We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Kept Secret in KS!!!!”
Review of Shiva Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shiva Samui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Where could you find a more beautiful place to holiday than Samui Beach Village resort. Not only the wonderful Ocean Villa, the private pool, the perfect weather, waking up to the view of the ocean, the superb food but what makes this place so special is the fantastic staff!!!!! We have travelled a lot around the world but have never experienced the warmth, care, dedication and professionalism of SBV staff. Fiona, Luke, Jake, Sandra, David, Asid, Chang, Fon, Lew and many others treated us like we were the only people there. Travelling around the island on mopeds was made so much easier with the advice from Luke and Jake. The staff in the restaurant dished up the BEST food. What impressed us was they knew our favourite drinks, food, what we had done that day and were genuinely interested in us as people not tourists. Don't usually do return holidays but SBV is one place I would go back to again. Planning it already...... Thank you so much for making our holiday unforgettable.

Room Tip: Ocean View rooms 7&8 have the larger private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

448 - 452 of 647 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2012

5 star rating 10 star experiences. Our ACCOMMODATION - an Ocean View Villa was beautiful and wth a private pool out front to lounge in and around - how could you not relax in the warmth of the atmosphere. What really makes this the best is not only the accommodation BUT everything else as well. THE FOOD in the restaurant - absolutely delicious - freshly made and mouth watering - the range of dishes from which to choose made it hard to decide at every meal. The SPA treatments were an ultimate dream for the body, mind and soul. THE STAFF - if I could thank all of them personally I would again. All the staff and managers, smile because they want to not because they have to. Smiles, a hello, help, advice, nothing was too much trouble. ALL STAFF, from housekeeping, maintenance, security, food and beverage, spa, reception and management were caring, friendly, helpful and fun. THE PEOPLE who work for Koh Samui Beach Village really create the atmosphere that makes this the best place to stay on Koh Samui. I just wanted a little bit of indulgence but the experiences I had while staying here were beyond my imagination. 7 nights and days - beautiful.

Room Tip: Ocean View Villas - ground floor = walk out the door to your pool - upstairs = a slightly better vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Spent 8 mights in a lovely ocean room, with own jacuzzi pool with hibiscus tree above drpping the lovely flowers into the water. Room right on the white sandy beach and clear blue sea. \the room was about 5 min walk to the main restaurant, go past all the lovey villas. Can also get the golf buggy to pick you up, advised for the nitetime. The staff were forever smiling and would bend over backwards for you. Massages everyday were amazing didnt know what to do at 6pm when we came back to reality. The restaurant was great place to eat, especially when you coudlnt be bothered to go into the touristic koh samui. The hotel would make suggestions on day trips and places to go. Well worth the stay, great way to completely relax and forget about reality. Highly recommend the SBV.

Room Tip: Ocean room's are big enough for a couple, huge king bed, international TV, min fridge that can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frangi_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I recently took a flying trip from China to see my daughter in KS and she suggested the Samui Beach Village. I stayed for 3 nights in one of the Ocean Rooms and had a wonderfully relaxing time! Everything was so easy and the staff made me feel really at home, although it was only a short stay. The whole place is like a time capsule in which you can escape and be yourself, but still feel you are being looked after. I will be visiting KS again later in the year and will INSIST my daughter books me in again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We were in Samui Beach Village (SBV) for a short vacation in May 2012. There were 5 of us in total, me, hubby, 2 sons (4 & 7 yo) and our helper. We were there for a total of 4 nights and stayed at the 2 Ocean Rooms overlooking the beautiful beach. We were lucky enough to have the pool to ourselves as there weren't any occupants on the first floor of our rooms.
Service here is superb! Friendly staff all around the village and our needs were met efficiently! Food provided in our stay package made it all easy and comfortable for us. And they were yummy too! Hubby and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves at the Spa Centre every single day (inclusive in our stay package) throughout our stay here. And the private beach is just a few minutes walk from our rooms.

The staff here are very honest and trustworthy. They were 'put to a test' when we needed to change some USD into Thai currency one morning. Since they do not provide any money exchange service at the office, we were told that they could help us get our money changed at the nearest money changer in Lamai town (approx. 15 mins drive from SBV). We were left with no choice but to trust them with our money as we were about to leave for a day tour that particular morning. Needless to say, they kept their words and we got our Thai Baht the minute we returned from our day tour. Kudos to them!

The only setback and uncomfortable experience of our stay here would be the stray dogs roaming around the village. There are so many of them and they are not afraid of people at all. We even wonder id they are clean and free from disease. Hopefully something can be done to minimise the presence of these stray dogs around the village.

Samui Beach Village is located not too far from Lamai town (about 15 mins drive). Tesco is also a stone throw away from here and the free shuttle to Lamai town provided by the nice people at SBV makes it all convenient for us to do our shopping and have dinner there.
If you would like to explore further, do make a visit to Chaweng town for an experience of the night life of Koh Samui. Free shuttle to Chaweng is also available at SBV upon request. However you gotta get a taxi back to the village from Chaweng. That wont cost you anything more than THB400.

All in all we truly enjoyed our stay at SBV and would recommend it to anyone who wish to visit Koh Samui. Will definitely make a trip back to SBV if we have the opportunity to do so in future. Kudos to the nice people at SBV!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryne Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laem Set
1.4 km away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#11 of 63 in Maret
1,651 reviews
0.1 km away
X2 Koh Samui Resort - All Spa Inclusive
10.1 km away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 51 in Lamai Beach
780 reviews
1.7 km away
ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui
7.6 km away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiva Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiva Samui

Address: 443/3, Moo 1, Laem Set, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand (Formerly Samui Beach Village)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Laem Set
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Laem Set
Price Range: $141 - $684 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shiva Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shiva Samui, the new name for Samui Beach Village is a luxury beachfront villa resort in Koh Samui, Thailand. We offer luxury villas from 2 to 5 bedrooms each with private pools, daily maid service and everything you expect from a luxury resort. We also have 1 or 2 bedroom Ocean Rooms with beautiful Ocean views and the resort boasts a Clubhouse with Restaurant, Flood-lit Tennis Court, Fitness Center, Spa, complimentary Water Sports, a FREE Children's Club and more. Brand New for 2016 is our newly opened Beach Club, with a top class beach side restaurant, terrace, and stunning pool with jacuzzi and swim up bar for relaxing and unwinding day and evening. All with over 90 on-site staff and concierge hotel-style services. Ideal for a romantic getaway, a family holiday or your perfect beach wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Shiva Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Beach Village Hotel Koh Samui
Shiva Samui Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing