We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Piscine Art Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Paradise Hotel(Katsarou)(Great Value!)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eye Q Resort(Megali Ammos)(Great Value!)
US$46
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Esperides(Achladias)(Great Value!)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$226
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Magic Hotel(Agia Paraskevi)
US$146
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hermes Apartments(Kolios)(Great Value!)
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atrium Hotel(Agia Paraskevi)
US$143
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Skiathos Palace Hotel(Koukounaries)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (738)
Filter reviews
738 results
Traveller rating
570
101
45
14
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
570
101
45
14
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrazy cow restaurantpool areanext yearwelcome drinkskiathos townfantastic hotelwine cellarold portair connothing is too much troubleother gueststhird visitbeautiful islandreception staffcomfortable sunbedsbars and restaurantsfantastic holiday
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 738 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2017

This was our third visit over six years to this adult only bijou hotel. The hotel has a relaxed atmosphere, as soon as you arrive you are greeted by helpful staff. Leave luggage in the lobby, hand over passports then sit around the pool & have a drink on the house. You really know you are on holiday here. Reception staff sort the paperwork promptly, then the porter collects your luggage and escorts you to your room, no expectations of tips ( but we do it anyway). I would advise taking up the option to dine at their 'Mad Cow' restaurant using their three night package - very reasonably priced with a negligible increase over the years (59 euros per person covering the three evenings), for three course meal & complimentary liqueur at the end. The food is absolutely delicious true to the Greek culture with a gourmet twist, fresh, tasty & well portioned. Waiter service is impeccable. The restaurant is well known & used by tourists from other hotels & apartments.
The rooms & suites are clean & spacious, we have always had accommodation directly overlooking the pool. There are very few junior suites so book well in advance. The pool & modest grounds are well tended, some people feel the need to reserve sun beds with their towels but it really is not necessary. There is waiter service pool side. Light lunches are reasonably priced with good portions of freshly prepared food (loved the Greek salad). They have improved the toilets & installed showers by the pool so on departure day you can freshen up before your pick up. Staff across the whole complex are polite & obliging from the housekeeping staff to the owners who regularly eat & relax at the hotel. Two of the most outstanding staff are the twins (Thomas & Michael), both wait at table, one cooks (really lovely food) when the chef has time off whilst the other has an extensive wine knowledge & runs an informative wine tasting session every Wednesday at a very reasonable price, on site, according to my husband well worth the experience.
The establishment is quite, barely ten minutes from the airport, usually one of the very first drop offs & one of the last pick ups on the return journey. It is a short stroll to reach the outskirts of Skiathos town within five minutes of stepping out of the front lobby, between ten/ fifteen minutes to get down to the sea front. Local tavernas vary we found those a little off the beaten track, set down side streets or around the square & old town to be very reasonably priced serving delicious food & generous portions. You can travel on local buses to a range of beaches, we preferred to take the water taxi across to a quite island Tsougkrias (pronounced Sue-gree-ah) classed as a preservation area, it has only one taverna & basic toilets, but it is well worth a visit. Get an early ferry across you only pay one way (10 euros) don't leave it too late to return either.
We have recommended La Piscine Art to family & friends & will happily return there ourselves.

Room Tip: Junior suites get booked up very early on. Ask for rooms with balconies overlooking the pool, preferably the far end.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank mumpy2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Θωμάς Κ, General Manager at La Piscine Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear mumpy2017,
Thank you for visiting La Piscine Art Hotel for 3rd time. We are really happy to see returning guests. Thank you for mentioning our Crazy Cow Restaurant (nu1 restaurant in Skiathos acc. to TripAdvisor). We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Nice stay at La Piscine Arts Hotel.

Very nice staff - can't do enough for you and full of great advice re bus routes, car hire, best beaches etc. Very attentive through breakfast and serving around the pool.

Hotel itself is spotlessly clean, with maid service twice a day (and change of towels twice a day) and enormous beds. But the rooms lack (non hanging) storage and hooks in the bathroom. Toilet doesn't allow for paper, but fortunately the bins are regularly changed.

However the pool area itself feels a little claustrophobic, being enclosed on all 4 sides, and without an "outside view" (the hotel is maybe 10 minutes inland and unable to provide such a view, but it consequently feels very enclosed).

And whilst talking about the pool, unfortunately the predominantly (all?) UK guests have adopted the "sun bed reserving mentality" whereby 80% of the beds are reserved by 8am! However this is a great catalyst to go out and explore the fabulous beaches-whether immediately adjacent to Skiathos town, or whether you go further afield via the water taxis (only €5 or get the bus for €2) and the hotel provide beach towels on request.

Negative - dreadful Muzak played during breakfast. Whilst I like jazz, listening to the same tracks over and over isn't great. A peaceful breakfast would be such an improvement.

The Crazy Cow is badged an a la carte restaurant, but unfortunately doesn't live up to its billing. Menu was OK at best. A "blue cheese burger" was exactly that - a burger, without a bun, and served with chips. A la carte ??!!

They have an offer of €39 per person for 3, three course dinners. This sounds good, but don't bother - try one of the many great restaurants within 5/10 mins walk from the hotel.

We'd stay at La Piscine again, but they really need to step up regarding the Crazy Cow and the sun bed issue.

Stayed: September 2017
3  Thank StoneBalancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Θωμάς Κ, General Manager at La Piscine Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your positive review on Trip Advisor.

We were very glad to read that you had an overall pleasant experience while staying at our La Piscine Art Hotel!

A very special thank you for mentioning that all our staff members were very helpful and friendly and our cleaning services were so good. Regarding the music during the breakfast, we really try to fulfill all customers' requests that's why we differentiate it regurarly. Regarding the sun bed issue you mentioned, we would like to inform you that reserving the sunbeds isn't our hotel's policy and we do our best to avoid this kind of reservations. As for our Crazy Cow restaurant, be sure that your comments and suggestions will be taken seriously by the management of our hotel and we assure you that your next stay will be a pleasant experience for you.

Best regards,
Makis Koukoulakis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

This was our third visit here in 4 years. The hotel has improved many of the rooms (especially the bathrooms) since our last visit in 2014. We were B&B and it has to be said that the breakfast choice is excellent, with a wide variety of cakes, flans and pastries to complement the normal breakfast fayre.

However, there are a few things which let the place down this time. Firstly, irrespective of how many people are in the bar and what time they stay until, music appears to be played at the same volume as earlier in the evening. Now, this is fine at 11pm but it's not clever at 3am. On the day this happened, the few folk at the bar were (allegedly) either staff or locals. There are doors on each floor to close off the noise, but this seems to be the responsibility of the residents, not the staff.

The music around the pool during the day is either coma-inducing repetitive rubbish or (and sorry for this) plinky plonky Greek stuff (it seems only when the owner is present with her associates). Surely some variety would be helpful here? We did mention it but nothing changed.

My wife had an accident in the dining room, when she slipped on a piece of tomato, spilling hot coffee over herself and breaking the cup and saucer. Whilst we acknowledge that the staff may not have witnessed the incident, their response was to ensure the mess was tidied up rather than to enquire as to my wife's welfare. We later found out that the people on the nearest table to the incident had been asked 'are you ok?', but that was not something asked of my wife. The cause of the accident was pointed out to the staff but they didn't seem to do anything about it. All a bit poor really.

Finally, we must say that housekeeping has been absolutely fantastic throughout our stay. Thank you to the staff concerned.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the garden receive less noise from the bar in the evening.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank CheshireWoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Θωμάς Κ, General Manager at La Piscine Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing our La Piscine Art Hotel for 3rd time. We are really happy to see returning guests. I am really sorry for the accident that took place. Believe me it never came into consideration of any of our staff and if we had notice something will have take care of your wife. According to the bar during day the bar is open to all our guests. Most of them prefer to stay in the sun and our swimming pool area. Thank you for mentioning the renovations we have made the last years, the excellence of our breakfast and the fantastic housekeeping. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

This hotel was recommended to me and we weren't disappointed
Very well located close to the lovely town of Skiathos but far enough away to be relaxing
When we first arrived I thought the hotel would be too quiet for us but we soon got used to the 'spa' type music around the pool and felt totally chilled out
Loved the comfortable sun beds around the pool and we never had a problem getting one
Breakfast was amazing loads of choice and nicely presented
The staff all work very hard and nothing is too much trouble
We had one evening meal at the crazy cow and we sat outside by the pool which is all lit up by candles in the evening very romantic !!
No complaints about the food we got a free dessert which was amazing
We visited the windmill restaurant one evening which was fabulous with an amazing view of the port and airport and the food was excellent
Overall a very relaxing holiday at a fabulous hotel and we loved Skiathos town
We will be back

Room Tip: Pool view is advised
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank feather357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spyros L, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at La Piscine Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Feather,

Thank you for your valuable comments and we appreciate the time you spent to evaluate your overall stay in our Hotel.

We were very glad to read that you had an overall pleasant experience while staying at our La Piscine Art Hotel! Also, we are happy to read that our staff and the ambiance of the hotel met your expectations.
A very special thank you for mentioning that you enjoyed your meals in our Crazy Cow Restaurant.

We hope​ to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
With warm regards,

Spyros Lazarou
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

First visit to this hotel we will be back! We could not fault the hotel at all
All the staff were friendly and professional. Rooms cleaned and towels changed twice a day. The welcome drink on arrival was a great start to a lovely holiday

Room Tip: Ask for one on the back as music from the pool area at night can be noisy
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sall46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spyros L, Υπεύθυνος Ρεσεψιόν at La Piscine Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Sall,

Thank you very much for posting your five-star review on Trip Advisor!

Our daily goal is to reach the highest level of our customer's satisfaction.
We look forward to welcoming​ you again soon at La Piscine Art Hotel.

Kind regards,

Spyros Lazarou
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews