We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, expensive, not central, poor food”
Review of Spar Hotel Majorna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spar Hotel Majorna
Ranked #17 of 67 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2017

Under-cooked food! My lasagna was still cold in the middle / No AC in the room! / No safe for valuables left in the room / No nets or blinds on the windows so it is either dark with the blackout curtains drawn or people opposite can see in when you are getting changed / Tram noise can be heard if you are in a room at the front of the hotel / No wardrobe (only a small exposed hanging rail) / No iron for shirts / No tissues so you have to blow your nose on low cost rough toilet paper / No background music in the reception and bar area which is odd, it created an awkward environment.

Room Tip: Away from the tram line, get a room at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWibeck, Hotelldirektör at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Dear Ben,

thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
I´m sorry you do not at all seem happy with your stay. Under cooked food is of course not at all acceptable, and I´ll adress this immediately with the concerned staff to avoid it happening again. We do not offer AC in the room, and although we have some really nice and warm summers, our typically Scandinavian weather does not require AC on a regular basis. Trams are a part of the Gothenburg city image, and can be heard in the central parts of the city. Half of the hotel has rooms facing the residential area on the other side, so perhaps that would be a better option for you. I´m also sorry you did not appreciate the design and layout of the hotelroom. We offer iron in designated areas, as well as a safe service, and background music is usually played in the lobby area around the clock. Once again I´m truly sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, and still hope you give us another try the next time you pass Gothenburg.
Kind regards
Terese Wibeck, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 25 of 584 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2017

Been here pretty many times. In general the hotel is very simple, excellent place for a couple of nights stay thinking about price, cleaniness and location. Rooms are quite nice and so is the breakfast. There are couple of nice places around where you can eat dinner. The hotel is located at a short distance from city center.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jarkkos439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWibeck, Hotelldirektör at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Dear Jarkko,

thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, this means a lot to us.
I´m please to know that you overall seem very happy with your stay, and hope to see you soon again.

Kind regards
Terese Wibeck
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017

The hotel is nice and clean. It's only a short tram trip away from the city center. Looked like there is a car park below it, but I didn't check it.

Room was nice and clean. Only problems were that the tap is very close to the washbasin's edge which made washing one's hand quite hard. And I didn't like the issue that there were no chains or other securing ways on the door in addition to the electrical lock.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank z0range
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWibeck, Hotelldirektör at Spar Hotel Majorna, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2017

Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to rewiev your stay, this means a lot to us.
Yes, there is a car park below, where you can park on a first come first served basis. You can look your door by turning the handle upwards once the door is closed. We don´t have chains or similar for safety reasons. If something should happen to a guest inside the room, we are then not able to enter the room to assist/help the guest if the door is secured by chain or similar.
I´m glad you overall seem content with your stay, and hope to see you soon again.

Kind regards
Terese Wibeck, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017

This hotel is clean, has good location for our local office in Gothenburg, Its simple, but thats all I need for stays here. There are some simple sandwiches easily orderable, but I didnt try the hot food. There is nothing exceptional about this place, but nothing that would stop me returning again.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_England78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed for two nights. Room was quite small but nice and clean. Free wifi, free parking (if there's a lot free) and friendly staff. Breakfast a bit on the simple side but really good enough. A plus for serving "Early bird-breakfast" from 0500. (Beverages and sandwiches). Full breakfast from 0630. Close to the center of Gothenburg. Would definitly stay here again.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gothenburg hotels
1.8 km away
Radisson Blu Riverside Hotel, Gothenburg
3.2 km away
STF Goteborg City Hotel
STF Goteborg City Hotel
#27 of 67 in Gothenburg
258 reviews
0.8 km away
Quality Hotel 11 & Eriksbergshallen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Spar Hotel Garda
Spar Hotel Garda
#21 of 67 in Gothenburg
568 reviews
3.2 km away
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
Hotel Royal Gothenburg
#4 of 67 in Gothenburg
1,025 reviews
1.0 km away
Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spar Hotel Majorna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spar Hotel Majorna

Address: 66-70 Karl Johansgatan, Gothenburg 414 55, Sweden
Region: Sweden > West Coast > Vastra Gotaland County > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gothenburg
Price Range: $130 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Spar Hotel Majorna 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are privately owned hotel in the heart of Majorna in Gothenburg. A part from a personal service we offer our guests a variety of roomtypes, always well cleaned, a generous breakfastbuffet with generous opening hours, food and drinks in SparBar, a sunny terrace and parking in our garage (limited amount of spaces). We have singel rooms, a variety of double rooms, family rooms in different sizes and a large suite with fantastic views. Our hotel is situated near Slottskogen, and the ferry terminals and we have a tram stop just outside the hotel connecting you to the more central parts of the city. In our opinion we offer mor hotel for less money. We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spar Hotel Majorna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spar Hotel Gothenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing