We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everyone is welcome”
Review of Shiva Samui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shiva Samui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2012

I had the plessure of staying at Samui Beach Village for 9 days with a friend of mine. We had our doubts prior to our arrival about how the place would accommodate two guys in the mid twenties. We soon found out that we had no need to worry. The place was lovely and the staff were so friendly and did everything to make our stay as pleasant as possible. All our needs were catered for, and it seemed like everything was possible.

The thing that made this place so special for us and which deserves a lot of credit, was the fact that Samui Beach Village seemed to be the place for anyone. Families, friends, couples, everyone seemed to enjoy themselves, and at no point did we think that there was another segment of people that recieved special attention. We all got special attention, and it was lovely to see how everyone seemed to thrive.

The entire staff at Samui Beach Village did a wonderful job. The thai are just such a pleasing people. They make up for the small errors they make from time to time them a million times with their winning personalities.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke S, Manager at Shiva Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Dear Peter S,

Everyone sure is welcome and thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review!

We pride ourselves on our amazing and attentive staff who ensure anyone who stays enjoys their time with us and no request is too small or too big.

We hope you come back and visit us again and thank you once more for your review, it's always fantastic to read such great feedback.

Kindest Regards,
Phil Dunlop
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

407 - 411 of 664 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2012

I've just got home from a weeks stay here at Samui Beach Village with my partner and 6 friends. Upon arrival we were informed that the villa we were originally booked into had renovations going on next door. So we were given the option of staying in that villa or moving to another one away from the noise. The other one we were offered only had 3 bedrooms rather than 4, so we were also offered a single beach front villa as well. I thought this was very accomodating as they obviously cared that we be happy with the villa we stayed in and didn't get woken up at 7am each morning to renovations. We stayed in Baan Leelavadee and it was great, very spacious with a private pool. They also threw in a few days worth of free meals at the restaurant to make up for the 'inconvenience'. The food there was excellent (as were the cheap cocktails!) and the service from all the staff was amazing, they were all so lovely and friendly! We also had 2 free massages each at the spa which was nice as we got to choose the type of massage you had. Our only complaint was the weather as unfortunately it rained the whole time but that was our fault for booking in the wet season. I would definitely go back, I just hope the weather might be nicer next time we go!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ascha112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke S, Manager at Shiva Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Dear Ascha112,

Thank you for your review!

We are so appreciative of your understanding and very happy that you enjoyed Baan Leelavadee, the food, the massages and everything else. We wish the weather was better for you during your stay, but all the more reason to come back and visit us again when the sun is out to play!

Thank you again for your wonderful review

Kindest Regards,
Phil Dunlop
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Total of 21 family members traveled to Koh Samui... Stayed in Baan Flora and Baan Sarika.
Both rooms were as pictured on the website!

The booking process seemed simple enough to be able to turn up and know that everything was taken care of! Wasn't the case though! Unfortunately the staff at the resort knew very little about the package we purchased and made it difficult to know what we were and weren't going to have to pay for at the end of our stay!

First time travelling overseas we took each and every email correspondence received from sales which was the best thing we could've ever done. Pre-paid airport transfers.. 3 vans - yet only 1 turned up. Waited around grumpily until another 2 vans were sorted.

Early check-ins were paid for before arrival to ensure we could arrive and relax - only one house received this so not sure what exactly we paid for :( - after a long day of flying we wanted nothing more than to unpack an relax properly in our own 'paid for' room. Got over that hurdle and besides the obvious mis-communication or lack there-of between the sales crew and the staff at the resort our stay was amazing!

The best relaxation holiday anyone could ask for. We didn't need or want for anything!
The staff - drivers and kitchen in particular were outstanding!!!
A few of our favourites - Lay, Chan, Chang, Toon, Som to name a few!!! Everyone went out of their way to ensure our stay was everything we needed and more!

The food was beautiful (full board package was a little too much toward the end of the week - especially if you're not used to eating 3 meals a day!)

We had a few rainy days, but the weather was still gorgeous enough to be out swimming or touring as you pleased!

Reception staff were very accommodating to our every request which was awesome considering our tours were for 10+ at any one time! And after a few requests to 'not' charge the rooms things went alot smoothly toward the end of the week.

Overall, with a few hiccups here and there our stay was perfect! Nothing more we could've asked for! Except maybe a drying rack or a few more hanging rails in the villas!

Beautiful must see and stay village!

Room Tip: Beach front villas are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morrison23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke S, Manager at Shiva Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Dear Morrison23,

Thank you so much for your amazing review and we are so glad we could accommodate and satisfy all 21 members of your group!

It is so nice to hear you enjoyed the food, the surroundings and the amazing hospitality of our staff - we really hope you come back and see us again sometime soon - all 21 one you!

Kindest Regards,
Phil Dunlop
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We were married ten years ago in Sydney with a huge wedding, staying on the Rocks in the Hyatt, Reception at Bathers in Balmoral. All very decadent and fabulous. It did cost a bomb and it was the over-the-top precious bride experience. Which we did love round one.

Round two we decided to celebrate 10 years marriage with our four kids at Ko Samui Beach. Because frankly we just wanted an intimate, easy, relaxed, no-fuss event. Yes, we did want it beautiful but we didn't want to spend a fortune on it or have it over the top.

I wrote about five emails to Debbie when she asked for details of what I would like and I happily let her take care of all the details which she was amazingly responsive and committed to making it a very memorable, special experience.

The only detail which I was a little precious about was the photographer as I had a brilliant photographer who took documentary shots for our whole wedding in black and white first time around in Sydney. I understood that this would probably be a tall ask of any photographer in Ko Samui but I got it so wrong. Our guy took shots that I simply adore and he took images that would match the very published photographer from Sydney. He went though images from our first wedding and took fabulous images of our family connecting and celebrating.

I understand most brides are details people. I was shocked by the care of the details. We had literally 14 bouquets that filled the beach and then surrounded our pool for the week and they were stunning. The celebrant was a gentleman from the UK who like us has lived as an expat in HK and around the region for years and he had great respect for us choosing to show a commitment to each other again with our kids. He spoke with great care and compassion.

We had our own fabulous wedding i-tunes album of songs we choose and we literally danced on the beach together for hours. We had a dinner on the beach with seafood which was divine for us and pizza for the kids (it was a celebration for them too). We brought our own champagne because we understood that some details that we really wanted we needed to bring ourselves.

The hair and make-up chicky did a good job and to be honest I wasn't fussy. Debbie chased me with details about this department asking to email a photo of what I would like. She was honestly far more focused on getting it right than I was, which I guess is why she is the weddding planner. Thank you Debbie for your professionalism and care making our experience fabulous. You made a very treasured memory for us and our children. See you next year for our friends wedding on the same beach!

Oh also I loved the little tea lights on our wedding table so the guy from food and beverage went out on his motor bike looking for an hour. He couldn't find any but so sweet that he looked.

We have lived as expats for 14 years in Asia and have travelled extensively high-budget and low-budget. When you travel either way there are bits that go right and elements that you have to sort out. That is part of travel. However... if you do want a wedding that is simply beautiful, low-key, and in the wedding game low cost then this place works. If your a bit of a precious bride I say get married somewhere where you can be on top of every detail yourself and don't cause yourself the stress of travel with a wedding. A&J Sep Wedding 2012

Room Tip: Bann Oasis - Fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke S, Manager at Shiva Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Dear Amy K,

It is reviews like yours that make us know everything little thing we do and our attention to detail is absolutely worth it - so great to make our customers happy and give them the holiday and in your case, the wedding anniversary you were hoping for.

Debbie is fantastic and has a keen eye for details and is fastidious about every wedding or celebration we host - as she is aware that it is the memories of what you are after that will last forever and so she aims to ensure that we deliver on your expectations.

It really is great to hear such wonderful words about our village, the staff, the service and your experience and we want to thank you for taking the time to share it with everyone as we think anyone would love Samui Beach Village like we do.

Thank you again...and perhaps see you for your next anniversary!

Kind Regards,
Phil Dunlop
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

We just got back from staying at Samui Beach Village in one of their Ocean View Rooms, it was amazing!
The staff went above and beyond to make our trip great and we cant speak highly enough of them. The facilities were great, food was fantastic and massages were to die for!
The location is perfect, just a short cab ride from the heart of town but far enough out that we could enjoy some peace and quiet. We are already planning our next trip for 2013, cant wait!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke S, Manager at Shiva Samui, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Dear Lauren A,

Wonderful to hear you are already planning on coming back in 2013! Great news!

Thank you so much for your review and we are thrilled you loved the Ocean Rooms and the location...and of course...the massages! A tropical holiday is nothing without a great massage and we know our staff provide the best of the best at our Spa!

See you in 2013!

Kind Regards,
Phil Dunlop
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laem Set
1.4 km away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#10 of 62 in Maret
1,671 reviews
0.1 km away
X2 Koh Samui Resort - All Spa Inclusive
2.1 km away
Banburee Resort & Spa
Banburee Resort & Spa
#2 of 3 in Laem Set
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
5 km away
Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort
2.5 km away
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Rocky's Boutique Resort
#2 of 51 in Lamai Beach
2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiva Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiva Samui

Address: 443/3, Moo 1, Laem Set, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand (Formerly Samui Beach Village)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Laem Set
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Laem Set
Price Range: $168 - $705 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shiva Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shiva Samui, the new name for Samui Beach Village is a luxury beachfront villa resort in Koh Samui, Thailand. We offer luxury villas from 2 to 5 bedrooms each with private pools, daily maid service and everything you expect from a luxury resort. We also have 1 or 2 bedroom Ocean Rooms with beautiful Ocean views and the resort boasts a Clubhouse with Restaurant, Flood-lit Tennis Court, Fitness Center, Spa, complimentary Water Sports, a FREE Children's Club and more. Brand New for 2016 is our newly opened Beach Club, with a top class beach side restaurant, terrace, and stunning pool with jacuzzi and swim up bar for relaxing and unwinding day and evening. All with over 90 on-site staff and concierge hotel-style services. Ideal for a romantic getaway, a family holiday or your perfect beach wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Shiva Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Beach Village Hotel Koh Samui
Shiva Samui Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing