike down to the beach when we were suppose to arrive there by boat with no walk. We were mainly disappointed because we have someone in our family with a torn ligament in their leg that could not complete the hike and had to stay by the bus the whole 2 and a half hours we were at the beach. We specifically booked a boat because of this!!!! To add on to this we were all wearing sandals and were not prepared at all for this hike. I even fell and bruised my knee..THANKS KLADOS! Also out of all the beaches we went to on Crete, the two beaches they took us two were the worst. They were both very rocky which made it hard to walk/swim and almost no one in our tour group swam. After our tour we went to the office to voice our frustrations and experienced the WORST customer service from the blonde lady. Never have I met a more rude and unprofessional individual. When we told her about our experience she didn’t seem to care and did absolutely nothing to help us, not even a simple apology. We were told the exact words “hope you have a nice life”. We told her we had rented a car so if the whole trip was going to be done by bus we would of liked to have had the option to go back to our resort and do it on our own time and her response to this was we could of taken a taxi for $250 at OUR OWN expense. If this is how you treat your customers then good luck! Needless to say we will never be using this company again.

Can’t wait to see the ignorant response from this company so everyone can see their lack of sympathy and unwillingness to help their customers.
(Look below to see rude responses from this company to unhappy customers)

2  Thank 147kaitlynf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klados Travel T, Public Relations Manager at Klados Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Dear Pete Flores,

We would like to use the opportunity that you gave us to answer overtly to you.

We have to agree with you that you entered our office asking for a sailing trip. Accordingly, our colleague offered to you and to your husband (the only two persons from your family that we have ever seen until the day of the trip) a SAILING CRUISE with the option to make a half day or a full day cruise BUT that was too expensive for you. As you asked for more economic tours we mentioned that all other tours that Klados Travel is organizing include bus and then boat. Our colleague gave to you many options from the category BUS & BOAT with a different level of sailing risk. Some of them as a cruise to Spinalonga are nearly without risk of boat cancellation (sailing is inside the bay) while some tours that include a boat trip in the open sea, logically, are with high sailing risk always (Crete is an island between three seas and with mountains over 2.000 m) and about this you were WARNED while our colleague was presenting to you tours on the map of Crete. We kindly ask you to read the COMMENTS BELOW ABOUT THE SPECIFIC TOUR SOUTH PEARLS - how many times our colleagues had to warn people about sailing risk for this trip.

Moreover, we want to point out that the trip South Pearls DOES NOT HAVE as goal to bring you to the most beautiful beaches, BUT to the three totally different bays in the south coast of Crete (a place where a river goes into the sea and there is a jungle around the river, a bay with a sandy dune and the famous long bay with 3 ROCKS). There was an option to go to the two of the three the most beautiful sandy beaches on Crete in combination bus and boat but for you it was too far away to travel (beaches are on the west coast, 1 hour 40 minutes driving and then a boat trip). As the only one option that you liked was South Pearls, after you spoke with the other members of your family, and even though you came back to book the South Pearls trip, our colleague ONE MORE time pointed out that she believed that the best option for you would be the trip to Spinalonga because only this trip is something like a cruise and not a transfer from beach to beach (additionally, we have never had cancellation of this boat in the last 5 years due to the weather), BUT as you insisted we booked South Pearls.

Considering payment, you were very well met with the payment policy: 20 EUR is the transfer until Damnoni bay and guiding all day and 18 EUR is the boat ticket that you pay on the place AND we explained why but let us repeat again: because the boat does not belong to us and the boat company wants to have the payment immediately and we as a company have to respect the rule of our business partner and not to create our own rules for other business entity.

Something that makes us sad is that after all the effort made by our colleague you DID NOT understand the trip that you booked.......The trip South Pearls includes swimming on 2 beaches which are Preveli and Triopetra and one photo stop from the boat in front of the beach Agios Pavlos. These beaches we should visit by boat by the program. Unfortunately, nor in life nor in business everything is always as we want and sometimes there are issues that we have to deal with on the best way. As the weather condition did not allow the boat to start sailing and the last report (every 3 hours there is a new report) by port police forbid sailing, our guide returned the money back for the boat tickets. As the majority of our clients DID NOT HAVE ANY PROBLEM to visit the mentioned beaches by bus, our company ON OUR OWN COST made this tour by bus what means that Klados Travel made DOUBLE MORE COSTS for this route (petrol, working hours of the driver, risks on the road). Dear Mrs Flores, not that we did not want to lose money, actually we LOST MONEY in order to realize the visits and swimming on the mentioned beaches just IN ORDER TO MAKE THE BEST FOR OUR CLIENTS and to make our clients satisfied because anyway in Rethymno that day was a red flag and swimming was forbidden. We have to admit that some of those beaches are not so easy to reach as Preveli, but saying that you cannot walk downhill in sandals is nothing more than just exaggerating. Moreover, four members of your family visited Preveli on foot without any complains while ONLY YOU AND YOU HUSBAND stayed above the beach from the whole group. Our second stop by bus was the beach Triopetra (second swimming by plan). If you were just a little less angry you could hear the instructions from your guide that just 10 minutes walking from Trioptera is the beach Agios Pavlos that you can visit as well what by boat we do not do because it is not possible for the boat to anchor there (one photo possibility by plan, just this time not from the boat but from above the beach).

Our guide apologized many times during the day for staying without boat due to the weather and could not find enough words to ensure everybody that we really made our best to satisfy our clients in that situation. WE WANT TO SAY THANK TO ALL OUR GUESTS WHO UNDERSTOOD OUR EXTREME EFFORT AND WHO APPRECIATED IT. Believe us, please, it is not easy to work when in the group of 50 people we have at least one person who will FIND A PROBLEM ABOUT EVERY SOLUTION.

Furthermore, your visit to our office was not in order to voice your frustrations but to threaten our colleagues - that if you do not get your money back you will write your comment on TripAdvisor and you will cancel your card payment. For you apologize from our colleagues for traveling not by boat to the beaches in the office WAS NOT ENOUGH, as you said, and the ONLY POLITE WAY TO ANSWER TO YOU WAS FULL REFUND AND NOT SAYING SORRY - your words. As it was explained to you personally all here above mentioned (what was too difficult having in mind lack of speaking manners from your side, absence of dialog) our colleagues advised you to do what ever is your wish and what makes you happy. PLEASE DO NOT TAKE WORDS OUT FROM THE CONTEXT. We have to mention that there is always an option to cancel your trip from what ever place you are if you do not want to continue BUT asking from us to bring you and your family by bus back to Rethymno while all the other guests enjoy their trip is simply - SILLY. As the guide gave you an option and the same option you got in the office, to return by taxi and yes - on your own cost because it is not a mistake of our company - READ PLEASE BELOW what our company does in case of our mistake. READ PLEASE BELOW EVERY COMMENT BUT NOT ONLY THOSE CONVENIENT TO YOU.

We are sorry that we could not realize the trip on the way that is planned by program. We really made our best immediately, without wasting the time of the day. We do not have influence on the weather conditions. In case of boat cancellations, as it is written on your ticket, Klados Travel does not have any responsibility. We DID NOT USE our right to charge accordingly transfer costs (additional kilometres and hours).

We really wish you all the best in the future. As a company we do share positive vibes and we find this very important. Moreover, we do not let anybody destroy the positive atmosphere nor in our offices nor in our buses. Our company must always protect other individuals from the negative vibes of some individuals.

Mrs Flores, as we understood you had so great experiences in your past with other companies worldwide. We are happy for you. BUT why have you never opened a TripAdvisor profile to say ***THANK YOU*** to any of those companies or AT LEAST to recommend to other people or simply TO SHARE A POSITIVE experience...?? Or you are just focused on voicing frustrations........

P.S. We do not understand who is hiding behind the nickname 147kaitlynf.....we/our colleagues had spoken only with Mrs Pete Flores and her husband.

Klados Travel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We booked a trip and after 1 hour for personal reasons i called the Head Office to inform them i wished to cancel it at this moment in order for them to reallocate the tickets with plenty of notice. They were aware of the cancellation.
The lady advised me to go into the office to speak to the lady i booked it with for a refund. She did not say i had to do it that evening but she said the women would be there.
I went early the day after booking the trip and the women said a refund was fine and she needed original receipt. I made a return trip to my room and got the receipt.
She then spoke to somebody in another office who said no refund!!!!
After all this mis information the lady at no point said i couldnt have a refund.
To make matters worse they phoned the room on the day of the trip at 0730am when it had been cancelled.
3 times i cancelled !!! No refund!!!
Mis information!!!
I was in tears in the office but they did not want to know and did not care.
The policy was 24 hrs notice..i let them know after 1 hour.
The problem was not resolved.
I have dealt with many many companies being in the Travel Business myself and NEVER had such poor customer service or lack of emphathy.

5  Thank nikki00179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klados Travel T, Public Relations Manager at Klados Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Dear Nikki,

We would like to use the opportunity to present the whole story.

You booked your trip 2 days in advance. The same day in the evening, you phoned to our company that you want to cancel the trip. Our sales representative over the phone said that it is fine BUT you must go as soon as possible PERSONALLY to the official office (over the phone nobody knows who you really are) where you booked your trip until 9 pm, LATEST 9.30 pm (working hours of the office) that day that you phoned us so we can respect CANCELLATION POLICY - 24 hours before departure cancellation is possible and client will receive 50% of the total value. With this rule you were met over the phone. Moreover, our colleague over the phone confirmed that we will make a small exception and that you will have FULL REFUND just because you immediately cancelled a few hours after you booked your trip. BUT you DID NOT APPEAR AT ALL that evening until the end of our working hours. You APPEARED THE NEXT DAY in the office - the day before the trip that you booked WITHOUT any proof who you are and WITHOUT the voucher of the trip. Just to remind you - in the office was another sales representative and not the one who booked for you the trip. That is why our colleague asked you to come again with the voucher to prove who you are and that it is your voucher. Our colleague in the office DID NOT say that she will cancel your trip and to refund you, she just confirmed that she has you in our base, but that she needs voucher as well. As a serious company who cares about every detail to be respected, our sales representative must double check your case over the phone with the central office (that is why she phoned in order to check how is possible to break the rule of cancellation police down?!?) and that is how something new appeared - you mention 2 different reasons of cancellation, one over the phone when you called to cancel and totally different to our sales representative personally and more IMPORTANT - you did not respect CANCELLATION POLICY about which you were informed and ASKED to respect. That we do not find correct from your side. You have all right not to like the truth, but please, if you wish to share anything publicly, make it as it is, write the TRUTH and say the TRUTH and respect what was AGREED. As you did not respect our recommendations and you simply did not appear until the agreed time without even phoning to us that you will not come (that is your right of course), we kept our right, especially when you personally presented ANOTHER reason in the office than over the phone, to deal with this issue ACCORDING TO THE CANCELLATION POLICY OF THE COMPANY and to be fair to all other clients that were in the same situation as you.

We have to point out that our sales representative informed you that you lost the right on the refund appearing in a period that is shorter than 24 hours before the departure BUT you DID NOT LOSE the right on trip that you paid. Your seats were booked and by the policy of the company stayed reserved for you. This is a reason why our bus MUST STOP at your hotel for you on the day of the trip (maybe you changed your mind, as you change reasons). In any case that the client is not on the pick up place our guides, by the company's policy, have to phone that we are on the pick up place. WHY? Because maybe some clients are not on the correct place and we try to locate them so they can take place to their trip while many other companies just check if client is not on the place where is the bus and simply continue driving. IN YOUR CASE - maybe you changed your mind and spontaneously decided to join us what you have the full right to do because your seats are paid by you and will wait for you. If we were not on the pick up place, then you will have FULLY right to demand FULLY REFUND.

To conclude - we have respected the company's policy and the company's policy exits to protect both sides on the best way - and client's right and the right of the company, especially in those uncomfortable situations. We are making our best to handle with issues on the best and the most fair way for both sides. Moreover, we try to do it as grown up people and in case if someone tries to MAKE A SCENE in order to achieve its own goal on very rude way (screaming, speaking over us, crying, threatening, holding a monologues, humiliating and assigning a specific names, etc., yeah...., some people simply forgot behavior at home and truly believes that for their money can make what ever they want) we are FORCED to reacted as we are advised by responsible authorities for the tourist issue.

Klados Travel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Yianna at the main booking office in Rethimnon was extremely helpful and knowledgeable regarding the many excursions available on the beautiful and varied island of Crete. I booked the trip to Chania and the Cretan villages. This was hosted by Barbara, who spoke several languages and made everybody feel welcome from the get go. The trip itself, was well organised, informative and interesting with plenty of free time to explore this fascinating, historical and former capital city. The Venetian port is a particular draw and there are some great fish restaurants around the main harbour to enjoy lunch. If you fancy getting out of the main resort of Rethimnon and experiencing some of the delights of this fabulous island, then visit the Klados team at one of their offices. They work hard to make sure your Holiday in Crete is enjoyable and memorable.

Thank alan389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klados Travel T, Public Relations Manager at Klados Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Dear Alan,

Thank you for such a great recommendation!! There is no better reward for our team, which is the recognition of our efforts to meet clients need while visiting Crete for the holiday. We are delighted to read all the compliments about our colleagues Yianna and Barbara!!

We really hope to get the opportunity to welcome you again!!

All the best wishes from Rethymno!

Klados Travel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Knossos is a unique historic city. Nectaris is the top guide. A very good guide, gave us very valuable historical information.
The Archaeological Museum of Heraklion has a very rich collection.
Heraclio is also a nice city.
The group was very precise and serious, and we did exactly the schedule.
Thanks for the good organization.

Thank Vlado82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klados Travel T, Public Relations Manager at Klados Travel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Dear Vlado,

Thank you for choosing our company to explore the great Minoan history. Tour in the ruins of Knossos and in the Archaeological Museum would not be so amazing nor informative without professional guide - archaeologist - Mr Nectarios.

We are happy that you appreciate our organization, moreover, that you understand how important is when everybody in the group is very precise and serious so trip can be realized as presented while booking.

All the best wishes,

Klados Travel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Klados Travel also viewed

Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Klados Travel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing