We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Gothenburg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2012

This is such a lovely city. My husband and I went there for a short break during February. It was a bit chilly but there is lots to do and many shops to visit!

We stayed in the Hotel Royal. The staff were really friendly and helpful. You got a lovely afternoon treat as well! We stayed in tower room. It had two bedrooms - one very large one with a big king bed with a wall mounted tv. The other one had a single bed. There was a good sized bathroom with a shower.

During the course of our stay we visited the shops and visited the islands. This was only a short tram ride and ferry trip away. Be prepared though during the winter months it is absolutely freezing. In the summer months I think it is much warmer and there are some little shops open on the islands.

I would highly recommend Gothenburg and this hotel to anyone :)

Room Tip: Go for a tower room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittlestHoboScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,030)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

466 - 470 of 1,030 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012 via mobile

Different hotel from what i am used to; very service-minded staff (all of them), friendly and helping out. Free "fika" with homemade cookies and a great breakfast buffé made a good impression. Rooms a bit different, but cosy. Hotel well situated with close to central train station, and walking distance to most places. Only thing a bit on negative side was a too soft bed, very small bathrooms (4th floor) and no elevator (?).
Highly recommend the place!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChEklund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Travelling alone and finding comfortable (and not too pricey) accommodations is a challenge, but one fully met by the Hotel Royal. It is VERY centrally located and easy to find, just 5 minutes walk from the Central train station and 5 minutes walk from the nearest tram line. Shopping is within 3 minutes. Close to restaurants. My "economy" room was comfortable and well appointed, not too big and very pleasant. The bed was comfortable, and the shower was excellent. The Hotel is very quaint and the staff is excellent. Wifi (and iPads in lobby) worked great for finding information or keeping in touch. The hotel is beautiful and has a very comfortable, classic feel. In the afternoons, there is coffee, tea, water and cake available for guests and there is an opportunity for a drink in the lounge area (for a cost). The breakfast was delicious and had a lot of variety. Both fresh and hot food available. I would definitiely stay here again and will recommend it to anyone traveling to Goteborg!! Thank you for such as relaxing and pleasant experience!

Room Tip: Room on the courtyard was very quiet at night, but for late sleepers try another room. Morning deli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rebeccagottberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We spent four days in Gothenburg as tourists and couldn't fault this hotel. It was a great base. Try newly opened Bhoga for supper-wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValePsE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

My friends and I stayed here for a weekend city break. I could not fault this hotel. The staff were exceptionally accommodating and helpful. The hotel itself is beautiful and cosy (by cosy I mean it felt like home - the rooms were certainly not small!), and it is so central and convenient just moments walk from central station. The delicious cakes and tea served in the afternoon was a lovely treat, and the buffet breakfast was great. Possibly one of the most pleasant hotel stays I've ever had!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jodes999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
0.3 km away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#3 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,122 reviews
1.9 km away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
0.1 km away
Hotel Pigalle
Hotel Pigalle
#2 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Gothenburg
1.4 km away
Gothia Towers
Gothia Towers
#9 of 67 in Gothenburg
5,039 reviews
0.2 km away
Clarion Hotel Post
Clarion Hotel Post
#12 of 67 in Gothenburg
3,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Gothenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Gothenburg

Address: 67 Drottninggatan, Gothenburg 411 07, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range: $171 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal Gothenburg 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal is the oldest hotel in Gothenburg founded in 1852. The hotel has 75 rooms of different sizes, situated on four floors.Royal Hotel breathes a 19-century atmosphere with its hand wrought iron banisters and painted glass ceiling dating back to 1897. The old world charm combined with modern features such as I-pads in the lounge and free wireless internet access in all rooms, makes it a cozy as well as comfortable hotel in the heart of town.All rooms with recently renovated bathrooms. The breakfast room is spacious and a Scandinavian style breakfast buffet is served every day.The Royal has 35 double rooms. Our famous octagonal "tower rooms" are very popular with our guests. Free check in coffee/tea with home baked cake is served all afternoons and evenings. Our newly decorated lounges are very popular with guests for relaxing, or working via our wireless internet service with printer access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Royal Gothenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing