We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Althea Village
Nearby Hotels
Likinia Hotel(Monemvasia)
US$161
US$133
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Hydra Beach Resort(Thermisia)(Great Value!)
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$231/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$114
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$247
US$238
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$87
US$83
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$101/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Artina Nuovo(Marathopoli)
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$375
US$343
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Romanos Resort, Costa Navarino(Costa Navarino)
US$362
US$343
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$410/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
7
8
3
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
8
3
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Is making more reservations than it can serve. I booked through booking.com for 4 nights and the booking said that there where 3 rooms more left. I choosed this one because i had a friend who was intending to follow us and was about to book also tonight. Then i received an email from booking.com that i have no room because the hotel overbooked. My reservation was for easter vacation and i am not sure if i will find any other room close to my friends, because my friends booked in another one close to this one!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
Thank anacondas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 19 June 2016

Dear anacondas,

we are deeply sorry to hear that you've had this experience and we fully understand your frustration , but as you have been informed by "booking" themselves the problem was due to a problem of the site of "booking". We hope to have the chance to change your opinion in the future. Thank you for your time writing this review,

we remain at your disposal,
althea-village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Althea Village is how it looks in the hotel site, so what you see is what you get and i very much appreciate it when owners are sincere and do not try to deceive you with "photoshoped" photos.

So, the hotel is new, stone built in traditional style, some klms outside Areopolis in a slope overlooking Dyros bay. The view is really great and unobstructed as there are no other buildings around, the bay in front and fields with low plants around. So the landscape is really nice especially if you appreciate privacy.

The only thing with the location is that the hotel is near the main road leading from Areopolis to Dyros so in the night there is some noise from the passing cars. Overall is not that bad but somehow it spoils the privacy feeling.
When seating in the nice veranda of the appartment in the night i would certainly prefer not to hear the cars.

And here i would like to say sth about the review saying that in the night they felt insecure because nobody was in the reception. Of course i respect every reviewer opinion and after all thats exactly what we are doing here expressing our opinion and personal experience. I would just like to underline that Greece overall is a very safe destination and especially the area where Althea is situated is very safe, a family destination and holidays destination for many Greeks too.
So, there is absolutely no reason for feeling unsafe there, just because is not inside a settlement or village but more "in the nature". That for me is a bid advantage. and it is not remoted at all (remember i told you about the road?)

well, the appartments are new, nice, you can see the stone build structure in the interior too, with wooden and metal furniture.
there is as already told a nice veranda with great view to the bay (take an appart on the first floor) with a big umbrella allowing you to stay there even the hottest hours of the day. in the night if you sleep in the room in the mountain side there is a very nice and refreshing breeze coming from the mountains, my advice do not use the aircon open the window and feel the night breeze it is so nice.
the owner is very friendly and helpful giving you information about the area, the beaches, where to eat etc
the only thing (apart the partially annoying cars) is the breakfast which is served in the appartment and this is nice because it is more private and relaxed but it is really basic and the same thing everyday. that's ok if you stay there for a couple of days but after the third day you just have enough of the same bread, industrial jam, honey, butter everyday. No fresh fruits, not even canned fruits, no eggs whatsoever, no cereals, no yogourt, no ham.

oh and the other thing which i really hate, annoyning cleaning ladies, this one pointed out at me in a rather aggressive manner and watching her watch that "she must enter the room in order to clean and i should understand she has to do her job" gosh sure she doesnt understand that i m on vacation and i want to RELAX i dont care about her timetable (no "do not disturb" sign in the room)
i understand that there are practicalities in the hotels, it is a business to run but exactly for that reason cleaning ladies should be trained how to talk to people.

well dont get me wrong though, i had a nice time in Althea i appreciated a lot the location, the view, the quitness and if i go back to the region i think i would choose it again and if the onwer makes an effort in order to ameliorate the breakfast, althea would make the ideal place to stay and explore the area.

Room Tip: first floor rooms have the best view although all rooms have great view to the bay
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveljourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews