We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Skiathos Palace Hotel(Koukounaries)
US$610
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$226/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Anthena Studios(Skiathos Town)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Villa Kim(Skiathos)(Great Value!)
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aivaliotis House(Skiathos Town)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Aegean Suites(Skiathos Town)
US$402
US$390
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aelia Studios(Koukounaries)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Act Art(Skiathos Town)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Aiolos Guest House(Skiathos Town)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Agnantema(Skiathos Town)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alexandra's House(Skiathos Town)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
70
35
8
5
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
70
35
8
5
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool area was greatbuses runbeautiful islandbus stopmain towngreecesunbedsbeaches
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Upon airport arrival your baggage goes ahead in a truck, not on the coach and is delivered and awaits your arrival. You are dropped at the end of a lane, which is a 15 to 20 minute walk, therefore not good if you are elderly, unsteady on your feet or if it's raining. Some folk got taxi's with their luggage. However, this was not a problem for us. The staff were friendly and available if you needed them. George swiftly arranged a rental car with an agency for us and it was delivered within half an hour from Troulos.
The location has beautiful grounds and the apartments are spread out, not on top of each other.The apartments are spacious with a good bathroom and cleaned every day, linens changed twice weekly.We ate just once here as a minimal breakfast was 20 euros.
However to be left alone, to come and go in the peace and quiet with views of the hills all around, sounds of the cicadas, cockerels and Scops owls was quite magical.
And if you are a walker, this is the island for you and just go left out of the gate and you will find a short cut to the local beach. Marvellous. Two excellent Tavernas at the end of the lane, home cooked food at the Avli and Maistrali.

Room Tip: Apartments at the back have a bit of a walk up a slope or steps.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NancyChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016

The accommodation is in a lovely setting, a fair walk from the main road but that wasn't an issue for me. Beautiful landscaped gardens with the apartments set up a long driveway. Christina and Maria welcomed me, they were very friendly and helpful throughout the week.
As previously mentioned in another post I thought the charge for the air con was excessive, but the safe was free so swings and roundabouts. The irritating thing being that the air con was only in the kitchen/main area and not in the bedroom where it was needed! The lesson for me for the future being check the room before paying.
No kettle or toaster, the small portable cooker was rusting on the side and really needs replacing, it took forever to boil enough water for a cup of coffee and making toast was a pain. The fridge wasn't really fit for purpose, it had no handle to open it having been broken, the freezer compartment door was broken and unusable as it iced up and wouldn't close flush.
The wall sockets and switches were discoloured yellow as though there had been some overheating, and the plug for the hairdryer in the bathroom was the worst.
I happened to look at the toilet brush in the bathroom which was absolutely disgusting, I am not going to describe it no need, suffice to say it was stomach churning.

I have no idea why Thomsons saw fit to grade the Marialena as a 3 star plus, they clearly haven't bothered to check the rooms. The one I stayed in needs a complete make over.

It gives me no pleasure to raise the negatives but I feel a fair balanced and impartial review is only fair.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank KTGWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Read the reviews on here before we came and were a little apprehensive. when we arrived we we nicely suprised with the amazing setting and views. We were greeted by friendly staff who offered us a sample of the special meal for the evening. The pool area was great and very clean, my son totally loved it. Food served at the pool area was great too. The home cooking by the mother was amazing as were the sardines !!.

Was a great selection of friendly tavernas along the road to the beach all friendly and an amazing beach. Definatley reccommend and would definatley return. We all had a fantastic holiday.

Not sure why people have complained about here, maybe some expect the Hilton when you are in a traditional basic greek island. Most relaxing and great for young familys

Room Tip: Rooms higher up the hill were cooler as were shaded more in the afternoon so no need for air con.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Let me start by saying I've been coming to Skiathos for about five years and my partner on and off for the last twenty. We've stayed at various hotels and villas up and down the lane and have friends that live here in Skiathos. We know how the lane works, this entire area is built on repeat custom from loyal holiday makers and see the island and all its charms for what it truly is. With that in mind, I'm not surprised to see so many good reviews from holiday makers who've obviously spent many years worth of holidays here and now are made to feel welcome and part of the family, they will only see good and will never speak out about certain things, to avoid insult and embarrassment.

After speaking with friends and reading other reviews we were initially surprised when we got to the gates, the villas looked very pretty and picturesque with great views. The drive way and gardens were very well kept and clean unlike a lot of properties you see on the twenty minute walk from the drop off point. (As I said above, been here before and was aware of the walk).

We checked in at reception/bar with a somewhat friendly staff member, was given our room number and given a safe key. Nothing out of the ordinary until we were told that the air conditioning was €10 PER DAY! That would work out at £66 for the week, I was a little insulted and felt they were trying to exploit us as tourists. Obviously we declined and when we got up to the room the air conditioning unit was in the living area only, not in the bedroom which made little sense.

We were in room 12, right of the top of the hill. For what it takes to tackle the hill multiple times per day, it more that makes up for it with the views of the valley.

The room was huge with lots of storage space and large mirrors throughout the apartment and initially looked like we'd hit the jackpot until we figured out the toilet didn't flush! This was attended too (in a Greek way)but not fully fixed.

The problems really started to present themselves as we started to unpack and "settle in" the apartment was disgusting and clearly not had a good clean for months. We spent first €20 of our holiday not in the bar but on cleaning products from the shop to clean the inside of the cupboards, sink, draining area, utensils and the bathroom. Throughout our weeks stay out towels and bedding were changed once but at no point was anything else cleaned. There's no window or extraction fan in the bathroom, so black mould is around the shower area and hasn't seen a scrubbing brush in a good few months.

As we were self catering, we stocked our fridge. But there was no handle to open the door, the fridge door itself had been painted and had a sticky orange mark where the handle was suppose to be. The door seals were growing more vegetation than what was going on outside. To top the fridge issue off, it froze all our groceries solid (about €15 worth).

With all this (plus more, you can see the photos) it wasn't going to spoil our holiday. As I said, we got a great deal on the place and luckily we had friends and family here for the same week so we didn't spend too much time in the room. We decided not to use the bar or restaurant facility, even with their offer of 20% off on a Sunday as when we went for a coffee on our first morning, there was a very strong smell of wet dog, the bar furniture was/is all in bad condition with the seats all busted through. It took about 15 minutes to be acknowledged and the cost was twice as much as anywhere else down the lane.

Again, for what we paid it was adequate for what we needed but what I found most frustrating is this place could be a fantastic location, for all that was wrong with our room could have been rectified with about €150 worth of appliances and a little elbow grease with a deep clean! This could be a 4* complex but there seems to be no ambition or enthusiasm to run it this way. The two encounters we had with the family/staff I felt like it was an inconvenience for us to be there. I can't recommend anyone stays here! (unless your paying less than £300 per week)

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank kevwesterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Booked this hotel through Thompson , this hotel is rated as 3 T plus by Thompson which is the reason we booked this hotel , after stopping in skiathos in very nice 2 t rated hotels before we thought this would be a nice hotel without expecting any luxury , Thompson should not be advertising this place with a 3 t rating , we moved hotels at our own cost , will not be ever booking with Thompson again after being there customers for 30 years , hotel should be rated maximum 2 t smelly dirty room , we had to purchase cleaning product for bathroom and smelly wardrobe only plus for this place were the comfortable sunbeds and quite remote location

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Jam3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews