We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$80
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
US$96
ClarionCollection
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$113/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Abrins Hotell(Vasteras)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$60
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotell Valsaren(Vasteras)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$103
US$97
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,803)
Filter reviews
1,803 results
Traveller rating
1,043
535
160
52
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,043
535
160
52
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop baroutdoor poolinterior designopen firebeautiful roomwelcoming staffsafety issuefew teething problemsgames areavideo gamescourse dinnerspa packagelack of servicenewly opened hotelfactory buildingshuffle boardsteel beams
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,803 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Converted electric/steam "factory" so has interesting history. Two restaurants, but one on top is small and probably has to be booked days, if not weeks, in advance. The restaurant on the main floor is really the only real option unless one wants to drive someplace else to eat. A couple of bars, too, and one serves "appetizers" so can manage a dinner meal there. Breakfasts were great. Lobby is attractive, and has 3 ping-pong tables, which is fun for kids. Second floor is a rather appealing game room (shuffleboard, chess, video games). Waterpark is next door. All in all, a trendy, appealing place, but not for everybody.

Downsides:
1. No parking except a ways away from lobby -- very inconvenient for anybody with mobility problems.
2. Generally is quite dark in main areas and corridors.
3. A considerable amount of construction in front of hotel.
4. Main problem: no telephones in rooms to reach other rooms or reception -- if cell phone is not a Swedish number, have to make an international call just to reach hotel/reception. This is a MAJOR safety issue for (a) families traveling together who need more than one room and need to be able to communicate (especially if adolescents or older children are in a room by themselves), and (b) particularly for anybody who has disability or mobility problems. I would recommend against this hotel if those are considerations; particularly in the latter case, somebody could fall (for instance, if tile floor in bathroom gets flooded because of the shower) and not be able to get any help immediately.

Hotel did not honor a request for adjoining rooms (which would mitigate the concerns just expressed). Hotel also charged a "service fee" of about SEK 65, to which I objected so they removed it -- have no idea what it was for. However, the hotel was not able to fix the television, which was not working properly, so that was another disappointment.

Room Tip: Insist on adjoining rooms if more than one room is needed for families (lack of telephones).
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LooseKnees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly B, Guest Relations Manager at The Steam Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for a good review with good and relevant feedback. Steam Hotel is a new hotel with great ambitions. It is you, and our guests that can help us reach those ambitions, and therefore it is very important that we get this kind of feedback. I do understand your point regarding the parking and I am happy to announce that we are working hard to finish a new car park. I also agree with the Construction outside, but just imagine how nice it will be when finished! Regarding the phones I will take it further to person in charge. Thank you for helping us improve!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

You may not be cool enough to stay at this hotel. Very steampunk vibe and upscale feel to the place. The hotel itself is a destination so spend time exploring it if you stay. The second floor terrace above the bar/restaurant is full of games for kids and young adults. Plenty of craft beer on offer along with wine and spirits.
The hotel has spa packages and when we booked it wasn’t obvious that some spa areas are not included in a regular stay. If you want hot tub/ pool access you need a spa package. Also, book restaurant meals and massage before you get there if you can. We were there three nights and only had one option for a massage on checkout day. Restaurant bookings were hard to get even as a guest.
The rooms were nice, a bit smallish but comfy. Beds were comfortable with plush pillows and way too many decorative pillows. The lighting gives a great feel to the place and the clothes hangers are easily the nicest ones I’ve ever had in a hotel room.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly B, Guest Relations Manager at The Steam Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Jeff! Thank you for an awesome review! Good feedback regarding the information, I will take it further to the person in charge. I hope you will visit us soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Old Powerplant has been re-born as an upscale hotel. The decor is to period when the powerplant operated and even the employees wear 40's dress. Restaurants and lounges in hotel are beautiful and the view on the lake is gorgeous.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Subsonic44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly B, Guest Relations Manager at The Steam Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for those kind words! I am glad to hear you enjoyed Steam Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked the hotel for a small group, business trip.
The hotel is really amazing even the swedish staff is really friendly.
But be aware to take your time for breakfast as this isn't well organized and it takes some time before you get your stuff together, but then it is really enjoyable.
The pool on 6sixt floor was open till 11pm even the outside. Again great view etc.
Good choise.
Enjoy the sunset at 10:15pm.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly B, Guest Relations Manager at The Steam Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi John! Thank you so much. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had a pleasure to participate in a conference in the Steam without knowing anything about the place in advance. What a surprise it was when taxi drove me in front of an old factory building! When entering the lobby I realized this was going to be something very special: a trendy hotel built inside an old factory. Super friendly welcome, nice room with some very cool details (like the small sign under the bed: "Aren't you a curious little kitten? Yes, we do clean under here too.") Elevate yourself to the spa floor, which is merely a trendy cocktail & sushi bar with outdoor and indoor pools (did not try any treatments. And there's a wet'n'wild waterpark in the complex as well, didn't see either). The outdoor pool with the view to the lake is absolutely amazing. Our conference ended to a gala dinner, after which the staff skillfully turned the ballroom into a Nightclub... And then, what happened in Vegas...sorry Västerås, stays in Västerås...!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank Juha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly B, Guest Relations Manager at The Steam Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Wow Juha! I am so happy we managed to deliver a good experience to you under the Conference and that you noticed our well planned little details. Now that you know where we are, I hope you will come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews