We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Met Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Le Palace Art Hotel(Thessaloniki)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Caravan(Thessaloniki)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$187
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Colors Urban Hotel(Thessaloniki)
US$101
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Tourist Hotel(Thessaloniki)
US$72
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$92/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$65
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$74
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$95/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Bristol Hotel(Thessaloniki)
US$124
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Excelsior(Thessaloniki)
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,591)
Filter reviews
1,592 results
Traveller rating
1,162
362
46
18
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,162
362
46
18
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevery hoursky bardesign hotelshuttle busrooftop poolfree shuttle servicecity centregreat designminimal designbest hotel in townexcellent hotelthe hotel offersamazing breakfastbusiness trippublic areasbusiness hotelbreakfast buffet
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,592 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

Visit once again, perfect location to visit either when visiting the city by car or by airplane(they have a shuttle bus to city center). 24/7 room service is a must for any business visitor. Very nice breakfast, especially the brunch on Saturdays.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
Thank Nikos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KARL-CHEHAB, Γενικός Διευθυντής at The Met Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing The Met Hotel for your stay.

We are truly glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon at The Met Hotel.

Kind regards,

Karl A. Chehab

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

Excellent service, polite and smily personel, especially Christos the trainee waiter and Georgia at the reception. Unique decoration, very clean rooms, comfortable beds. To stay in this hotel is not cheap but it worrhs every euro you spend.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank geokass2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KARL-CHEHAB, Γενικός Διευθυντής at The Met Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for staying at “The Met Hotel” and for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay.

We are delighted to read that the service from our staff met your expectations. We will surely thank Christos and Georgia for their efforts.

Thank you once again for choosing The Met Hotel for your stay. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Karl A. Chehab


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

A high level hotel with modern design and facilities responding to all our requests. Very friendly and helping staff. We enjoyed our four nights stay and highly reccomend it when visiting Thessaloniki.

Stayed: April 2018
1  Thank Emanuel_Blum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KARL-CHEHAB, Γενικός Διευθυντής at The Met Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review about your stay at The Met Hotel.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our facilities and service from our staff.

Thank you once again for choosing The Met Hotel, we are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Karl A. Chehab

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

General:
I stayed here for 4 nights as part of a group. This is a modern design hotel with sleek décor and artwork instillations throughout the hotel. There is an extremely spacious foyer and lounge area, as well as a bar/restaurant – service was slow but perhaps because we were in a large group and often ordering in groups. Our rooms were not ready for check-in so we literally took over one of the lounge areas to wait with our luggage. Free wifi throughout. The lounge area extends outside where there are outdoor tables on a deck. In the sunshine it is quite pleasant except that all the smokers congregated outside so it wasn’t pleasant for me. There is a day spa and fitness centre with a small pool on the lower level – I was very impressed with the fitness centre as it was very well set up (cardio machines, free weights, machine weights, stability balls, bosu, mats … plus water cooler and fresh towels). If you want to use the gym before/after the opening hours, you have to sign a safety waiver at reception and a staff member will unlock the gym for you. There are two sets of lifts so you can access rooms at the front or the rear of the property.

The breakfast buffet was simply sumptuous! It was SO good that I consistently ate FAR too much than was good for me each morning. A vast array of breads (including slices, rolls, toast) and sweet pastries, fresh fruit, various local sweets (eg. halva, Turkish delight), assorted juices and smoothies, rice pudding, cold meats and cheese, salad items, make-your-own muesli combinations, cereals, eggs multiple ways (hard boiled, scrambled, personalized omelette), hot savoury pastries, bacon, sausages etc.

The main downside is the location. The hotel is near derelict abandoned train yards and empty lots and a large port area that is gritty and industrial. The walk down the road to/from the hotel to downtown Thessaloniki is along a sidewalk that has broken and uneven concrete and tree roots and many obstacles, which is not practical for those with limited mobility or wanting to take a run to the waterfront. The neighbourhood “vibe” is very industrial – there are no other tourist hotels or restaurants or shops in this stretch. There is a tiny “mini mart” where you can buy gum, drinks and limited snacks, but that’s it. Even the walk to the outlet mall is very uninspiring along the abandoned or industrial buildings. There is a free hourly shuttle (first come, first served) to Aristotle Square. To walk there, it’s about 15-20 mins (depending on your walking pace), so you feel quite distant from all the activity. It’s a pity because the waterfront walk that stretches with lots of restaurants and other activities is a hive of activity – but you are not part of the waterfront or downtown activity near Aristotle Square.

Room:
For such a large hotel, I thought the room size was on the small side. We travelled with lots of luggage as part of the group, and there were not many spaces to put the suitcases. I had to balance one suitcase on one of the chairs in the room to make space. The desk area was cluttered with so much “stuff” that there wasn’t much space for actual desk space! Wine glasses, drinking glasses, large menus and magazines… I had to squish them all to one side so that there was some desk space to actually use without knocking into anything. There didn’t appear to be a useful hotel directory (a lot of these paper menus and advertisements and glossy magazines could have been hidden in a drawer to save desk space, except that there were no drawers on the desktop). There is a free mobile phone for use while you are a guest – this is great for Google maps and 3G download when you are out and about. The climate control was reasonable and there was the usual in-room safe, wardrobe with hangers. There was NO kettle. The mini bar fridge was stocked with items – no space for personal storage. There were multiple charging points.

Bathroom:
I can see how the “look” might be appealing but the bathroom was NOT very practical at all for a twin room. It was lucky that I was sharing with my sister (and not someone else that was part of our group), but the layout had several issues. It is like a fish bowl – see-through glass on two perpendicular sides. One of the sides facing the beds has a wooden sliding door so that you can pretend there is privacy. But the other glass area (with an opening door to the bathroom area) still has visibility into the bathroom if the other guest in the room wanders past the bathroom. There is also a mirror on the room wall, so that if I am sitting on the bed, I can look into the mirror and see the person who is supposed to be “private” in the bathroom reflected in the mirror – the wooden sliding door only protects one of the glass walls, not both! Because it was my sister, it wasn’t too bad, but we would have to remember to sit on one part of the bed that didn’t have an angle with the mirror that gives you a visual of whoever was in the bathroom – completely impractical if there are non-relatives sharing the room. Also, the glass opening door is not practical – firstly, if it is closed, it is easy to walk into it and bump your head (happened multiple times). Secondly, when it is open, you can enter the bathroom sink area and shower, but you have to close the door to get to the toilet which is behind it! We were constantly swinging the glass door open and closed, and it was quite heavy. The toilet is a very large space, which seems a waste of space. The shower (large rainwater shower head) itself was also very large with plenty of storage shelves for toiletries and dry towels which was a great feature. There were the usual amenities, including a sewing kit that came in handy when I developed a hole in my pants that needed repairing. I was pleased that they actually followed an environmental policy as we had our towels hanging on the rails and they were only replaced after 3 days (instead of daily).

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TashfromMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KARL-CHEHAB, Γενικός Διευθυντής at The Met Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a detailed review after your stay at The Met Hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us as it helps us to improve the quality level of our service and we appreciate every constructive feedback of yours. Regarding your comments, please allow us to inform you that check out at The Met Hotel is at 12:00 and check in is at 14:00, although your group arrived at the hotel at 10:00am, we have managed to check in all the rooms earlier and the check in was fully completed until 12:00mm.

Thank you once again for choosing The Met Hotel for your stay.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Karl A. Chehab

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Very modern hotel, and nice decoration.
The rooms are comfortabe and the breakfast is delicious.
The free shuttle bus is very convinient conside the problematic traffic in Thessaloniki.
The staff are very friendly and professional.
Can't wate to come back!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Shirly_H_4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KARL-CHEHAB, Γενικός Διευθυντής at The Met Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

We really appreciate your comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you once again for choosing The Met Hotel.

We are looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Karl A. Chehab.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews