We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A central place to stay in Stockholm, but not cheap.”
Review of Scandic Klara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Klara
Ranked #68 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 October 2017

The Standard room was small for the price, but serviceable. The queen-size bed was pushed up against the wall during the day to create space, but we pulled it out at night to allow access from both sides. The room lighting was excellent.
The bathroom was good, but we had an issue with the toilet blocking. After that we only used a full flush every time!
The breakfast area was excellent, with a large choice of different foods. However, the Grand Café only had a limited range of food, so we often ate out.
The security safe in the room did not work, and the maintenance person was unable to fix it during our stay (Friday to Monday). We had to depend on our locked suitcases.
We had free internet as part of the package.
There was a Sunday market in the nearby square, which was also a stop for the Hop-on Hop-off buses. It was also on the route to the Vasa Museum.

A general comment re Sweden. All the ATM machines are run by the same company, so all cash cards work in these. You don't have to find one with the Plus symbol. The nearest one to the Scandic Klara is in Ahlens City just along the street, on G floor.

Room Tip: Our room opened onto the central atrium, which was quite noisy at times - breakfast, happy hour etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive and Pippa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara W, Manager at Scandic Klara, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank You Clive and Pippa S for Your feedback!

Our bigger rooms are called superior and superior extra.

I'm sorry to hear that Your safe was not working properly. I will look in to that.

Warm welcome back!

Kind Regards,

Sara Wiberg
Hotel Manager
Scandic Klara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 1,378 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2017

Friendly staff, good service, stayed twice while in Stockholm on business and equally impressed both times.
The rooms are well sized, beds are comfortable, shower / toilet (wet room) was very clean.
Breakfast provides a wide range of food in ample amounts, no queuing and plenty of seating in a very nice open space.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Thank trV7162PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara W, Manager at Scandic Klara, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Thank You so much for Your fantastic feedback!

Hope to see You here again soon, warm welcome back!

Kind Regards,

Sara Wiberg
Hotel Manager
Scandic Klara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed there for 2 nights as scandic friends. Very accessible to the walking street and shopping malls. Great breakfast and cleaned rooms. Its spacious too. The staff are friendly. I’ll recommend your hotel and will stay more in the future.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Dolla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara W, Manager at Scandic Klara, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Thank You Dolla for Your great feedback!

Warm welcome back!

Kind Regards,

Sara Wiberg
Hotel Manager
Scandic Klara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

It's nice placement, in the middle of the city but thats all... Cleanig not may be better, sametimes they dont clean floor, fridge was broken, no fresh air just, cos window looks inside patio where is breakfast going on. Yeah the breaskfast was good

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Ekaterina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara W, Manager at Scandic Klara, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Thank You for Your feedback!

I'm sorry to hear that You did not enjoy Your stay. Of course the room should be clean and I hope that You talked to the staff at the Front Desk so that we would fix that right away and talk to the housekeeper.

Kind Regards,

Sara Wiberg
Hotel Manager
Scandic Klara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

We stayed here in March 2016 while attending the Eurovision Song Contest for the first time. Having been a fan for a long time I was super excited to be going and this hotel really made the experience even better.

It is centrally located so everything was nearby (including the Eurovision Village) and the closest subway stop was less than a minutes walk.

The room was clean, tidy and suited us perfectly. The only thing was the bed was a bit too soft for my liking but I think that's pretty much the normal for Swedish hotels.

The bathroom was spotless and had a good selection of 'FACE' toiletries.

The bar was great and the fact that they were playing old Eurovision songs made it 100x better.

Breakfast was served in an amazing courtyard and had a great selection - something for everyone.

There's also a really great sweet shop next door called Caramella that you HAVE to go to!

Thanks Scandic Klara!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SteveMcSteveface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara W, Manager at Scandic Klara, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank You!

Hope to see You here for many more Eurovision Song Contest! Maybe next year? :-)

Warm welcome back!

Kind Regards,

Sara Wiberg
Hotel Manager
Scandic Klara

(I also visit Caramella once in a while)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Scandic No. 53
Scandic No. 53
#44 of 154 in Stockholm
1,639 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#17 of 154 in Stockholm
1,448 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Central by Scandic
Grand Central by Scandic
#51 of 154 in Stockholm
1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Downtown Camper by Scandic
Downtown Camper by Scandic
#4 of 154 in Stockholm
258 reviews
Norrmalm
Haymarket by Scandic
Haymarket by Scandic
#39 of 154 in Stockholm
983 reviews
Norrmalm
Comfort Hotel Xpress Stockholm Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Klara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Klara

Address: Slojdgatan 7, Stockholm 111 57, Sweden (Formerly Rica Hotel Stockholm)
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Stockholm
#49 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: $172 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Klara 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Scandic Klara, and enjoy central Stockholm at its best city location. Our hotel is a popular meeting place with a newly renovated restaurant, meeting facilities and modern hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Scandic Klara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockholm Rica Hotel
Rica Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing