We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Varberg Fortress”

Hallands Kulturhistoriska Museum och Varbergs fastning
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Varberg
Attraction details
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Varbergs fästning is a beautiful place to visit in Varberg. Structures inside this medieval fortress seem to be functional to these days with houses, lodging and cafe. The entrance gate characterizes the age of this fortress. This is not the typical tourist trap. It is a must to see this landmark of Varberg. This place is a feast for photo lovers. I took many photo shots with amazing results.

It was windy when we visited last week. Although there was a bit of sun, it was actually very cold. I cut short our walk around the premises due to cold wind. I would suggest a thick/ wind proof jacket to make one´s visit to this place comfortable.

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank thekrunys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"worth a visit"
in 3 reviews
"middle ages"
in 2 reviews
"swedish king"
in 2 reviews
"per person"
in 2 reviews
"man"
in 9 reviews
"fortress"
in 17 reviews
"xii"
in 6 reviews
"button"
in 6 reviews
"walls"
in 5 reviews
"bullet"
in 4 reviews
"history"
in 12 reviews
"sweden"
in 5 reviews
"cafe"
in 4 reviews
"sea"
in 6 reviews
"information"
in 3 reviews
"grounds"
in 3 reviews
"coastline"
in 2 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2017

Interested in history in general and west coast Sweden in detail , go and visit this museum. Walking distance from parking lots at harbour area. Facilities for eating etc. all within the castle area. Close to the sand beach at "kall badhuset".

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank geomapSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2016

Loved walking around the fortress, it is wonderfully maintained, it has great pathways and is easy to get around. You get some nice views from the fortress walls. Circumnavigating the walls was also a nice walk.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank IOGWFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

We were here on a day with blue sky and sun. Got a beautiful view of the ocean and the city. Took a stroll on the walls around the fortress. We didn't enter the museum. But the fortress itself is really worth a visit. Don't miss it!

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Hermanadelviento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We very much enjoyed the exhibition on the local painters - better display and explanation on Swedish artists than in some major galleries. Bicycle museum not really for us but might interest others. Not a lot to do otherwise in the fortress.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Dewi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hallands Kulturhistoriska Museum och Varbergs fastning also viewed

Varberg, Varberg Municipality
 
Varberg, Varberg Municipality
Varberg, Varberg Municipality
 

Been to Hallands Kulturhistoriska Museum och Varbergs fastning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing